We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local Diner” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savard's Family Restaurant - CLOSED

Savard's Family Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Local Diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Savard's has a local diner feel to it. It has not changed much over the years. Decent food just nothing extraordinary about the place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebiMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    50
    28
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Family Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife,son and I spent a few days in Watkins Glen in April. We were there for a track event at the Watkins Glen International Race track where my son ran his race car.
Being our first trip to the city,we tried to find eating establishments who offer good food at reasonable prices.
We found Savard's to be an excellent choice. The staff was very cordial. Food was excellent with the exception of the sausage which was a little greasy.
We had a side trip to Sampson State Park which was previously Sampson Air Force Base. That is where I spent three very cold months going through basic training in 1955.

If we ever return to the area, this restaurant will be one of our destinations.

Over all, I found this to be the perfect place to eat

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narvon, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worst breakfast”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Worst service ever ! We were here over memorial day weekend. The restaurant was not busy. We waited over an hour for our breakfast. The waiter was unapologetic offered no excuses. The food was cold. The manager did not even offer a discount to our bill.

Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
173 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Food was good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

A nice and clean basic food family type restaurant. Menu had good standard food choices. We had a pleasant lunch here. The server could have been a bit more attentive to refilling our beverages but overall this was good food at a good fair price. Nice stop if you are going to be visiting the Watkins Glen State Park nearby.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScubaLadyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg
Level Contributor
117 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“NO!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were in Watkins Glen for one of our usual trips to the Seneca Lake area and decide to try this place for breakfast. It turned out to be one of the worst experiences we have had with a restaurant.

We were seated promptly upon arrival. After that, it went down hill. It took about 20 minutes before a waiter came to our table to take our order. During that period I noticed that a party at another table complained about their food and ultimately got some charges taken off their bill. We heard the table behind us and across from us complaining that they had ordered and were waiting a long time for their food to come out. Ok, the place was busy and maybe it was just one of those days, but......

We finally got a waiter and ordered - western omelet, home fries, and coffee for my wife, scrambled eggs, pancakes, sausage, and coffee for me. He said he would be right back with coffee - it never showed. Finally after about 10 more minutes the hostess came over asked us about drinks, she then ran and got us coffee. The people at the next table now began to joke that they had been waiting an hour and had not gotten their food yet. I heard the waiter tell them it would be out in "2 minutes". Later he came and told them that another waiter had took their meals and served them to other guests.

About 20 minutes later (probably a total of 50 minutes now, 30 minutes since ordering) we had still not been served and decided we would pay for our coffee and leave. Our waiter came over just as we were getting up and told us our food was up and would be out momentarily. Another 10 minutes went by and we were finally served (the people across from us were still waiting).

It was practically inedible: first, the eggs in the omelet and my scrambled eggs were clearly poured from a carton. My wife's omelet was about 1/4" thick and when she cut it the uncooked egg mixture just flowed out of it onto her plate. My scrambled was a portion about 1/4" thick and 3" x 4" and completely flat - no fluff or texture. I noticed that the large scoop of butter on my pancakes was not melting, it turned out the pancakes were about room temperature and had a big depression in them where the butter scoop set, the depression was because other than a thin layer of cooked batter on the outside, the insides were mostly soft, moist batter that was undercooked. The home fries never arrived. Our waiter said they would be out "shortly". They didn't get the chance. We left money on the table for an estimated payment and walked out.

While we were they a party of 4 men walked out after waiting about 15 minutes for a waiter. There was about 4 waiters/waitresses and a hostess working, it is not a big place, and everyone was bustling about back and forth to the kitchen getting not much done.

We did hear the hostess explain to someone else that the business had changed ownership about 4 weeks ago. Maybe they will get their act together sometime in the future, if they last that long.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PABucsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Savard's Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing