We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hardest part was picking the flavor there were so many!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Great Escape Ice Cream Parlor

The Great Escape Ice Cream Parlor
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Watkins Glen
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned ice cream parlor in Watkins Glen NY for 34 years. Come enjoy dozens of flavors of Hershey's Ice Cream, Homemade Gelato, Sorbet, Vegan soft serve and hard homemade vegan ice cream, Soft Custard & a ever changing rotation of Homemade Hard Ice Cream, mostly made through suggestion. Also serving dessert specialties, ice cream cakes, homemade novelties and our famous homemade waffle cones made fresh daily. Perfect for the family and please bring the kids. Outdoor seating and convenient parking lot next to Burger King in downtown Watkins Glen. So Much More Than an Ice Cream Store!
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The hardest part was picking the flavor there were so many!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Cute little ice cream parlor with so many choices of Hershey's ice cream, homemade ice cream & gelato. (The chocolate gelato was so dark and delicious!) The staff was really friendly and patient with our four little ones picking flavors.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J0iedevivre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    38
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

So many choices in such a little place. Everything looked great from gelato, home made ice cream and treats and a huge selection of Hershey's flavors!

Definitely a nice treat after hiking.

Helpful?
Thank Josh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

My mom and took my 18 month old daughter here for her first very own ice cream cone! Great location with picnic tables outside for the "mess". We forgot to get napkins before heading to the outside deck, so my mom went back to get them and the girl behind the counter had a handful waiting! Great service and excellent ice cream!

For the vegans: there is vegan soft serve!!!

Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hungry for ice cream? This is the place to go! So many flavors to choose from as well as all kinds of waffle cones. You can't miss it...as it's the bright yellow house on the main drag next to Burger King!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebiMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“YUMMY ice cream - LOTS of choices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I have been here a few times now. So far, we've only gotten the hard ice cream, but each time it has been excellent. There are MANY flavors to choose from. I have gotten a different flavor each visit and all have been quite yummy and enjoyable (and different than I've ever found elsewhere). My husband has twice gotten a strawberry sundae because he loves the fresh strawberries that they use. Can't wait to go back!

NOTE: The review forced me to say if we were here for breakfast, lunch, dinner, etc. They didn't have a "Dessert" selection, so I picked coffee/tea (which we didn't have any since we were there for ice cream).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Great Escape Ice Cream Parlor also viewed

 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Great Escape Ice Cream Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing