We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinarily Wonderful”
Review of Idlwilde Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Idlwilde Inn
Ranked #7 of 17 Watkins Glen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extraordinarily Wonderful”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

They accomidated us coming at 9pm with understanding. Room 5 was small but we saved $ for 4 people and we had our own bathroom with plenty of warm water. The inn and grounds are very beautiful tranquil & picturesque. The porch is very large and relaxing. The breakfast wasnt super fancy but very tasty and the service was extremely fast. Maria was a delight and friendly. Many fun experiences and stories. She even let us keep our wine there after we checked out and came back for it. We would absolutely come back!! If you stay here you will not be disappointed! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lightcaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    16
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
61
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I enjoyed the 3 nights and days that we stayed at Idlwilde Inn. A beautiful setting overlooking Seneca Lake with excellent breakfast. It was great to be in a facility without a TV or other forms of media, so we could like the great setting and conversation. We will stay again if we get the opportunity. Even though I marked the swimming pool as being excellent, the Inn does not have swimming pool. I could not find a way of deleting this ranking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeenKutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I just came back from a wonderful stay at the Idlwilde Inn. We stayed a week at the converted century old Victorian summer retreat. The B&B served a different, appetizing, and plentiful breakfast every morning. The innkeeper, Maria, even prepared special meals for various diets that included vegan, glucose intolerant, etc. Maria was kind and considerate and couldn’t do enough for us. The rooms were cleaned every morning and the sheets were changed daily upon request. In this part of wine country, glasses, ice, and ice buckets were more than plentiful and offered to all guests freely along with use of a guest refrigerator. Because of Maria and the other innkeepers, staying at the Idlwilde Inn was truly a respite from an all too busy, techno world (although the Inn has Wi-Fi for the convenience of guests). We absolutely love our times there – if we didn’t, this would not have been our 14th annual vacation at the Inn. If you enjoy interesting and friendly guests, attentive hosts, and a restful step back in time, the Idlwilde Inn is definitely for you. We highly recommend this great place.
J. Miller

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This home is on a beautiful property with a very good view of Seneca Lake. We had a very large bedroom (on the 2nd floor), with a sitting room, enclosed porch, and a place to sit in an outside area overlooking the lake. The remodeled bathroom was very comfortable with a wonderful large walk-in titled shower. In addition, there was a walk-in closet. Our space was very clean, as were all the areas of the home that we visited.
The breakfast was good (and varied, as we were there 5 nights) and the service quick, efficient and very friendly.
John & Maria were our owner-contacts throughout our stay - both very nice with interesting information about the home and the area. They're colorful people with diverse backgrounds - if you speak Dutch, Italian or French, you'll probably have even more entertaining conversations. Maria was especially helpful in providing some guidance on places to consider visiting, including area wineries and restaurants. She made a reservation for us at a really good restaurant called Suzanne's.
We spent a lot of time visiting various parts of the Finger Lakes region, so coming back each evening to our comfortable lodging was a pleasant end to the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at Idlwilde Inn during our vacation and had a wonderful time. We both work very long hours so we were really looking forward to spending time together in a relaxing atmosphere. The house is beautiful. I don't know much about the Victorian era but it seems like the furnishings are pretty true to the period. Our room was on the third floor and had a majestic view of Seneca Lake. The room was bright with plenty of sun light and the bed was comfortable and we both got a good night's sleep each night we were there. The room, bathroom, and entire house was as clean as could be. Breakfast was delicious. They served french toast with sausage and fresh fruit our first morning, scrambled eggs the second, and pancakes the third. The owners were also very nice and accommodating. They provided us with great restaurant recommendations for dinner and gave us some tips about area attractions and which wineries we should visit. Our trip was everything we needed it to be, relaxing and enjoyable. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: rooms on the third floor have a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrism60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed here last week just to get away for a few days. We were very impressed with the house and the grounds. We stayed in room 7, which was very clean and well kept. Breakfast each morning was very good and the coffee was nice and hot (very important to me). Since we had never visited the area we asked about local attractions. The innkeepers were very informative recommending a couple wineries and restaurants to check out. There is also plenty of information on things to do in the area, right inside the front door. Our second night in the house we sat out on the gorgeous porch and had a nice chat with the innkeepers. We learned about the history of the house as well and the town of Watkins itself. Overall we had a great stay and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 20mike20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

If you want a boot camp getaway with a strict warden, then this is the place for you. We wasted our getaway by staying in this jail like place where as soon as you enter you are bombarded with one of the owner Maria, the warden who gives you instructions of don't do this n don't do that, don't drag your luggage on the wooden floors n when asked for a glass, it comes with the instructions of "pls be careful n don't break it". Does one really need this for their holiday or vacation..... So pls skip this n stay at a really good BnB with nice people who run it n really offer a good worthwhile breakfast cause the breakfast in this place leaves you hungry cause they don't offer much choice. Not really as romantic as they claim on their website, cause its dark n small dungy rooms., Sone of the bathrooms lack storage space n are not safe for elderly people as the bathtubs are too small. Slippery n has no support in case of any slips. It also lacks warmth n a welcoming atmosphere. This place does not deserve any star n the only missing instruction from the owner/ warden Maria besides all the above should be DON'T COME HERE!!!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank travelofoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watkins Glen hotels
2.7 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,178 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
127 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#9 of 9 in Watkins Glen
24 reviews
0.7 mi away
Watkins Motel
Watkins Motel
#6 of 17 in Watkins Glen
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idlwilde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idlwilde Inn

Property: Idlwilde Inn
Address: 1 Lakeview Ave, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-1148
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Idlwilde Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idlewilde Inn is an 18 room Victorian mansion built in 1892. This charming house has a character given by exquisite craftsmanship of an earlier era, with meticulously done staircase, moldings, ornamental ceilings, and fireplaces. There are several sun rooms, and a huge breezy wraparound porch, all overlooking the beauty of Seneca Lake. Idlewilde Inn is only a short walk to town. Historical Watkins Glen and the Fingerlakes area offer many year round activities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing