We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Relaxation!!”
Review of Glen Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glen Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Reviewed 25 September 2012

If you are looking for peace and relaxation with the most Beautiful view of Lake Seneca, than this is where to stay. Spent Labor Day weekend at the Glen Motor Inn. The rooms are clean and the staff is very very nice. Now it is nothing fancy so don't expect the Holiday Inn, but your paying for the View. The food in the resturant is not so bad either!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunchs1256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Glen Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

We recently spent 2 days and 2 nights at the Glen Motor Inn. The motel is located about 2 miles north of the village-central of Watkins Glen, NY just above Lake Seneca and has a phenomenal view of the entire lake. My wife and I stayed in room 40 while my mother stayed in room 41. The rooms were clean, fresh carpeting, smelled great and while the furnishing were dated, nothing was unusable or broken. The bathrooms were clean and the water pressure could only be described as WOW! We had excellent AC and the cable TV offerings were better than many 5-stars we've stayed in including Las Vegas and all without a $15 resort fee. Just up the hill from our rooms was the Montage restaurant which was second to none with its Italian fare and the desserts that left us arguing over who's was best. Their continental breakfast was the perfect low-impact, quiet atmosphere to facilitate recovery from the sports-oriented downstairs lounge where cocktails flowed into the wee hours. My parents brought me to exactly this same Motor Inn some 30 years ago and thankfully the legacy continues today. There is no better place to stay if you are looking for a home away from home. The owners truly care that you feel like your staying with family. This was also a Grand Prix/Road Racing draw with 50 years worth of drivers photos and autographs adorning the check-out area/foyer walls. What a piece of history both the service and the location! We'll be back again for a more substantive stay to explore all of the local wineries. This is going to take a while as I'm certain I saw more than 50 assorted wineries just on our way out of town heading towards Geneva. Evidently all of the bad reviews were made by folks that just don't get it. We've stayed at all kinds of establishments and this felt the most like home.

Room Tip: Top floor roooms with entry facing the hotel make the walk from the lounge shorter :-)
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSB1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We searched for an affordable and accessible private location with a view of the lake. The room was perfect and very clean. This is a very old motel but they have done a good job keeping it refreshed. The food was good. Continental Breakfast was just that - nothing fancy. We needed an area to park the bike trailer and a safe area to park the motorcycles. This place was perfect. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring a hair dryer and your own coffee pot.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

After reading reviews about the Glen Motor Inn, I'd have to agree with some of them. Beautiful view of the lake, restaurant was delicious, staff was very friendly. Wish we had some amenities, ie. coffee maker, hair dryer........but we were told people keep stealing these items, so they're no longer provided. After arriving on July 17th (100 degrees), the pool was open and quite refreshing!! I'd have to agree the place could use a complete upgrade, but then you'll pay $200+ per night. Overall, it's a nice place to stay.........if you want a luxury hotel, go pay $400 a night at the Glen Harbor Hotel, if you want a nice place to call home for a few days, this is it. We'd stay there again............

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

If you are looking for luxury accomodations, then this is not your place. However, it is clean and the view of the lake is wonderful. It is an older motel and does not have a lot of amenities such as hair dryer, iron. coffee pot, etc. in room. The pool is nice and well maintained. The food at the restaurant on site was very good and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. My sister and I went for the Wine Festival and had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mimix312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The view is beautiful. The rooms are what I expected,nothing fancy and they were clean. The pool was what attracted me and my family to this hotel and even had a conversation (with the owner) when making my reservation about the pool. When we arrived the pool had been drained and they were "working on it". The pool never got filled and we were not able to swim, during what maybe turn out to be the hottest summer on record. We went to the desk everyday during our three night stay to inquire about this issue, "we are working on it" was all that was said. Upon departure I inquired about possibly getting a little bit of money taken off of our bill due to this HUGE inconvience and I was told no (by the owner)! I feel that was a horrible way to treat any guest and hope any one looking for an inexpensive hotel/motel near Watkins Glen drives right past.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank trudy711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This place is more than awful! The view is spectacular but that is the only good thing I can say! The rooms are dark and have old fake wood paneling and very old dirty shag carpeting! A real dive! The rate we paid was outrageous for what we got! NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
3  Thank Aggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
1.6 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
111 reviews
12.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
#8 of 11 in Horseheads
101 reviews
2.1 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#7 of 9 in Watkins Glen
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
143 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#8 of 9 in Watkins Glen
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Motor Inn

Address: 3380 State Route 14, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-9707
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range: £81 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glen Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nostalgic motel overlooking Seneca Lake. Every room has a view, most with balconies. You park in front of your door. Seasonal open May through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Glen Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Motor Hotel Watkins Glen
Glen Hotel Watkins
Glen Motel Watkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing