We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service and facilities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Dead Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great service and facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

we been in this hotels 1 night in january 2013 . the welcome staff was great . the room that we've got was very clean and with balcony.
the food was very good with a lot of variety
the privet beach is good. the spa was over crowded

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABTRIP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    296
    172
    93
    94
See reviews for
443
389
51
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Just one hour and 20 minutes from where we live in Jerusalem there is a fine hotel on a fantastic beach at the Dead Sea. Athough we like the water for its many health benefits, getting there from the beach usually involves an unpleasant experience as the ground entering the water is full of painful rocks This hotel has solved that problem by building a wooden path about 15 meters into the sea. It is also covered so those that want the health benifits of the Dead Sea do not need to expose themselves to the sun. They also serve 3 buffets a day of a wide selection of different tasty foods and goodies.Lounging at the luxurious outdoor pool was more than pleasant and the variety of treatment rooms (25)at the spa was a real treat. The indoor pool is nothing to speak of.

The location and building is great but the hotel was full and the double seatings for meals means that you can't walk in any time that you are ready. We stayed in one of the recently renovated rooms and it is really a 5 star room. Unfortunatley the other rooms that we saw are far removed from this level. All rooms face the sea but the mountainview on the other side is fantastic, The entertainment at night was the same mediocre stuff as the other hotels in Israel.

Room Tip: Insist on the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

I'm currently staying at the Crowne Plaza for 2 nights. As a travel writer who has stayed around the world at hundreds of properties the Crowne Plaza is not a 5 star property. In fact, they fall well short of 4 stars.

The beds are terrible and not comfortable at all. About half the thickness of a good quality mattress to give you an impression.
The food is average. The fruit was at least fresh.
The smokers are everywhere and don't adhere to the non smoking signs.
The hotel is clean but the staff is not friendly or attentive. This includes the front desk and any employee I have encountered. Perhaps its their lack of English, who knows. But don't expect any service.

The pool is clean but again, full of lots of smokers. If you smoke, you'll love this place. If you don't smoke, good luck.

No 5 star resort would treat you like a criminal and request you turn in your towels. But apparently this is standard will most hotels in the region as the locals love to steal towels.

Overall I give this a 3 out of 5 stars. I would not stay here again and even though the dead sea is beautiful and tranquil, I would be hard pressed to stay at this Crowne Plaza ever again.

The resort is over priced for what you get. its not comfortable, and the staff needs better training.

Smiles, eye contact, and greetings can go a long way to make someone feel comfortable and welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meeray t, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Mr. Travel W

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you for taking the time to post a review.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the experienced you had during your stay.
I apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. Your experience is definitely does not represent the usual high standards of service and quality our hotels pride themselves on.
This feedback will be shared with the appropriate managers at Crowne plaza Dead Sea hotel, which will do the best to make a difference to ensure our valued guests needs and expectations are met in the future.

Kind regards
Meeray Touboul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Excellent premise and location. Acceptable room. But for your own money you share all public premises with crowds of Israeli poor people who have been helped socially to come there. It is not fair to put together people who pay a lot of money for themself to come there and a crowd of assisted people. Those flows shaould be devided: on the beach, at the restaurant, etc. I spent 11000 dollars for the 2 of us for 10 days. Why for this money I should run around looking for the table in the dining room? Why should I stay in line? Why should I wait till evening for the room service? Location and premise is good, service is bad. Internet is additional story. It is virtually non-existant.

Room Tip: Choose 11-12 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergey_Ivanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Sergey_Ivanov,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests’ feel it is necessary. I am sorry that you were disappointed with other aspects of your stay and we will certainly review your comments to identify opportunities for improvement.

We hope this incident did not mar your overall impression of the Crowne Plaza brand and that you can afford us an opportunity of making it right and welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Have to agree with a previous reviewer regarding the covered walkway from the beach into the Dead Sea. The salt balls in this walkway are painful to walk on and I slipped and cut my hand on one. They should be cleared regularly. Parts of the beach are clear and you can walk in quite safely although there are some large rocks near the waters edge which are a hazard.
The hotel was reasonable and I would recommend booking half board. The breakfast choice was very good as was the dinner. Overall I consider the food was of good quality and the fresh breads and fruit were delightful.
My room overlooked the beach and the hotel swimming pool. Perfectly ok for a short stay although I would have liked a balcony.

Room Tip: I would recommend booking a room with a balcony if you prefer not to lounge by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We spent a few hours here in the afternoon to use the beach and spa. We arrived mid afternoon and they wanted 140 Shekels per person for use of the spa/beach/pool(there were two of us). Given the hour, I was able to get them down to 100/person.

The beach was sandy with plenty of chairs. There was a covered ramp you could walk down into the water, however the ramp was covered in salt balls. Parts of the beach you could walk on sand all the way into the water and other parts were covered in salt. So you had a choice. No mud was available unless you wanted to purchase a package of it inside for 10 Shekels. There were outdoor fresh water pools and an indoor heated mineral pool.

Lockers are available without an additional charge. The showers, changing rooms, bathrooms by the pool were not the best quality. It reminded me of a cheap gym in the states that you wouldn’t want to walk barefoot in. For what we had to pay use the facilities, I was expecting nicer showers/private changing rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Looking372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Looking372,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the bathrooms and the ramp have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

we visit crown plaza hotel in dead sea in early April hotel was ok, as a dead sea hotel building is nice looks so big ,reception area was also ok but little bit old ,food was also ok most is Israeli and middle eastern food but sweets was few and disaster I didn't like the sweets at all Pools: theirs a large out side pool one inside salty water pool and two jacuzy one steam and one dry saunas beach was nice I like this hotel its ok but cant be five stars four is ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Medo984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Medo984,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ein Bokek hotels
2.0 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#2 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spa Club Hotel
Spa Club Hotel
#11 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hod Hamidbar Resort and Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#5 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
0.3 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dead Sea

Property: Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Address: Ein Bokek M.P.O., Ein Bokek 8693000, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ein Bokek
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ein Bokek
#7 Family Hotel in Ein Bokek
#9 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dead Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the lowest place on Earth, right at the edge of the with its own private beach, the Crowne Plaza Dead Sea hotelis waiting to pamper you at the highest level possible. The Crowne Plaza Dead Sea hotelis an elegant vacation spot in the heart of the desert. The hotel houses a unique large freshwater pool with internal currents and is heated during the winter. The hotel s Rosemarin restaurant serves three meals a day. The rich breakfast menu includes a salad bar with various cheeses and breads. Lobby Carnival is the hotel s dairy restaurant, serving an assortment of salads, sandwiches, toasts, pizza, ice cream, homemade cakes and a selection of hot, cold and alcoholic beverages. The large and luxurious spa offers a fitness room, a heated pool with saltwater from the Dead Sea, two Jacuzzis, two sulfur pools, wet and dry saunas and two pressure showers. A wide variety of treatments are provided at the Spa. The hotel s entertainment staff offers a varied program of activities including shows, guest artists, games, workshops and more.Wireless High Speed Internet Access (WiFi) is available. ** Check-in time update : for saturday evenings is 19:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotels Dead Sea Hotel Ein Bokek
Crowne Plaza Ein Bokek
Israel Dead Sea Hotels
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing