We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only missing one thing - A BULLDOZER!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watkins Glen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watkins Glen Villager Motel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Reviewed 7 October 2007

We booked two rooms at the Villager Motel for a weekend in October 2007. Our room was small and VERY outdated. It had a distinct, yet unrecognizable odor, but wasn't a show-stopper. What was however was the absolute filth in the certain areas of each room, particularily in the corners of the the rooms. It was as if the housekeepers NEVER swept (bathroom) or vacuumed (carpeted room) the corners of the rooms!! Gross!! There was even a dead bug on the floor in the bathroom that looked as if had been there for quite a while. There was "discolored" tile and grout in the bathroom as well. Our bathroom door would not close all the way and the door to the room had gaps around it big enough to let even the largest bugs, drafts and noise in. The mattress was hard and had a spring or two poking us in the back. The pillows were patheticly flat.
Our friend's room was even more disgusting. As soon as you entered the room you were greeted by a disgusting smell that I could only describe as 'fecal'. Honestly. There was also mildew in the bathroom. I felt bad for our friends, but despite the obvious shortcomings in our room, I COULD NOT have stayed in a room that smelled like that.
The motel is situated on a busy street and we found it very difficult to get quality sleep due to the trucks, motorcycles, etc. This is not to mention the parties that seemed to exist on a nightly basis.
Upon check out, the female owner seemed annoyed that we brought these deficiencies to her attention. She offered no form of a refund nor ANY KIND OF APOLOGY WHATSOEVER!!!! She was very cold and rude. We will NEVER stay there again and would not recommend any self-respecting person to do so either.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ccool68158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Watkins Glen Villager Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 124 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2007

I wasn't looking for much -- basically a place to stay while we visited with friends staying at Seneca Lodge, and went wine tasting. The room was small & clean, but too close to a BUSY, BUSY intersection. I barely slept at all the first night of our scheduled 2-night stay. Our room door was too close to the sidewalk (which you could not see from the motel literature), and we could hear loud engines, brakes, conversations, and radios all night long. The next morning, I asked to be relocated to another room, but was told all rooms were booked (the vacancy sign was still hanging out front) and that our second night could not be cancelled as there is a 72-hour cancellation policy. We found another place to stay for our second night, and didn't turn in our key until 11AM the day we were scheduled to check out. Since we wouldn't get a refund, why let them re-book our room? Unless you are a very sound sleeper, I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLCEriePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2007

We stayed at the Village because it was cheap. It was old but clean. It was on a busy street but that didn"t keep us from sleeping . The room was very small and could use updates. If money is an issue, you don't have high expections , or plan alot of time in the room, this place is fine. The owner was very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatSmith_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

My family and our friends booked two rooms for a weekend at the Villager Motel in April. First, I have to say...THE ONLY REASON we picked this particular motel is because of the indoor pool...we have kids and in between the Porsche races we thought it would be a great idea to use it. The owner was very accomadating at first...let us check in late without paying (we were to pay the next morning). We got in around 10:30pm (two families, with two rooms). The kids were excited...we unpacked, looked around the room (seemed fairly clean..very simple). Around 5:30 in the morning my one son had to use the bathroom and saw a HUGE beetle (approx. 1 inch long)....told my husband and I and my husband killed it in a wash cloth (ewwww!) ;-).........we woke up and the two husbands went to pay and they brought along the bug. He (my husband) told the 15 year old girl behind the desk what he found and she apologized and threw it in the garbage......that would have been the end of it but then the owner came over and this is where it all began!!!!!!!!!
To make this story short and to the point...INSTEAD of apologizing and giving some money off of the room....she began to argue with my husband that "WE" PROBABLY brought it with us "from NEW JERSEY", because she's never seen a bug like that in NEW YORK...HAHAHAHAH.......WELL..........that's all my husband had to hear and very calmly told her about the hair on the walls, the food that was left in the refridge and the mold on the walls.......she argued with us for about 1/2 hour and was very sarcastic...she said " Oh what, you didnt eat last night"!!!!!?????????????????????????? HAHAHAHAH......she took all of this very personally and instead of handling this as an "OWNER, MANAGER' should of she was handling it as if it were an attack on her!!!! From the beginning we didnt even want anything from her, but after about 1/2 hour of her coming to our room and accusing us of "INSPECTING" her rooms and accusing us of eating food the night before and leaving it in the refridge and the hair stuck to the walls was MINE...and the mold on the walls (she didnt blame us for that)..hahahah....WE FINALLY said we demanded our money back!!!!!!!!! We all looked at each other in amazement...I actually thought she hadnt taken her medicine that day!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was soooo bizarre! I am a 40 year old business women and have NEVER dealt with someone like that, especially someone in customer service.
Needless to say, we left, never used the pool and got our money back. We went down the road to a really nice, clean and friendly motel.....I forgot the name........................it was great!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NewJerseyMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2006

Only stayed for one night as part of a larger trip, i would recommend pre booking if going to Watkins Glen on a weekend as many places were fully booked.

Hotel was basic but comfortable, free parking, no complimentary breakfast.

Good central location in the village, just of the main street several shops, 24hr launderette, restaurants and bars very close by, also marina only a 2 minute walk away where you can take lake cruises.

Many local wineries within easy driving distance and Watkins Glen State park a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toomuchtoolittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Bien situé
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francinenadeau007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watkins Glen hotels
3.0 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#7 of 9 in Watkins Glen
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
144 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#8 of 9 in Watkins Glen
27 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glen Motor Inn
Glen Motor Inn
#4 of 9 in Watkins Glen
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watkins Glen Villager Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Glen Villager Motel

Address: 106 E 4th St, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-1212
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Villager Motel And Glen Manor b&b
Villager Motel And Glen Manor Hotel Watkins Glen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing