We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like your back, stay away from this place!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anchor Inn And Marina
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Reviewed 7 October 2007

My husband and I booked two nights at the Anchor Inn, and ended up crippled from the horrible mattresses in our room! We ended up eating Advil every three hours during our wine tours just to keep functioning! Honestly, this place is the pits. Construction going on, and a tiki bar and boat dock that operates on the weekends, and caters to the cigarette boat trade....the noise is deafening! And speaking of noise, the tractor trailers traveling between the salt factory at the end of the road, and the main highway, pass 100 feet from your room all day long, and into the evening...just wonderful. Our bill for two nights , after taxes and add ons, totalled $282!!!!!! Highway robbery for what we got.
On the positive side, the room was spacious and clean, and the view was good, although obstructed by a high wooden railing that made it difficult to see.
I would NEVER go back to this place in a million years! We would have been better off ( and richer ) at the Budget Inn!
Nancy, RDH

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Nancyrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2007

There was a relatively large construction project going on at the hotel during our stay and all the construction equipment was parked right outside our balconey. We were awoken quite early every morning to the loud noise of the equipment. We booked this hotel because of the view of the lake. We had hoped to enjoy our breakfast on our balcony while enjoying the view of the lake but the noise and dirt from the construction prohibited that. Everyday when we returned from site seeing, the table on our balconey had been taken by other guests and when we complained to management, they basically didn't care.

Several times during our stay, we had no water to take showers or wash or hands in the sink. It became apparent after a few days that the hotel does not have its own water source - they truck in water several times a day. The truck would park right outside our balcony to unload the water - a noisy procedure that usually took 15 minutes to complete. This was often done twice in the evening which would prohibit us from sitting on our balcony to enjoy the lake due to the noise.

They advertised a continental breakfast. It consisted of packaged muffins and danish, juice boxes and coffee. One morning there were no muffins or juice boxes. Another morning the muffins were frozen solid.

On the positive side, it was relatively clean. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlyEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2007

A colleague and I just stayed here for a work trip. We were disappointed. It wasn't terrible but everything was simply subpar. Specifically:

Sheets and towels were of barely average quality. Pillows were pretty flat.

My colleague disliked the fact that the soap, shower gel, and shampoo were provided in dispensers, not little bottles.

The lighting was inadequate for reading or working.

The doors really need screens, as you enter your room directly from outside (I had a fly, moth, and bee in my room).

We had to ask for an iron, and the woman couldn't find an ironing board.

There is no in-room coffee maker, and the "continental breakfast" consists of packaged Drake's (or something like it) muffins and danish, which we did not have.

They are doing construction, so the place looks pretty bad from the road and the work starts around 7am.

Beware: Cancellation policy is 10 days in advance.

The one nice thing is that all rooms have a sliding door leading out to a common porch that overlooks Seneca Lake, which is beautiful (but it is marred somewhat by the construction work/equipment directly below). This is not enough for us to return.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PHNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2007

One word - Peaceful. I took a chance with the Anchor Inn & Marina on Seneca Lake and I sure am glad I did. It is truly the “Goldie Lox” of the area in regards to price, amenities, location, and service. It isn’t as expensive as the B&B scene and yet it is under priced for the view and tranquility of the location. The rooms don’t have fancy furnishings yet it is very clean with nice sized rooms and comfortable beds. You don’t get room service, but you do get very welcoming and accommodating keepers that care about your stay and provide a family atmosphere. Every room has access to a shared balcony that allows access to a beautiful view of Seneca Lake and the beautiful sound of the small falls that run next to the inn. The road is semi-private and off the main streets so it really feels secluded. There is a small bar and marina right across the street on the water that gives you more options to explore if you need a cold drink or light snack. For a light breakfast, they offer muffins, danishes, coffee, and juice. For the techies, they offer free WIFI and for the tourists - it is close to everything in the area - 0 minutes to the lake, 5 minutes to Watkins Glen State park, 20 minutes to Watkins Glen International Race Track, and right off scenic Highway 14 which has many (10+) choice wineries. This place was perfect for what I needed and if I ever need a place to stay in the area again - I will definitely stay here. No doubt.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sui5te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Danielaufreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer mit Terrasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suse_hof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
122 reviews
2.3 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#8 of 9 in Watkins Glen
69 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,271 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#7 of 9 in Watkins Glen
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn And Marina

Address: 3425 County Road 30, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-9702
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchor Inn And Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchor Inn And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn And Marina Hotel Watkins Glen
Anchor Hotel Watkins Glen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing