We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location good rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anchor Inn And Marina
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location good rooms”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice stay here. The rooms were just renewed and there were new very good beds. So it is good hotel for a good prices around $90/night, on perfect location. A free breakfast was included!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cp V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    16
    18
    11
    8
See reviews for
17
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We enjoyed a great stay at the Anchor this summer. We have been before and were not disappointed this time, either. The Anchor is perfectly set with excellent views of the lake. The added bonus is the Tiki Bar that's part of the property. Excellent place to spend a day at the lake with lots of options like boat/jet ski rentals. Great prices for drinks and the food is excellent, too.
The staff at the Anchor is very friendly and knowledgeable about area attractions and can point you in the right direction for what you are looking for.
The beds seemed new and were very comfortable. Flat screen TV was a welcome touch. The room was very clean. It looks like they are making even more improvements so we look forward to our next trip here.

Room Tip: From what I can tell, all the rooms have equally great views of the lake with a porch to sit on and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The service at the Tiki Bar is horrible. They are terribly understaffed. We were there the weekend after the 4th of July and waited 1 & 1/2 hours for sandwiches on a Saturday afternoon. We went back this past weekend (Labor Day) and rented a boat. We arrived at 11:30 as directed to complete the paperwork. There was nobody available to drive our gear down to the boat so the 10 of us had to walk our gear down the steep stairs and across the train tracks. They had one bartender working. She was responsible for: 1) serving drinks, 2) taking food orders, 3) having the boat renters complete the paperwork, AND 4) showing the renters how to operate the boats. My daughter and her boyfriend were sitting at the bar with money out, but the bartender never waited on them. The boat trip itself was awesome! However, when we returned the boat, three employees were standing on the dock screaming directions at us and one of them called our "captain" an old man. The owners need to wake up!! This place could be a gold mine with the proper management and staffing. We certainly won't waste anymore time or money at the Tiki Bar. I highly recommend the Seneca Harbor Station for great food and service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SassySadie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Watkins Glen hotels

Monsey, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This inn owns a marina and they rent power boats out to anybody. We were staying in cortland NY and we just came over to watkins glen to spend the day on Seneca Lake. We reserved a boat at the Inns marina. We rented it out for two hours. The people working at the marina run a restaurant too and its very understaffed. Mostly one person is doing everything, serving guests food and renting the boats. We had to wait an hour to be helped with the boats even though we had a reservation an hour earlier. The boat was still on a lift and not filled with gas. We left at 2:00 from the marina and the guy told us the boat was full of gas and it should last us for at least two hours. After riding for 45 minutes the motor sputtered and stopped. We tried starting the motor again but it wouldn't. The gas gauge showed the tank was full so we didn't think of checking the tank. We called the inn we kept getting transferred to the marina where no one answered the phone. We were stuck in the middle of a lake with our kids. Finally someone answered the phone and said someone will come over with a jet ski. I told her we reserved for two hours and time was running out. She said don't worry about that we will work it out. we waited for almost an hour finally the guy shows up, didn't know anything about boats , he didn't think of checking the gas tank either. Just tried pressing all the buttons nothing happened. Finally the owner showed up after a couple of tries he looks in the gas tank and says its empty. Nobody told us that the gauge doesn't mean anything including the guy that sent us out of the marina and came to help us later. Obviously he doesn't know how to check if the gas tank is full which it probably wasn't when we started out since it ran out of gas so fast. But that didn't stop them from charging us for a full tank of gas. By that time it was after 4 and our time was up and they didn't want to let us have the boat any longer even though we were stuck on the lake for an hour and a half doing nothing. They didn't offer us anything instead. The kids were really disappointed and so was I. They didn't even offer us a refund on the money. They charged us for the full two hours. Don't waste your money on this marina. Unless you want rotten service and to waste a precious day of vacation stuck on a boat in the middle of a lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rachel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This motel is clean and adequate - nothing fancy. The staff was friendly. The deck is amazing and an increadibly relaxing place to be. My only complaint would be the lousy mattress. Despite the mattress, I would stay there again in a hearbeat.

While nothing listed below bothered me or anyone I stayed with, there are A few things to be aware of:
1) The hotel is on a CRAZY steep hill. If you're unsteady on your feet or afraid to take your vehicle up a hill, this is not the hotel for you. Side note: you don't HAVE to walk up and down the hill if you don't want to - the parking lot is at the top. There also steps to walk down part of the hill.
2) This is a Dog friendly hotel and we saw several dogs during our stay - including the Owners' dogs who occasionally roam outside or in the lobby area. Our group was a bunch of dog lovers, so we didn't mind.
3) There is a salt plant down the road from the hotel so during the week, there is a good bit of truck traffic. We didn't see any trucks Saturday or Sunday.
4) The Tiki bar across does have live music on weekends and was a bit loud on Saturday night - not enough to interfere with sleep unless you're a really light sleeper.
5) Each day they made the beds and emptied the trash. We had the same sheets and same towels for 3 nights.

Again, none of those 5 things bothered me, but I know people can be picky and you should know what you're getting into. Our rooms each had a mini-fridge, but no coffee maker. They have fresh coffee every moring in the lobby. The continental breakfast was just muffins and pastries - nothing hot.

Room Tip: All rooms have a shared deck. The two rooms we stayed in were identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncannon, PA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

If you want to stay in a motel that reminds you of a well-worn hunting camp, this is the place for you. We have stayed there twice, though on the second visit left on day one to stay someplace else. We were given a cottage. The furniture looked to be at least 40 years old; the place was dirty from the previous tenants, dead bugs on the floor, and the frig looked unsightly - wouldn't even consider putting bottles into it.
Parking is a challenge, especially if you're staying in a cottage - the road is dirt and is filled with ruts. The view of the lake was about the only thing going for this place.,

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PennStateProud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenville, me
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2012

From the easy going phone conversation to the check out, the staff were excellent. Room was big, clean and well appointed. View from deck was spectacular. Can't wait to go back and go to the tiki bar!

Room Tip: Got the "Family room" for $10 more... well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsmile266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
12.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
#8 of 11 in Horseheads
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.3 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#5 of 9 in Watkins Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.3 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#7 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Motor Inn
Glen Motor Inn
#4 of 9 in Watkins Glen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn And Marina

Property: Anchor Inn And Marina
Address: 3425 County Road 30, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-9702
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchor Inn And Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Anchor Inn And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn And Marina Hotel Watkins Glen
Anchor Hotel Watkins Glen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing