We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”
Review of Chieftain Motel

Chieftain Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chieftain Motel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
North Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Staff”
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We stayed here in 1977 and my sister left her stuffed turtle music box behind. We called them a couple of days later when we realized where it was and they sent it to us right away. My niece now has the turtle and I still remember their decency in sending to her.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heypally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Cobb, PA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

We stayed here for a weekend of wine tasting and relaxation and what a great experience! The Chieftain is a simple and exceptionally clean motel. It is definitely not a state of the art facility, which was fine with us. The inn keeper was super friendly and helpful - her dogs were also a great addition to our stay, as we love animals. Price was affordable for the accomodations. The motel is located a few miles outside of town so it was convenient and quite. We will certainly return!!

  • Liked — friendly staff and cleanliness of the room.
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank turtle131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 July 2006

My sister and I stayed at the Chieftain for our brother's wedding. It is a sweet motel setting with clean rooms and great management. Judy is the manager and she went out of her way to make sure that our stay was wonderful. We highly recommend Judy and the Chieftain Motel

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 July 2006

Great location, large room & super friendly service make this a great value in the area. Would absolutely return.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2006

This inviting-looking and well-kept motel is situated on a hill back from the road. It is a fine place for 1 or 2 nights.

The Chieftain's rooms are spotless, odorless, modern and bright with a front window and a back window. Beds are not too soft and very comfortable with nice colorful bedspreads and 2 additional decorative pillows which can be used as a headboard. The white walls are a bit bare and could use some pictures or framed posters. Also, a coffee-maker would be much appreciated, although free coffee is available in the office. The rates are very reasonable, and a dorm frig can be rented for $2 per day.

The only problem I had was with the remote control. It is on a leash attached to the nightstand, and the cord is not long enough to watch TV sitting in the easy chair unless you move the chair right in front of the TV set. But that was a minor problem, and I will stay at the Chieftain Motel again the next time I am in Watkins Glen.

Helpful?
6 Thank Eisbaer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
0.1 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
96 reviews
14.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
#8 of 11 in Horseheads
99 reviews
3.8 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#5 of 9 in Watkins Glen
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
130 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anchor Inn And Marina
Anchor Inn And Marina
#7 of 9 in Watkins Glen
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chieftain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chieftain Motel

Property: Chieftain Motel
Address: 3815 State Route 14, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-9773
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chieftain Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chieftain Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chieftain Hotel Watkins Glen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing