We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Musty! Musty! Musty! and Creepy Crawlers in the Night!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Seneca Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watkins Glen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seneca Lodge
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Musty! Musty! Musty! and Creepy Crawlers in the Night!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

DO NOT stay at this hotel, unless you like the smell of moldy and musty rooms. There are definitely creepy crawly things in bed with you. We talked with management about the condition of the room, and they more or less said, they are not responsible for how it smells or the critters that reside in their beds. We left early and would not go back again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarTraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    57
    35
    16
    15
See reviews for
33
61
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

The rooms here are just "ok." The prices are very good though but if you're on a budget the rates are affordable- just make sure you get the nicest possible room.The grounds are serene. The location is very convenient: you can WALK to Watkins Glen State Park! Visiting this park is a MUST. The gorge and the waterfalls are BEYOND beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gram777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

My husband and I stayed there the end of July. We didn't have a reservation and had no idea where to stay when we got to Watkins Glen! We punched in Hotel/Motels in our Garmin and went were it took us. We went to one that was on a hill and overlooked the lake they wanted over $100. per night. The next one we called was Seneca Lodge. We went there to look at it and loved it! It was so nice! The room was clean the beds were very comfortable and it had a porched to set outside on! It was so close to the Gorge that we were able to walk and leave our car at the motel! We are planning another trip back in October and taking friends I can't wait! For $75 a night it was more than you could ever imagine!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caseysmom1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

We stayed here the weekend of July 24 to attend a friend's wedding. We normally would have stayed in a B&B but almost all of them refuse young children. So - in searching for something that would be amenable to a 9 month old, I chose the Lodge. It had rooms with fridges available (a big plus) and the dining room. We got a large 2 bed room, can't remember which one, and it was fine. The noisy neighbors were a big pain, but they did quiet down after about 11 pm. It is just okay. It's good that it is inexpensive, so you don't feel like you wasted any money, but I wouldn't return. The food at the Lodge is marginal, as is the wait staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OingoBoingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

We were travelling with 4 other couples and had booked the cabins so that we could all be together. They were disgraceful. I have seen better slums on TV documentaries. However, the restaurant and bar were good.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curtiipj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Watkins Glen hotels

Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

GREAT place to stay in Watkins Glen. I stayed in a motel unit with 2 queen beds. The room was very clean and the bathroom appeared to be recently remodeled. Quiet and serene location. The restaurant and bar are a lot of fun and the food is great. Be sure to try the homemade salad dressings...

I did get a peek at the inside of a cabin. It was much smaller than the motel rooms - but if you want rustic - cabins may be your answer.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2009

Stayed at the Seneca Lodge on Columbus Day weekend (Oct 10-11) 2008 with a group of 8 for a wine tasting trip. We booked only a few weeks in advance and this turned out to be one of the few places in town that could accommodate our large group at such late notice. Many in our group were concerned about the cost, so this turned out to be perfect. We are planning another trip this year, and everyone wants to stay at the Seneca Lodge again!

The Seneca Lodge has a 4-bedroom log cabin, 2 3-bedroom A-frames, many cabins, and many motel rooms. When we made the reservation, the cabins were the only rooms available. They were described as being rustic or a step up from camping. This is absolutely true! I was able to peak into a motel room when it was being cleaned the day we checked out, and they seemed to be quite a bit nicer and similar to a standard hotel room. However, we stayed in cabins, so this is our experience:

My husband and I shared Cabin 24 with his parents. Cabin 24 is a two-bedroom cabin with a double bed in one room and 2 twin beds in the larger bedroom. The floors creaked and it had a musty smell when we walked in. The front desk was able to provide air freshener which helped with this situation. Our cabin had a common room with a very old couch, a chair that seemed about to break, and a beat up coffee table. The radiators worked well enough, and the extra space heater included in the room made it too warm overnight. Describing the bathroom as basic is an overstatement. It had a small shower, a sink, and a toilet. it took some searching, but i finally found an electrical outlet attached to the wall sconces on either side of the mirror. The floor creaked and the beds/pillows weren't the most comfortable, but for $51/night (for the whole cabin), we couldn't complain too much.

Three cousins in our group shared Cabin 21. It was also a two-bedroom cabin, but both bedrooms were smaller than in Cabin 24. There was a double bed in one room, a twin bed in another room, and a twin bed in the common room. The heat in their cabin did not work well at all, and the space heater was plugged into the one outlet in the whole cabin - in the back bedroom. I don't remember much of their bathroom, but seemed similar to ours. Cabin 21 was $48/night.

An uncle stayed in Cabin 8 - 2 rooms with a twin bed each. It was located out of the way of the other cabins. Cabin 8 was $46/night.

The best part of the Seneca Lodge was the campfire! After wine tasting all day, we'd go downtown for dinner, and then come back to the Lodge and start a campfire. we'd drink wine, laugh, make s'mores, laugh some more, and drink more wine. I'm surprised that no one asked us to quiet down, but we had a fantastic time! the campfire we used was located directly across the pebble driveway from Cabin 24, so our bathrooms were convenient when needed.

We did eat breakfast once at the Lodge. Menu was somewhat limited, but the food was good (I think its hard to screw up breakfast!) We walked around the grounds the morning we checked out, to view the old archery range and the swimming pool. Even if it was warm enough, I don't think I would be spending much time near the pool. Go across the street to the pool at the state park. The biggest thing that really threw us off was having to pay for the cabins in full when we checked in, even though we hadn't even seen the rooms yet.

We plan to go back again this October, and I have already made reservations for the A-frames, since our group will grow in number from last year. Definitely plan to hike the gorge in the state park across the street and visit a winery or two while you're in town!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irshmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watkins Glen hotels
0.3 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#6 of 9 in Watkins Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watkins Motel
Watkins Motel
#6 of 17 in Watkins Glen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#5 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seneca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seneca Lodge

Property: Seneca Lodge
Address: PO Box 272, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-0272
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Watkins Glen
Number of rooms: 58
Also Known As:
Seneca Hotel Watkins Glen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing