We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms with character but in need of up dating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Beauregard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de Beauregard
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Girons
Certificate of Excellence
Lezoux, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rooms with character but in need of up dating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Booked last minute so had no chooce on room options. Staff were very helpful and friendly, breakfast was good as expected. However Our room was tired and the floor boards creaked to much for my liking. Bathroon needs a face lift or even better updating. Location nice and quite, ideal for an over night stop over.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    54
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
15
93
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, Calif
Level Contributor
185 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our large room with a nice terrace, a view over the back garden, was very well equipped. The large bathroom with double sinks, fluffy robes, a large tub and a separate shower (albeit not "enclosed") were down the hall. The closet area is between and also quite large.

The hotel and its pleasant grounds are just outside the town itself and our room was quiet.

Our hostess was helpful and we took her suggestions to dine in the related restaurants - the Restaurant which is part of the hotel and their other one in nearby St. Lizier. Le Carre de l'Ange in St. Lizier is stunning and haute cuisine while Chez Antoine next to the hotel offers local traditional cuisine including roast suckling pig. The helpings here were huge and more than one of us could eat.

The hotel breakfast buffet was varied and ample and included eggs.

We had a nice hike starting off from the hotel and going up into the hills behind it. We had an even nicer hike starting from St. Lizier which was well marked and meandered in the woods and through pasture and farm land.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oski80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were given a lovely room with canopied bed, large fireplace with a couple of candelabras (complete with candles) and a separate small lounge. Rooms were named after French writers and each has its own parking space and umbrella on the coat racks downstairs. We had Paul Valery. Victor Hugo was next door and also looks really nice too. The bathroom had an ultra modern shower with light and radio!! There were plenty of towels and dressing gowns were provided. Breakfast was E13 with bread, pastries and very tasty jams - apricot, fig and blackcurrant. They don't do an evening meal but the meals at the auberge next door are excellent.

Room Tip: Paul Valery and Victor Hugo were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dj_vhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our one night in chateau Beauregard. The host was lovely, a very relaxed vibe in the place. They own 2 restaurants and we thought it would be nice to go to the other one in St Lizier. There were no taxis available and we fancied a couple of drinks so the host offered to drive us herself! We actually declined the offer and went to the on site restaurant which was fabulous. The room and bathroom were small but at 60€ we couldn't complain. We loved the character of the place.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank claredarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauillac, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I wish I had read the trip advisors reviews before booking this place. All the negative reviews are perfectly accurate.

The good reviews are old and out dated. It is a great pity that this is also the case for the photographs which show an opulent, majestic mansion.

When we drove up the drive we started to get bad vibes as the place actually looked closed and run down. The interior was shabby and musty. We were shown an attic room which you got to by stepping over roof rafters. None of the grandeur shown in the photos in this room or the alternatives we asked to view.

I could not wait to get away. We should have been there for 2 nights but drove onto our next destination where, luckily, they were able to fit us in.

At one stage it looked like we were going to have to pay the full amount for the booking. Luckily our friendly booking.com customer services sorted it out for us

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath95978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Anticipating limited catering in the afternoon we stopped in St Giron for something to eat. The small town was drab, uninspiring and poor looking as were most of the locals to match!
Returning to the car we were suprised to hear the tom tom tell us we were 300 metres from our destination ( we were hoping the Chateau would be 'out of town' at least .)

It's fair to say that we already had that 'sinking feeling' when we pulled up at the hotel. The outside looked tired and in need of refurbishment. The metal canopy sign above the front door looked like a 1984 Citroen ready for the scrap heap.

Inside the welcome was reasonable but the interior did not begin to live up to our expectations. There's shabby chic and there's tired and grubby. Our taste is for modern boutique styling and based on their website pictures we believed this hotel offered a combination of classic style with modern interior design. Based on its location and price we expected more . The whole place had a tired and dirty feel with a smell of old and damp. The room decor was not only traditional, it was 1*, smelt of beeswax , the matress was old and worn out and the shower area like a travelodge bathroom not decorated for five years.

We don't have big budgets but we expect value and to find things as illustrated. This room was not one we wanted to stay in and although they offered for us to see another room we had decided not to stay at Chateau Beauregard.

Just waiting on the credit card statement now to see whether we have been charged any more than just the deposit. Fingers crossed.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsGrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed at this slightly rundown, but cute chateau in beautiful Ariege. The service was friendly and helpful, but very limited in their english. The room was simple but nice, a plus was definitely the fantastic balcony with a French children's bed serving as lounge with big cusions where we enjoyed a lovely evening after our dinner at the Chateaus restaurant. The dinner was fine, again nothing spectaculair, but simple French farmers kitchen and should you go have the spear roasted pig but order your own side dish as the maceroni and cheese didn't really do it justice.
Breakfast included in the price was simple but good. Fresh fruits, yoghurts, croissants, bread, coffee, homemade jams and some regional cheeses and ham. Overall, a charming place to spend a night or two.

Ole & Aletha

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlethaandOle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Girons
24.9 mi away
Le Manoir d'Agnes
Le Manoir d'Agnes
#1 of 4 in Tarascon-sur-Ariege
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eychenne
Hotel Eychenne
#2 of 4 in Saint-Girons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Barguillere
Hotel Restaurant La Barguillere
#1 of 1 in Saint Pierre de Riviere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Auberge des Deux Rivieres
1.7 mi away
Hotel de la Tour
Hotel de la Tour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Lizier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Auberge du Haut Salat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Beauregard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Beauregard

Property: Chateau de Beauregard
Address: Avenue de la Resistance, 09200, Saint-Girons, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Saint-Girons
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Girons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Beauregard 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Beauregard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Beauregard Hotel St.-Girons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing