We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My chicken died in vain”
Review of Mr Chicken - CLOSED

Mr Chicken
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Latham, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My chicken died in vain”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I think "Mr Dry and Mediocre Chicken" is more appropriate. Service was friendly and the cole slaw was pretty good. I got the half chickn platter which included fries, cole slaw, and a buttered roll. Fries and the roll were just food service quality and the butter was hard as a rock. The chicken was very dry and disappointing. The restaurant came somewhat recommended. Glad we went there and found out for ourselves but we won't be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    44
    13
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Latham, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“dryyyy chicken : (”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We'd heard mixed comments about Mr. Chicken and decided to try it for ourselves; our chicken was so dry that every bite required a follow-up drink. The sides were average. All in all we were quite disappointed. I guess it's a Watkins Glen institution but we've been there and done that and Mr. Chicken is crossed off our list.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good chicken, great for a quick meal while on the move.”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Friendly staff, freshly prepared food, great coleslaw and good pies, great for those with a sweet tooth!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pardinicarolann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfield
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Was in the mood for KFC and found this place. Was a pretty good substitute. Had pretty big helpings and food was great.

Helpful?
1 Thank A. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watkins Glen, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dryed out”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

chicken is very dry and tasteless in it a Mr chicken house the side dishes are the only thing saving the meal.

Helpful?
Thank 1Seneca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr Chicken also viewed

 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing