We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low-maintenance, quintessential motel getaway”
Review of Lakeside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this charming little motel on a summer weekend getaway to the Finger Lakes region. It was low-maintenance and just what we were looking for. The location on Lake Seneca was perfect for driving into town, nearby wineries and restaurants and, of course, Watkins Glen State Park.

The rooms are delightfully tacky and decorated with 80's floral-print bedspreads and fake flowers. The outside is more sub-dued and looks like the quintessential motel.

The owner was accomodating when I called to make reservations and friendly upon check-in. After that, we didn't see much of him. The motel's website well designed and works on mobile devices (which I appreciated). Overall, I feel like this place is a good bet and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kelsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

To call it a Resort is a an overstatement. It does have a wonderful view of the Seneca Lake and close to many Watkins Glen attractions and Race track but that's where the benefits ends. Our room was clean but the mattresses were too hard (even for firm mattress lovers like us) and the shower did not work properly. You can not get breakfast if you sleep in and wake up after 10am. Over all it was not that bad, but nothing to be excited about especially for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Well, we WANTED to stay at this hotel, but the not-very-nice-on-the-phone proprietor won't take reservations for single nights. I offered to pay in advance, and he said he would do so if I paid $300 a night for each room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Leslie-from-Brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C, Manager at Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Leslie, it is our policy, during certain seasons, to require a 2 night minimum stay. I sincerely apologize that the issue was not explained to you amicably and hope to resolve it with the person in question.

Thank you for your feedback, and we hope that this one experience with our receptionist will not deter you from considering us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I now stayed at the Lakeside Resort for 20 nights, over two years. Wonderful view of the lake, a long lawn framed by trees, the Lake and then a waterfall on the opposite shore. Clean and fully functional rooms with frig and microwave. Reasonable prices. Tony, Jimmy the Lab and Katie the Cat all make a person feel at home.

Room Tip: I like best the rooms facing the Lake. However, the cottages work better for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FredandFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

This place was so awful we asked for our money back and found another place to stay. The two rooms we were given to pick from were old, run down, and not very clean. The owner kept telling me he gave us a good deal and did us a favor by renting us a room for one night when many places require two nights. He did us no favors!!! We left and found a B&B to stay out. Save your money!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank emitrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This Sept. was our 4th year staying at Lakeside Resort. The first 2 we stayed at the motel, we now reserve a cottage. Both are clean and relaxing. Tony, the owner is terrific! he is always around making sure the guests are well taken care of, There is something for everyone at breakfast and the dining area has magnificent views. There are so many little extras that make your stay perfect! We now look forward to catching up with the same group of guests every year during the vintage car race weekend and we all reserve our spot for the following year. For those of you that are animal lovers, Tony has a very friendly dog, Jimmy, who has a lot of fans, and a cute cat named Katie. We would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 63Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent a long weekend with family and friends.

It was close to attractions.

We had a relaxing, in touch with nature trip.

The owner Tony and his best friend Jimmy are unforgettable.

Also saw many return customers.

You can BBQ here instead of going to restaurants.

Nice Place, Great Value!

Room Tip: You can have room with lake view or cabin with forest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnchu168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
16.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Hammondsport Hotel
14.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
#8 of 11 in Horseheads
103 reviews
18.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Longhouse Lodge Motel
Longhouse Lodge Motel
#5 of 9 in Watkins Glen
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Resort

Address: 3812 State Route 14, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-9715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range: £56 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy beautiful Seneca lake views in clean and comfortable accommodations just 3 miles north of downtown Watkins Glen, NY. Our 30 acre property gives you some quiet time and room to breathe before returning to your favorite area activity! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing