We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Lots of ice cream”

The Great Escape Ice Cream Parlor
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Watkins Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Family owned ice cream parlor in Watkins Glen NY for 35 years. Come enjoy dozens of flavors of Hershey's Ice Cream, Homemade Gelato, Sorbet, Vegan soft serve and hard homemade vegan ice cream (coconut & soy milk based), Soft Custard & a ever changing rotation of Homemade Hard Ice Creams, mostly made through suggestion. Gluten Free CONES!!! Also serving dessert specialties, ice cream cakes, homemade novelties and our famous homemade waffle cones made fresh daily. Perfect for the family and please bring the kids. Outdoor seating and convenient parking lot next to Burger King in downtown Watkins Glen. So Much More Than an Ice Cream Store! Open 7 Days a Week, Just a 1/2 block away from Watkins Glen State Park Main Entrance!
Restaurant details
Description: Family owned ice cream parlor in Watkins Glen NY for 35 years. Come enjoy dozens of flavors of Hershey's Ice Cream, Homemade Gelato, Sorbet, Vegan soft serve and hard homemade vegan ice cream (coconut & soy milk based), Soft Custard & a ever changing rotation of Homemade Hard Ice Creams, mostly made through suggestion. Gluten Free CONES!!! Also serving dessert specialties, ice cream cakes, homemade novelties and our famous homemade waffle cones made fresh daily. Perfect for the family and please bring the kids. Outdoor seating and convenient parking lot next to Burger King in downtown Watkins Glen. So Much More Than an Ice Cream Store! Open 7 Days a Week, Just a 1/2 block away from Watkins Glen State Park Main Entrance!
Burke, VA
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wow! Lots of ice cream”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

If you like ice cream then you want to stop here. They have soft serve. Hershey's. And more. There are at least 37 flavors of soft serve plus all the flavors of the Hershey's. I had what I thought was going to be a small soft serve. It was huge. In fact there was so much ice cream I could not quite finish it. My wife elected a Hershey's and was also given lots of ice cream. I think she did a little better with hers though. If we are ever back in Watkins Glen we will make sure we stop in again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neal4212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    43
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Great service! Great custard! Have eaten here many times. Always friendly and such a wonderful selection.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average ice cream experience”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Tons of selections. Almost too many if that's possible. Hershey's ice cream is good but we can get that at home so that landed us with an average grade. I tried a mixed choc/vanilla custard nutty buddy. It rated average as well. The prices were reasonable and the store was a little run down so we opted for sitting outside at the picnic tables. Service was friendly and quick.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2happycamperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira, NY
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in Watkins Glen”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Parking is tight, but once inside you are presented with more flavors that I have ever seen - and everyone I have tried is truly wonderful. The decor is fascinating and eclectic. There is inside and outside seating - service has always been great from young folks from the Watkins Glen area. Feels like a hometown ice cream parlor and not an assembly line. We continue to return - too bad it is not open all year, but winter time in Watkins Glen is VERY quiet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RayMargeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ice Cream Confusion”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stopped in after a day in the State Park for an ice cream treat. The inside in sensory overload, stuff everywhere, a series of ice cream coolers all the way down the ordering line, but it is impossible to see them all as you wait in line. The "menu" too is done in a way that is more confusing than clear. They do make there own ice cream, but it is about 20% of what is available, and mostly odd stuff (wheres the chocolate), the rest is Hershey hard ice cream and they do have mediocre soft serve (not very creamy or overly cold as it melts fast). The prices are a little on the high side, but about what you might expect in a tourist town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtbikerbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Great Escape Ice Cream Parlor also viewed

 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Great Escape Ice Cream Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing