We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Israel
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My last visit to the crown plaza was 15 years ago. Actually, I have warm memories of that visit since my youngest learnt how to swim in their pool, AND they had excellent deserts. For years I thought about going back for a visit. Maybe I should have left the memories as they were.

The good
The rooms are decent size with all having a nice view of the dead sea. The beds are firm and large. The rooms are clean, as is the hotel in general. The staff was attentive and towels were brought up to the room within minutes of the request. There is free wifi all thought the hotel. The pool area is quite large and there is a private beach to the dead sea close to the hotel. And yes, there is a small fridge in the room with no pain in the butt computerized mini bar that won’t allow you to put your beer in side - so two points on that account.

The not so good. The television has a number of satellite channels which simply have bad reception are impossible to watch . Considering the technology today there isn’t any reason for it. The rooms have a very large shower but no bath tub. The exercise Room isn’t much bigger than the bedroom. It had room for one bike one cross trainer and two treadmills . Although there was a TV it was tiny and there wasn’t anyone to turn it on so it didn’t make much difference. The hot water pool is too narrow and simply too small and one has to be careful not to bang into to someone floating around. Aside from all that the dining room has terrible acoustics.

The even worse Of all the hotels I’ve been to the past few years the food here was the worst . The fish ( tuna) at night was so over cook as to make it impossible to eat. The turkey was cool the sauce over sweet the salads mediocre with little imagination and the deserts nothing like I remembered. The only good part of the meal was watermelon and the bread. Breakfast was similar more fresh though uninspired salads and really good bread. In most hotels they have a coffee bar with someone to make fresh espresso etc this too was lacking.

One last tip the best time to go to the Spa pool is between 13:00- 15:00 when it is really quiet

In all a decent clean but definitely not 5 star hotel

Room Tip: All the rooms have a good view of the dead sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elib_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meeray t, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear elib_travels

Thank you for staying at Crowne plaza Dead Sea Hotel.
We appreciate your feedback very much; your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us.
Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Sincerely
Meeray Touboul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    313
    179
    95
    95
See reviews for
458
406
54
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I visited the hotel with my family. The room was sub standard, not clean and with poor maintenance. All our requests for help were not treated, despite multiple commitments from supervisory staff.

On top of all, they don't have sufficient parking, and they send guests to some overflow lot, where my rental was damaged. The hotel refused to take any responsibility.

it comes down to lack of any service orientation. Don't go there. There are plenty of other hotels on the Dead Sea.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BradJosep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meeray t, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear BradJosep

Thank you for staying at Crowne plaza Dead Sea hotel.
We appreciate your feedback very much.
We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service and quality you received during your stay.
The hotel parking lot has a limited number of parking spaces and it is upon availability, as is any parking lot in Israel. Accordingly, some of the hotel guests park in alternative parking arrangements around the hotel.
I apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Sincerely
Meeray Touboul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Went on a organized day trip to the dead sea.
The trip include a day at the hotel with all facilities free.
Started with a very good BREAKFAST.
Then entered the spa, the spa itself could be updated as it look grubby.
Went for a classic massage , was very relaxing and even better because we received a group discount.
Then lunch that was Ok.
Bottom line enjoyed the day.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank moshep01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meeray t, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear moshep01

Thank you very much for your lovely review regarding your recent experience with the Crowne Plaza Dead Sea.
We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again and hope you will continue to choose Crowne plaza Dead Sea hotel on your next vacations.
Sincerely
Meeray Touboul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

we chose crown plaza on the merit of the value name we had experienced in other places around the world guarantee for quality and service. unfortunately this time it was a total disaster vacation and we left earlier than planned. it started that , despite of parking availability guaranteed no parking was granted , resulting with a ticket and scratched car in the street due that no other non paying spaces are available in sde boqeq. nobody had told us that there are total beach renovations going on which resulted heavy work from 7 am to 7 pm in front of hotel and 3 meters from sitting area of pool. in short , you could not go outside and no access to dead sea ! rooms and mattresses are very old and uncomfortable. we reserved a king size and received a double bed with no explanation. staff at reception does not respond , speaks very poor english , manager of hotel is not available and desk manager is only handling his personal russian friends at the hotel, we were asked to pay a extra person charge for a reservation for a double room.(!) the case is currently with our lawyers.....

Room Tip: room with balcony away from pool where you have the most noise. inquire about work on beach which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear RLisker,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very disappointed with our stay. The entire Dead Sea front, excluding a 20 foot strip filled with tractor tracks and mud, was blocked due to construction on the beach. This was not mentioned on the website when we booked the hotel. There is not much else to do in Ein Bokkek, so not having a beach put an obvious damper on our stay.

Beyond this, the hotel doesn't have much to offer. The lobby is worn out. The staff is surly and speaks English very poorly -- it took us over 20 minutes to check-in and the receptionist was not welcoming and seemed disinterested and distracted, did not explain how to use any of the hotel's amenities, and failed to provide us with towel passes, which we then had to wait in line for again once we found out they were required (at which point the front desk staff bizarrely explained that they had run out of passes and told us to explain that to the towel desk--because they didn't understand English well at that desk downstairs, we had to to argue with the pool staff to acquire towels). The pool areas are cramped, dirty, and overcrowded. The hallway outside our room had trash in it.

The only positives are that the hotel was great jumping off point for visiting Masada, and that the guest rooms have been recently renovated, are modern and clean, and have great views of the Dead Sea (especially at sunrise, which was beautiful).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GG1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meeray t, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear GH1060
Thank you for staying with us.
On January 2014 set off a government project large infrastructure works in Ein Bokek, Dead Sea, and The project will include all the beaches in the area, including "private" beaches of all hotels.
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea has created a fenced area - private beach which is not carried out the work. However, due to the extent of the project, there may be interruptions during the day, that we cannot control them.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the experience you had during your stay.
As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, this feedback will be shared with the appropriate Managers that will make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.
We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.
Kind Regards
Meeray Touboul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The hotel is on the shore of the Dead Sea with direct access to the sea. All rooms face the sea.
Hotel entrance were four guards. After I put my bags to the hotel lobby, ran after me one of the guards with shouting. He shouted a receptionist not to speak with me. I did not know what to do most of shame. I wanted to get in the car and go to another hotel.
We received a nice room on the 11th floor, with a balcony.
There is another good innovation in the hotel - dining room drinks menu. Now you can know what and how much it will cost.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaufman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Rooms need to be refreshed. The dining room seems to be a canteen but full of very old peoples.
Clients are very very old. Employees are not very helpful and their English level is poor.
The location of the hotel is very good but during our journey, there were some works on the hotel's beach with a lot of noise (but prices remain expensive...)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank severine42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear severine42,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We regret to see you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ein Bokek hotels
2.0 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#3 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spa Club Hotel
Spa Club Hotel
#12 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.3 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#4 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hod Hamidbar Resort and Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dead Sea

Property: Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Address: Ein Bokek M.P.O., Ein Bokek 8693000, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ein Bokek
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ein Bokek
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ein Bokek
#8 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dead Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the lowest place on Earth, right at the edge of the with its own private beach, the Crowne Plaza Dead Sea hotelis waiting to pamper you at the highest level possible. The Crowne Plaza Dead Sea hotelis an elegant vacation spot in the heart of the desert. The hotel houses a unique large freshwater pool with internal currents and is heated during the winter. The hotel s Rosemarin restaurant serves three meals a day. The rich breakfast menu includes a salad bar with various cheeses and breads. Lobby Carnival is the hotel s dairy restaurant, serving an assortment of salads, sandwiches, toasts, pizza, ice cream, homemade cakes and a selection of hot, cold and alcoholic beverages. The large and luxurious spa offers a fitness room, a heated pool with saltwater from the Dead Sea, two Jacuzzis, two sulfur pools, wet and dry saunas and two pressure showers. A wide variety of treatments are provided at the Spa. The hotel s entertainment staff offers a varied program of activities including shows, guest artists, games, workshops and more.Wireless High Speed Internet Access (WiFi) is available. ** Check-in time update : for saturday evenings is 19:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotels Dead Sea Hotel Ein Bokek
Crowne Plaza Ein Bokek
Israel Dead Sea Hotels
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing