We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resort????”
Review of Lakeside Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watkins Glen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakeside Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Resort????”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

To call it a Resort is a an overstatement. It does have a wonderful view of the Seneca Lake and close to many Watkins Glen attractions and Race track but that's where the benefits ends. Our room was clean but the mattresses were too hard (even for firm mattress lovers like us) and the shower did not work properly. You can not get breakfast if you sleep in and wake up after 10am. Over all it was not that bad, but nothing to be excited about especially for the price we paid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    31
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
25
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Well, we WANTED to stay at this hotel, but the not-very-nice-on-the-phone proprietor won't take reservations for single nights. I offered to pay in advance, and he said he would do so if I paid $300 a night for each room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leslie-from-Brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Hi Leslie, it is our policy, during certain seasons, to require a 2 night minimum stay. I sincerely apologize that the issue was not explained to you amicably and hope to resolve it with the person in question.

Thank you for your feedback, and we hope that this one experience with our receptionist will not deter you from considering us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I now stayed at the Lakeside Resort for 20 nights, over two years. Wonderful view of the lake, a long lawn framed by trees, the Lake and then a waterfall on the opposite shore. Clean and fully functional rooms with frig and microwave. Reasonable prices. Tony, Jimmy the Lab and Katie the Cat all make a person feel at home.

Room Tip: I like best the rooms facing the Lake. However, the cottages work better for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredandFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

This place was so awful we asked for our money back and found another place to stay. The two rooms we were given to pick from were old, run down, and not very clean. The owner kept telling me he gave us a good deal and did us a favor by renting us a room for one night when many places require two nights. He did us no favors!!! We left and found a B&B to stay out. Save your money!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank emitrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This Sept. was our 4th year staying at Lakeside Resort. The first 2 we stayed at the motel, we now reserve a cottage. Both are clean and relaxing. Tony, the owner is terrific! he is always around making sure the guests are well taken care of, There is something for everyone at breakfast and the dining area has magnificent views. There are so many little extras that make your stay perfect! We now look forward to catching up with the same group of guests every year during the vintage car race weekend and we all reserve our spot for the following year. For those of you that are animal lovers, Tony has a very friendly dog, Jimmy, who has a lot of fans, and a cute cat named Katie. We would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 63Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent a long weekend with family and friends.

It was close to attractions.

We had a relaxing, in touch with nature trip.

The owner Tony and his best friend Jimmy are unforgettable.

Also saw many return customers.

You can BBQ here instead of going to restaurants.

Nice Place, Great Value!

Room Tip: You can have room with lake view or cabin with forest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnchu168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights in the summer. Although this is a no frills older motel with cottages, the rooms and cottages were clean and comfortable. The location is great - a very quick straight shot to the main street in Watkins Glen, close to some of the vineyards. The owner was very accommodating for our special request. The rooms/cottages seem to vary quite a bit from each other (eg, lake views, proximity to loud street, number of beds). Would be nice if the website gave a brief description of the features of the various options, so people could request those rooms if available. Would also recommend having hot tea available for the continental breakfast for those who don't like coffee.

Room Tip: The motel rooms have nice views of the lakes, which the cottages don't have. Some cottages have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 930BaltTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
17.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elmira / Corning
2.8 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#7 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Longhouse Lodge Motel
Longhouse Lodge Motel
#6 of 9 in Watkins Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Resort

Property: Lakeside Resort
Address: 3812 State Route 14, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-9715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing