We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We belive we make a bad choice when we chose this hotel. The location and the view are good, the rooms quite ok(still not enough for a 5 stars hotel) but the services are disastrous!!! We had 6 rooms reserved 2 months before and they did not offered us ONE parking place!More than that the deputy manager suggested in a very rude way to park in MC-Donalds parking! The same women spoke bad to one child of our family! I am thinking very seriously to make an official complaint. This person don`t have the skills required to manage not even a small bakery!We was 20 persons there and none of us will not came again ever!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meeray t, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2012

Dear Carla
Thank you for staying with us. we appreciate you for taking the time to post a review
Please accept my sincere apologies for the experienced you had during your stay.
The hotel parking lot has a limited number of parking spaces and it's upon availability. As is any parking lot in Israel. Accordingly, some of the hotel guests park in alternative parking arrangements around the hotel.
I apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. Your experience is definitely does not represent the usual high standards of service and quality our hotels pride themselves on.
Kind regards
Meeray Touboul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,301)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

Well the drive to the hotel was wonderful. It's location of the hotel is probably the best, right on the sea which you reach through a wonderful pool area. But for a Crown Plaza, the room was hardly special, though the sea facing balconies offer great views. The ambience is about ok. The food, though there was a vast spread in both dinner & break fast did not appeal to my taste, but may be I am a bit biased. Service is ok but without a smile. Over all somehow did not find the place very warm & friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shonty2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

me and my wife had a great weekend there.
the staff was very generous and nice.the dinning room was great clean and had a big veriaty to choose from. great breakfast and dinner. a shopping center 2 minutes away from it by foot.
its one of the best access to beach hotel ive ever been in.
the rooms were clean, big and great view.
the first time there but sure not the last.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shachaf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is the best hotel to stay at in en Bokek. There are other nice hotels, but you have to shuttle to their beaches, which isn't fun in 43 degree heat.
The rooms food and beach are all great.

The only difficulty is getting parking at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMaven1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We had a couple of nights in this hotel. We would probably not have wanted a prolonged stay there. The pool and position of hotel are excellent, but the overall experience is not quite what you expect from a hotel under the Crowne Plaza brand.
The rooms do need an update and are a bit tatty, but the ones we had on an upper floor were large and clean.The beds were very comfortable and the fridge in the room was a welcome plus.
The dining experience was very variable. One morning we had an early breakfact which was fine. The next we ate at peak time and it really wasn't a four or five star event. The room was packed and it was a total bunfight. For dinner they had two sittings. We chose the later one which seemed to be a better choice, the dining room was quieter and access to the food much easier. All the service is buffet style. The food was pretty good but the meals essentially have the approach and ambience of a middle ranking all inclusive resort. Drinks at dinner were carafes of iced water and getting those refilled could be a challenge if the waiters were busy. Nothing else seemed to be on offer unless you went upstaris to the bar and got it yourself. The dinner sitting was due to end at 21:15. At 21:10 we were told to get anything else we wanted. At 21;14, they were clearing away.
The hotel is not bad at all but nor is it quite what you might expect.

Room Tip: All rooms have views but I would suggest a room on the higher floors and with a balcony
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NAM020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Lack of maintenance is evident. No parking facility, I had to leave the car 5 block away and walk under a suffocating sun.

The ONLY good aspect of the hotel is the location, right on the Dead Sea.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alejandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Clean modern hotel, but the AC does not cool the fourth floor. The AC in our room was OFF when upon our 8pm arrival. After 3.5 hours the room was a little cooler, but certainly not comfortable. We left the AC on the whole next day, but the room was still uncomfortable in the evening. Other members of our tour group had the same problem. The lobby was nice and cool, but the temperature rose as we ascended from the first floor to the fourth.
We enjoyed the food at the breakfast and dinner buffets. The baked goods were great! Hot rolls, fresh from the oven, were available for breakfast. Many salads were available at both breakfast and dinner, but most of them did not appeal to us. Chicken and beef were available at dinner, but only eggs and a huge selection of cheeses and yogurt were available at breakfast.
Wi-Fi access was poor. One member of our group paid $17 for a day’s access, but it did not work in her room. Then she discovered free access in the lobby, but it was very slow. Speedtest.net measured 0.1Mbps. Back in the US, my phone’s 3G connection is 1.5Mbps and cable internet is 10-20Mbps for comparison purposes.
I’m glad we were there only two nights. We paid as part of a tour package, so I do not know the rates, but I would suggest travelers stay elsewhere. Our room was just too hot and uncomfortable. Several other large hotels are close by.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear runtom,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review of our property. I’m delighted the food served during your stay exceeded your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you had experienced during your stay and I regret that the unusual condition of the Air Conditioning system affected your stay negatively. All your valuable comments are noted and will be addressed accordingly. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to have the honor of hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ein Bokek hotels
2.0 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#4 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
#11 of 17 in Ein Bokek
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Prima Oasis Dead Sea
Prima Oasis Dead Sea
#14 of 17 in Ein Bokek
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dead Sea

Address: Ein Bokek M.P.O., Ein Bokek 8693000, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ein Bokek
#7 Family Hotel in Ein Bokek
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ein Bokek
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
#8 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range: £86 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dead Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the lowest place on Earth, right at the edge of the with its own private beach, the Crowne Plaza Dead Sea hotelis waiting to pamper you at the highest level possible. The Crowne Plaza Dead Sea hotelis an elegant vacation spot in the heart of the desert. The hotel houses a unique large freshwater pool with internal currents and is heated during the winter. The hotel s Rosemarin restaurant serves three meals a day. The rich breakfast menu includes a salad bar with various cheeses and breads. Lobby Carnival is the hotel s dairy restaurant, serving an assortment of salads, sandwiches, toasts, pizza, ice cream, homemade cakes and a selection of hot, cold and alcoholic beverages. The large and luxurious spa offers a fitness room, a heated pool with saltwater from the Dead Sea, two Jacuzzis, two sulfur pools, wet and dry saunas and two pressure showers. A wide variety of treatments are provided at the Spa. The hotel s entertainment staff offers a varied program of activities including shows, guest artists, games, workshops and more.Wireless High Speed Internet Access (WiFi) is available. ** Check-in time update : for saturday evenings is 19:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotels Dead Sea Hotel Ein Bokek
Crowne Plaza Ein Bokek
Israel Dead Sea Hotels
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing