We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the lamb!”
Review of L'Auberge d'Antan

L'Auberge d'Antan
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Saint-Girons
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Try the lamb!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were recommended this restaurant by our hosts at Domaine de Terrac. Despite being Friday night, we were able to book a table over the phone that afternoon.

If you use the GPS or GoogleMaps, try entering Chateau Beauregard, instead of just the restaurant name otherwise you will drive around for half an hour up the valley and into town in St.Girons. :)

The food was very good and the service was excellent. The room and the ambience were wonderful, especially the kitchen and the fire in the middle of the room. I had the lamb and had to use the Georgette (the local spork) to eat with. My husband had the pork and we both had the soup, which was really tasty.

We would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    79
    12
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful hearty mountain food with lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The auberge had a great atmosphere with roaring fire, old fashioned ovens and candles. There were various set menus and we opted for a cold starter, main course and dessert. We started with bread and large jars of homemade tapenade and onion chutney. They then brought a large tureen of suckling pig soup, with lots of meat and vegetables. For starters we opted for cappaccio of beef with lovely fresh lettuce leaves and foie gras on a pastry base. For the main we had suckling pig and duck breasts stuffed with mountain cheese. These came with delicious ratatouille and oven baked macaroni with cheese. We then opted for cheese and rhubarb crumble. Absolutely delicious and excellent value for money. My favourite meal on a trip of 2 weeks in France. Come hungry and enjoy!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dj_vhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxed eating”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Chose as was close to our hotel and found a great place with excellent meals and friendly prompt service. Food was great and for once we were served vegetables with our maim course, something at is sadly missing from French cruise it seems. Lovely summer evening and have a great out door area. Would recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rae1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So sad, obviously has been superb, now has lost the plot.”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Friends took us at the end of October telling us that on earlier visits this year the restaurant had been excellent once and disappointing the second time. On this occasion it was poor. The interior, design and layout were exciting. Sadly it was practically empty. The staff was civil but uninspired.
A tureen of soup for one would have served four with some left over but it was not nice. I had sweetbreads, which were great. The signature dish is reputed to be stuffed suckling 'piglette' often to be seen roasting on a spit in full view, but not so this night. This time three portions were short of pork but big on stuffing with soft skin not crackling. I had a slow cooked lamb dish, which was superb but there was no provision for vegetables. The deserts were adequate. The red wine was cold.
One rather felt that there would be a vast improvement if the staff had a spell as guests.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidgoldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A restaurant in steep decline...”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Over the past five years we have visited this restaurant with friends seven or eight times. The quality of the cooking has been declining, especially in the last year or so. The finishing of dishes is particularly poor, with an undetectable dressing on a dull salad starter. Main course accompanying vegetables, fruit and pasta were gruesomely prepared and of appalling quality, in a town where the produce offered in the market from bio producers is absolutely first rate. The gazpacho was artless, and perhaps from a tin or jar, like the peaches over the tasteless Bigorre black pig. Service was poor and amateur. The wine list is bizarre, ill-chosen, wanting, and arbitrarily priced. There is no red wine, or white doux for foie gras, by the glass. Desserts have to be ordered at the beginning of the meal (to which a good response is to decline them, and negotiate later). We shall not return unless we hear good reports from reliable friends. Would that this were not the case.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Camoens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Auberge d'Antan also viewed

Saint-Girons, Ariege
Arrien-en-Bethmale, Saint-Girons
 

Been to L'Auberge d'Antan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing