We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonial Inn & Motel
Ranked #10 of 17 Watkins Glen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The Colonial is located in the center of town- walking distance to local shops, and eateries. The rooms were clean and well appointed, however if you're looking to stay in a corporate best western style hotel, this shouldn't be your pick. We stayed in a two room suite in the inn, and it was quaint, charming, and homey. The beds were very comfortable, and the sheets were very nice and did not feel like the usual cheap polyester.
The owner is frequently on premises and will answer any and all questions. There is a pottery shed, as well as home made ice cream during the summer. This is truly a gem in the center of Watkins and was great bang for our buck. It's a short drive to wineries on Seneca Lake, and literally next door to the gorge. I would absolutely recommend this hotel for any stay in Watkins!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thatsjusterin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Colonial Inn & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your review Thatsjusterin, I really appreciate it. Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed only one night. It's right down the street from Watkins Glen State Park entrance.It's close to places to see & eat. Very reasonably priced. The room is very dated but clean. The night time is quiet as the motel - is back from the street. The owner is on the premises & works to keep things running smoothly

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank streetwalker1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Colonial Inn & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hey Streetwalker. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We prefer to think of it as vintage or classic mid-century charm. Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I came up from PA for a one night trip. We typically visit the area two or three times a year however, this was the first time we have ever stayed at the Colonial. The motel itself looked as though no one had stayed there in quite some time. There were a lot of leaves blown into the bushes and around the steps. We both actually got a little nervous about what the room was going to look like, but ended up pleasently surprised. While the price was a little high for a basic motel room on a weeknight in November, the room was very clean, smelled fresh, and the bathroom was SPOTLESS! The sheets were fresh and the bed was comfortable. It was also nice that there were clean blankets in the closet in case we were chilly. The location is also a plus. You can walk anywhere in town from here. We will definitely be staying again. My only complaint is that they don't take AAA.

Room Tip: You can view all of their rooms on their website and reserve the one you want. That is what I did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hairdo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Colonial Inn & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Hairdoo71. Thanks for a great review. We work hard at keeping the place beautiful, but sometimes the wind and weather win for a short time. LOL. I am glad you enjoyed the stay and chose to become a regular. The next time you visit, please ask for me. Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The bed was HORRIBLE with a downhill slope... it was a sleigh bed and it was broken, we checked in around 8:45pm the young lady was kind and helpful to send us to eat locally in te morning the owner Paul when asked where to get coffee sent us down the street, then we realized he was able to make coffee right there, we felt he could have been more accomating. The bathroom was super small. Sheets and bedding horrible, not to mention the broken bed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Colonial Inn & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hello Lois, our goal is to provide a comfortable and restful place for a great night’s sleep. Apparently we did not reach our goal when you stayed with us and I apologize. I wish you would have brought this to our attention much earlier and we could have fixed the situation immediately. If you choose to stay with us again, please ask for me if the room is less than perfect. Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

rooms were small,furniture old an in need of replacement,tv was a 12'' model,in wall ac small an noisey. rooms were clean but not kept up while we were there.very high rate for what you got. would not stay again for that kind of money.good location in town

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Colonial Inn & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hello Brian. Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We have recently upgraded the TVs and other things, however, we work hard at maintaining our classic mid-century and vintage look and feel so the old furniture stays. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

3 night stay for weekend wedding - good location and great homemade ice cream but....
We stayed in one of the motel type rooms --- shower stall is smallest we ever saw - hard to bend down to wash legs and feet, bathroom had very limited storage. Bedroom was on the smaller side with 19 inch TV, old style furniture, A/C that had no knobs so you needed strong hands to turn the metal dial stubs. Large closet for how small the rom was, also had folding bed in it but don't know how it would have fit to be opened. Everything needed painting/refreshing including outside of rooms. Best part of hotel was walking distance to restaurants. We have stayed in newer hotels for a lot less money in rooms twice as large and with 32 inch flat screen TV's and free breakfast buffet. Would say that we would not stay here again although everything in our room worked and we did sleep well, everything is just outdated and in need of repair.

Room Tip: No fitness center or room service available. Must go out for every meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Colonial Inn & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We recently reviewed every review on TripAdvisor and we thank everyone that took the time to share your praises and constructive criticisms. Please be assured that we take every feedback seriously. While our goal is to provide a comfortable and restful place for a great night’s sleep for our customers, we know that we can occasionally fall short and appreciate your feedback as an opportunity to improve all aspects of our service.

So please continue to post your praises and yes, your criticisms. But first, please share them with my staff or ask for me and we will try and fix them on the spot. We have made great progress and some changes since a lot of these reviews were posted, so I hope you will try us again. I look forward to seeing all of you again.

Thank you. Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We booked a two night stay here with friends. The best part of this motel was the location to the town and it was literally a few hundred feet from the gorge. We walked to Jerlando's to eat three times during our stay, we liked the restaurant so much. The rooms need to be updated, but the bed was comfortable. They needed a good cleaning, the dust on the air conditioner vent was so bad,. I cleaned it myself. The show was a single stall and if you weight more than 150 pounds, you may have a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Colonial Inn & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We recently reviewed every review on TripAdvisor and we thank everyone that took the time to share your praises and constructive criticisms. Please be assured that we take every feedback seriously. While our goal is to provide a comfortable and restful place for a great night’s sleep for our customers, we know that we can occasionally fall short and appreciate your feedback as an opportunity to improve all aspects of our service.

So please continue to post your praises and yes, your criticisms. But first, please share them with my staff or ask for me and we will try and fix them on the spot. We have made great progress and some changes since a lot of these reviews were posted, so I hope you will try us again. I look forward to seeing all of you again.

Thank you. Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watkins Glen hotels
3.1 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,262 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#8 of 9 in Watkins Glen
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Local
The Local
#6 of 7 in Watkins Glen
2 reviews
1.5 mi away
Glen Motor Inn
Glen Motor Inn
#4 of 9 in Watkins Glen
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn & Motel

Address: 701 N Franklin St, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-1303
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Watkins Glen
Price Range: £67 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colonial Inn & Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Colonial Inn & Motel, perfectly located in downtown Watkins Glen, where quality and value meet beautiful and spectacular scenery. We provide a comfortable and restful place for a great night's sleep. Start your morning with a complimentary cup of "Witches Brew" coffee from Finger Lakes Coffee Roasters. Now start your day. We are a few minutes walking distance from a wide variety of sight-seeing and other traditional vacation opportunities including the world famous Watkins Glen State Park, also known as "The Gorge" and its beautiful 19 waterfalls. Conveniently located near other major attractions such as Seneca Lake boat tours, local wineries and their vineyards, Nascar Sprint Cup, Watkins Glen International speedway racing, and more. Check out the 2014 New York's Finger Lakes Region Travel Guide for more ideas (we are featured on page 21). Bit.Ly/2014TravelGuide This historic motel is an excellent choice for families, business travelers, or those simply road-tripping through the Finger Lakes wine country on a budget. The main building was built in the 1880s and still retains a lot of its vintage charm. The back rooms were added in 1950s and also retain the classic mid-century look and decor of a more peaceful and restful time. (We still use metal keys, not plastic key cards). We are more than a simple B&B resort. We provide free Wi-Fi and free parking, but the secret of our success is our attention to detail to provide clean rooms and a hospitable atmosphere at an affordable price. You will find our staff enthusiastic and courteous with your comfort and pleasure our priority. We offer late check-in, and are open to drop-ins when available. Oh, and while in Watkins Glen, we recommend you try our small batch homemade ice cream, with vegan ice cream. And for our meat eaters, we have our very tasty Beef On Weck sandwich. It has gotten great reviews. We also offer handcrafted pottery, ceramics and other locally created items. You can also view our active beehive and see the honey, if you find the queen bee you get a free small ice cream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Colonial Inn & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing