We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunsets over the Pyrenees and Le Tour de France”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haras Picard du Sant
Ranked #2 of 6 Saint-Girons B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Very warm welcome, lovely breakfasts, very helpful. Charming suite of rooms. The area is very peaceful, fantastic mountains without the crowds the Alps attracts. The local towns, St Girons and St Lizier, were an unexpected delight. If I known how wonderful it was I would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBarrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

Excellent stay and hospitality, wonderful location in the countryside and gorgeous horses! I stayed in the main house - wonderful attic conversion with heaps of space and bathroom. The owners were happy to help out with suggestions of places to visit and eat. Would definitely recommend this little B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed at Haras Picard du Sant for 5 nights and very much enjoyed our stay. We had a two bedroom 'apartment', which was a nice surprise as we thought we had simply booked two bedrooms (one for us, one for our two children). Our apartment had two bathrooms, a very well stocked kitchen/dining area, a comfortable living area and a lovely deck overlooking the mountains and with a couple of horses in the paddock in front, which of course enthralled my children!

The accommodation itself is comfortable and a bit quirky in its furnishings - the waterbed in our room was unexpected but led to very good nights' sleep (also helped by the quiet and dark in the morning!). Both bedrooms had loft rooms with the ability to sleep an additional two people as well - at one point some friends were going to stay with us and we could easily have fitted in their 4 person family in one room/loft while we moved our family into the other. A word of warning - there were a lot of steep (and creaky!) stairs which made it a little more difficult with a one year old (plus the deck had open railings...).

The breakfast provided was simple - a loaf of bread, homemade jam and butter, plus cornflakes and milk. Adequate.

Location is in the foothills of the Pyrenees, about 15 mins drive from St Girons, about an hour's drive to Foix. Reasonably convenient but if you intended to do a lot in the mountains without having to drive as much you may want to stay on the other side of St Girons.

Jean Louis is very hospitable and enthusiastic about the area and his horses. He took us to see the foals in another paddock on the farm, which my girls loved.

I would like to come back and participate in some of the activities offered - the transhumance (moving the horses from the mountains back to the farm) sounds amazing! A bit difficult to do though with young children.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expat_Kiwi_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

An amazing place in the heart of French country side. I stayed here with my girlfriend and parents. We had a room with a balcony that overlooked the mountains. The area was so quiet and if you are looking for a nice area to relax for a day or two this is it for the area.

I would recommend a GPS sat nav as it can be challenging to find the place.

Jean Louis was very kind and helpful and even booked a table for us at the most beautiful restaurant, with local made food including Foie Gras!!! Le Grillou. His English is excellent.

He also supplied fresh bread, cereal, milk, eggs (on request), local preserves and juice for breakfast. This is amazing considering most French B&B provide just croissants and tea/coffee.

You have to share the kitchen, bathrooms and lounge area with the other guests, but as there were 4 of us we never saw the other 2 sharing.

Will come back again.

Room Tip: Eat at Le Grillou for an amazing dinner experience serving local cuisine and affordable prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravellers316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We decided to stay at this hotel on a trip from Collioure in Saint-Jean-de-Luz to break up a trip for two stages, making it less tiring for our baby. We arrived late in the evening and the owner was leaving early in the morning with a group of tourists on horseback to hiking in the Pyrenees. We met a neighbor and showed the house. Since there were no other guests, we have at our disposal was the whole cottage - a cozy living room with fireplace and kitchen with a long table. Despite the fact that the place is far away from civilization, in the house of a great modern plumbing in the shower and toilets, fresh towels, linen and very clean.
The atmosphere in the room and the living room is very cozy, with a soul. Before booking, I watched the video and photos of the hotel, but in reality it looks even better. Our room had a balcony and a view of the field, where they fed the remaining horses, and in the distance we could see the mountains.
The owner, Jean-Louis, came to us late last night, we talked nicely - he told me that he would return around 12 am and tell you more about horses. Unfortunately, we did not have time to wait for his return, as our little boy started to fall asleep and we decided to go, so he slept on the road.
We would love to stay in this hotel for a few days in nature - to take a break from the hustle and bustle of big cities.

Отличное место, чтобы пожить уединенно и при этом в комфорте. Один из лучших и душевных B&B, которые я видел. Наличие лошадей (а также кроликов или зайцев - которых мы видели утром на поле) делает место привлекательным для маленьких детей. Есть масса развлечений -вроде похода на лошадях с треккингом в горах, которыми мы не воспользовались только по причине нехватки времени.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip_ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We spent two nights B and B staying in the Bamboo suite which was tasteful and comfortable. Christine and Jean Louis are most charming and interesting hosts and their love of their horses and the area is very obvious. Breakfast was outstanding with lovely home made produce. This is an extremely tranquil place surrounded by lovely gentle countryside and although we did not get round to this it would make an excellent base for gentle walks from the door - which are mapped out in the info pack.
The World Heritage site of ST Lizier is a short drive away and the country to the south is very beautiful. The views of the Pyrennees from the Farm when the weather is clear are stunning. A lovely and unusual place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelE43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We spent three nights in the gite at Haras Picarddu Sant. The gite was really well done with everything that you could want for a short stay. With it being October we made use of the log burning fire in the corner which made the whole thing a very cosy experience. The water bed was novel and very comfortable and the decor was extremely well done with power showers etc. The view from the bedroom was of a field with the Merens horses covered by a backdrop of snow covered mountains. Fantastic.

Breakfast was simple but very nice - filter coffee, country bread and locally made apricot jam. There was also milk and cereal provided if you didn't want the bread. Jean-Louis was a charming host and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property to anyone who is thinking of a visit to this beautiful area. The auberge at Tortouse is excellent with enormous portions - make sure you go hungry!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Girons
6.0 mi away
Hotel Eychenne
Hotel Eychenne
#2 of 4 in Saint-Girons
142 reviews
6.6 mi away
Chateau de Beauregard
Chateau de Beauregard
#1 of 4 in Saint-Girons
157 reviews
8.4 mi away
Domaine de Terrac
Domaine de Terrac
#1 of 1 in Rimont
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Auberge les Myrtilles
Auberge les Myrtilles
#1 of 1 in Couflens
139 reviews
15.5 mi away
L'Ancienne Bergerie
L'Ancienne Bergerie
#1 of 1 in Galey
123 reviews
6.0 mi away
La Ferme de Jeanne
La Ferme de Jeanne
#4 of 6 in Saint-Girons
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haras Picard du Sant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haras Picard du Sant

Address: Les Peyroutets | Lasserre, O9230, Saint-Girons, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Saint-Girons
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Girons
Price Range: £66 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Gites and B&b decorating by Chistine with local taste, old furnitures...are in a Organic Merens Horses Breed in the Regional Natural Parc Of Ariège Pyrénées. Our accomodations have a Pyrénées Panorama about 250kms... very quiet at 13mn from St GIRONS and 20Mn from the high way A64 ( 1 hour from TOULOUSE)You've Free WIFI in all our B&b and gites, the village is very quiet. 2 restaurants to served you one in the village an other one at 4 kms ( very surprising both...)We're openned all the year. (be carefull with your GPS...)Christine and jean louis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Haras Picard du Sant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing