We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a driver...”

Seneca Lake Wine Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Get a driver...”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

If you can con one of your friends into being the driver, this can be a very fun day trip. PLan your route to include a lunch or dinnner stop somewhere en route for best effect.

Helpful?
Thank ET_Bville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    102
    18
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent selection of wineries”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Definitely a wine tasters and winery visitors delight. Not only are the wines fantastic but the views from most wineries of Seneca Lake are excellent.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank ATC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NYS Wine”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

The wineries were fun and festive during Deck the Halls. Everyone we ran into was friendly and sober. Take the wine for what it is and stick to the whites.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Deck the Halls Holiday wine tour Seneca Lake NY”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This is a fantastic and fun event. The wineries go out of their way to provide a comfortable, cozy atmosphere, lovely food and wine pairings using their own prepared recipes for the foods and the lovely wine to accompany them. Well run event- beautiful wineries and views of the lake throughout-memorable.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank June O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Flats, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best wine trail I have ever visited.”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

The Seneca Lake wine trail contains more wineries than any other wine trail I have ever visited. It is impossible to visit all of them in one day, it has taken me many days over several years to work my way through all of the wineries, and then I find that new wineries have opened up and I have more places to visit, not to mention returning to some of my favorites. I live near there and we make it a point to visit several times a year.

There are also some good restaurants, a couple of brew pubs and even a distillery for those who don't live on wine alone.

Most wineries do charge for tastings, although many will give you credit towards purchases. If you can find it, the Wine Trial Passport is a great deal, lets you taste at most of the wineries for one low price.

The wineries are open year round.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seneca Lake Wine Trail also viewed

Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Seneca Lake Wine Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing