We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap rates! Not worth any amount of money.”
Review of Watkins Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Watkins Motel
Ranked #6 of 17 Watkins Glen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I rented 3 rooms at this motel for the same weekend for a family trip. I was promised that the rooms were freshly renovated and immaculately maintained. The assistant manager, Beth, said they were simple but clean and fresh. Well.... we pulled up and the outside of the motel was nothing like you see on line. Poorly maintained and just dirty. I asked to see the rooms as we checking in...NASTY- DIRTY- terrible STENCH, DIRTY CARPETS. Not one renovated room was available. (I question if there ever was a renovated room). I would be afraid to stay here even if the rooms were free. Pay the extra few dollars and stay in a clean and safe room... it's worth the piece of mind. All six of us drove home the same night. We were afraid to stay at this facility.

Room Tip: Steer clear even for free....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Booked this room while in town for a wedding. Everywhere else was booked, and now I see why this place had rooms available. We opted to drive over two hours home after the wedding, rather than stay at this place! I would have been fine with old,and dated but this place was just gross. Everything from the smell, to the dirty carpet, and the dead bugs on the back of the toilet. And we were told our room was just cleaned! Just keep driving when you see the vacancy sign hanging at this place. Was not worth the $$ we paid for it!

Room Tip: Don't bother with any of the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to go to the Finger Lakes and stay in Watkins Glen, not realizing it was a big weekend for them. One of the few places with vacancies in town was the Glen Way. They had great prices and their Facebook page boasted remodeled rooms, so we went for it. As it turned out, not all the rooms are remodeled. After asking, they kindly allowed us to stay in a remodeled room (17) for our first night, and then we went back to the old room (14) for the rest of our stay. It seemed that maybe the rooms inside the house were remodeled and all but one of the rooms out back were not. Even the remodeled rooms aren't that great, but as I said, it was pretty cheap to stay there.

The beds have the old style floral duvets, the towels are thin, the bathroom rug was a bit dirty and coming apart, the doors could use some weather sealing, the walls are thin, there is no clock or telephone in the room, and the shower stall is very small and made of cheap plastic which also seemed to not have been cleaned well before or during our stay. I found a previous occupants travel shampoo in the stall as well as a few hairs.

The room did have a small fridge, which was nice. The motel also had wifi, but it wasn't usable in the rooms behind the house, so we didn't have wifi.

The room suited our needs of a place to shower and sleep without breaking the bank. It was also within walking distance of ice cream and a few other places, as well as the gorge.

Room Tip: I have a feeling the rooms inside the house are nicer. I think they are remodeled and even have hard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindaroeikjaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watkins Glen hotels
3.4 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,271 reviews
0.7 mi away
Idlwilde Inn
Idlwilde Inn
#8 of 17 in Watkins Glen
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
148 reviews
0 mi away
The Local
The Local
#6 of 7 in Watkins Glen
2 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hudson Manor Bed & Breakfast
Hudson Manor Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 17 in Watkins Glen
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watkins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Motel

Address: 212 S Franklin St, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-1509 (Formerly Glen Way Motel)
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Watkins Glen
Price Range: £76 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Watkins Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing