We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable hotel, not really 5 stars.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Enjoyable hotel, not really 5 stars.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

It does not look like a real 5-star hotel, but has many features of such a hotel: good and large rooms, clean bath rooms, balconies, good chef at the restaurant. We had a half pension stay and enjoyed very rich, various and tasty meals (breakfast and dinner).
The service is good and the cleanliness acceptable. The lobby is not very impressive, as for a 5 stars, but a pleasant place to enjoy some time in the evening hours (especially when it rains, as was in Jan 30, a seldom event at the Dead Sea).
If the hotel administration would use some better cleaning materials, especially in the lobby, the actual odor will be changed for good.
In all, with a company of some friends you can have a pleasant stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors (Better view and less noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silviu43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    302
    175
    95
    94
See reviews for
450
395
52
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The first time I arrived in Ein Bokek I had a day pass at a spa. I was disappointed when I saw that my day pass was for a hotel that was not directly on the Dead Sea. The walk towards the Dead Sea was significant and I learned my lesson.

The second time I went to Ein Bokek I reserved several nights at the Crown Plaza which has the best location on the Dead Sea. This is important since the main attraction of this area is the healing and nutritive waters of the Dead Sea. The hotel has a beautiful lobby with extensive windows that afford views to the water and pool area. You can easily pass a couple hours (many people do) sitting in the lobby. The pool area is huge, but it is not heated in the winter which is too bad because it is warm enough most days to sit outside. The beach area is very large and it supervised by lifeguards. The hotel also provides the famous Dead Sea mud in large barrels for the ultimate soak. We were able to go in the water in January, but we are Canadian and very used to the cold water. For many people, this is not a possibility. Fro people who find the sea too cold in January, the hotel also has a spa that has a heated pool where they pump in Dead Sea water. This pool is a blessing as the heated waters are very soothing and it is tempting to lie in the pool more than the 30 minute recommended time. Don't do this - you might get a skin irritation. The spa also has massage, hydrotherapy, two steam baths. The waters of the Dead Sea are very oily and it is difficult to keep the floors from being slippery but there are always staff cleaning up. Be sure to wear non-slip soles when you visit the pool. Also go in the morning/evening to avoid the large crowds that congregate in this area.

As far as the rooms at the hotel go, they are spacious, clean, and quiet. Most have private balconies that have beautiful views over the desert and the water. The rooms further away from the elevator have the best views. The one problem I encountered was the lack of non-smoking rooms. There are only 7 in the entire hotel! The hotel would greatly benefit from having a non-smoking floor to cater to guests who do not smoke and who do not want to be exposed to second hand smoke.

The meals are good for a large resort. We opted for the half board plan which includes breakfast/dinner. The breakfast is HUGE. this is especially great if you plan on hiking in the area during the day. you will not need a lunch. The dinner offers many different options, including salads, meat, fish and vegetarian. Everything is buffet.

The staff at the hotel are very helpful. They assisted when we had to make bus travel arrangements and also stored our bags for us when we decided to do an overnight tour to Eilat.

As an aside, I would add that winter is the best time to visit the Dead Sea. The temperature is about 21- 25 C every day. It is usually sunny. Hiking is great as it is not too hot. Be sure to visit Ein Gedi and Masada, both great hikes. Plus there is an added advantage that this is considered low season so you can receive a room at a discounted price. Go online to book, and you will find great deals.

Room Tip: Choose a room further away from the elevator to get a better view of the Dead Sea and mountains. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debi1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

The location is very good considering it is in the Dead Sea. McDonald's, "Aroma" Coffe Shop and mini shopping center are 100 meters from the hotel. The breakfast and dinner: very good.
Delux room is good size for 2 adults plus 2 children, great view from the room to the Dead Sea.Big Lobby, Free WiFi,nice children club. We had late check-in and we did not find parking in the hotel's parking area so we parked 100 m' from the hotel.
After all we enjoyed the hotel. our 2 girls (6 & 10) loved it so much.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomersNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Okay, I have to admit the location is fantastic, the Dead Sea is right at your doorstep. In contrast to other hotels in Ein Bokek, you don't even have to cross the street to get to the beach. However, the staff is not very friendly, to say the least (there were some exceptions, in particular the waitresses at the lobby restaurant). We received complimentary chocolate that was completely mouldy. Most staff hardly speak any English which is perhaps not necessary given that most of the customers are Russian but, hey, somehow you expect to be able to communicate in English in an international chain like this. Moreover, the pool closes at 17h which is a bit silly if you would like to relax there after a day of sight seeing. Bathrobes are provided at the pool, never changed during your stay, and you have to give them back there at the end of your stay. For what you get, the place is completely overpriced...Certainly does not deserve to be a five star hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reisende_Prinzessin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

This hotel is ideally situated in my opinion. Located in the middle of everything -so you can easily walk to restaurants and shops.
The hotel buffet breakfast, that we included in our room rate, was excellent and overwelming in variety.
The hotel spa was excellent and the massage was top notch...and of course the experience of floating like a cloud in the Dead Sea was unforgetable.
Rooms were older, but nice and clean and they all seem to have some sort of view of the Dead Sea.
We opted for a plan that included spa treatments, breakfast and arrival amenities.It was worth it-- otherwise we would have paid a lot more if we bought them a la carte --so if you are into the same kind of stuff that we were-- be sure to book your room package that way -up front.
Be sure to take side trip to Massada. That too was exceptional.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the center of the building-- so rooms a very long walk from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigFoodFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Internet did not work, staff unable to fix. We reserved luxury non-smoking rooms. When we arrived were given the choice of smoking room or non luxury. Was a crowded noisy place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naligators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
206 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

OK, it started very good, we got the room very fast and kindly received as asked a room in a high floor (9th(.
It was Saturday (rest day in Israel), so everything was nice, the room is very big, 2 twin beds, perfect view of the sea. There is mold in the bathroom, and the curtain in it needs an aggressive push to slide. Same as the curtain in the room.
Also, there was no remote control for the TV.
The problem started tomorrow morning (Sunday), with a loud noise above us.
Apparently, there were constructions in this time on the 12th floor, which nobody mentioned before.
It sounded really like it's above us and not 3 floors us, and they were working between 8AM-7PM.
The receptionist said the call center says it, but we didn't order through them, and even upon arrival they could have said it is better not to stay on a higher floor.
The good things here were, that there was free Wi-Fi (even though you must renew it after using it 24 hours, and the receptionists aren't happy to give it). Second, the food was very good, and also the staff.
You can read my review about Isrotel Dead Sea, and next time will stay there.

Room Tip: 909 is nice when there is no construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimrod-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ein Bokek hotels
2.0 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#3 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spa Club Hotel
Spa Club Hotel
#11 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.3 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#5 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hod Hamidbar Resort and Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dead Sea

Property: Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Address: Ein Bokek M.P.O., Ein Bokek 8693000, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ein Bokek
#7 Family Hotel in Ein Bokek
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ein Bokek
#9 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dead Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the lowest place on Earth, right at the edge of the with its own private beach, the Crowne Plaza Dead Sea hotelis waiting to pamper you at the highest level possible. The Crowne Plaza Dead Sea hotelis an elegant vacation spot in the heart of the desert. The hotel houses a unique large freshwater pool with internal currents and is heated during the winter. The hotel s Rosemarin restaurant serves three meals a day. The rich breakfast menu includes a salad bar with various cheeses and breads. Lobby Carnival is the hotel s dairy restaurant, serving an assortment of salads, sandwiches, toasts, pizza, ice cream, homemade cakes and a selection of hot, cold and alcoholic beverages. The large and luxurious spa offers a fitness room, a heated pool with saltwater from the Dead Sea, two Jacuzzis, two sulfur pools, wet and dry saunas and two pressure showers. A wide variety of treatments are provided at the Spa. The hotel s entertainment staff offers a varied program of activities including shows, guest artists, games, workshops and more.Wireless High Speed Internet Access (WiFi) is available. ** Check-in time update : for saturday evenings is 19:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotels Dead Sea Hotel Ein Bokek
Crowne Plaza Ein Bokek
Israel Dead Sea Hotels
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing