We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem District, Israel
1 review
“Over the top!!!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I just wanted to share my wonderful experience at this fine establishment!!!
It began with the wonderful front desk staff that were all smiling and welcome, after the check in we went to our room and WOW is the first thing that comes to mind - what a view!!!

The next thing we enjoyed was the fresh buffet for the meals, you even get to watch the cook makes the food right in front of you!!!

What can I say? A wonderful vacation at the Crowne plaza!!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erez-cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernasD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Erez-Cal

Thank you four your very kind review of our hotel.
It will be our pleasure to host you soon again among our distinguished guests

David Bernas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    318
    179
    96
    98
See reviews for
465
416
56
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed in this lovely hotel for 8 nights this April,I saw that people wrote that it is expensive however not even one of them wrote that it is a high holiday and the rates at all hotels at the Dead Sea are expansive due to this and to the fact of high kosher regulations. The food was superior buffets full of good and tasty dishes, I was surprised to see 15 soldiers having a festive dinner in the hotel and to my question I was told that they have been invited free of charge by the hotels general manager I highly appreciated this gesture and asked to send them drinks that I paid for!!! The beach is under constructions as all beaches in the area but the CP did arrange a small beach for the guests it was nice and clean. On the roof top a brand new solarium to take a good sunbath!! I will surely be back for Succot. Lovely hotel friendly staff. Highly recommended if u wanna stay in the best location in the area.

Room Tip: Must try the SPA treatments and have a buffet dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meged1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meeray t, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Meged1959

Thank you for your review.
I was happy to read of your great experience in our hotel, I will be my pleasure to host you soon again among all our distinguished guests

David Bernas
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The check in and check out process was quick but it would have been appreciated if we were escorted to our room rather than being sent to look for it for ourselves with the luggage in our hands after a tiring drive from Amman. Although the hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable the experience was flat out boring. As a family we enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel and the food in the restaurant by the pool. The pools are great and lifeguards are available. Watermelon is passed out to the guests near the pool at one point which was appreciated. However, things started going down hill at dinner. The buffet was empty, which was very unusual considering it was during a high season but we later understood why. The food was horrible. The staff's attention was almost impossible to catch even though the restaurant was completely empty. This only applies for the dinner buffet, the breakfast buffet was delicious and the service was satisfactory. After dinner we decided to go around the hotel to see what activities were going on and again the hotel was empty. There were no events or any forms of entertainment for the guests to enjoy at night. We ended up going back to our hotel room at 8:00 PM and used the free wifi for entertainment and went to bed at 9:00 PM.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. Let me offer my sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations and for not creating a memorable stay for you. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and make your stay as best as it can be.

Again, thank you for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This would have to be the worst hotel experience ever. Rudeness must be a prerequsite to work there. Everything was too much trouble for the staff. While the hotel is situated in a lovely part of the Dead Sea, right on the beach, the unpleasant staff took away from the enjoyment. The rooms are run down, in desperate need of a facelift, but the prices were very high. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Judy J,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Dead Sea.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked 3 rooms and stayed 2 nights.
When we arrived, there were no parking to our car so we needed to search and pay separately.
We got 3 "Deluxe" room - the first one, My grandmother, the air-condition didn’t work for more than 24 hours. the room was very dirty - you can see pic.
In the second room, my husband, 2 babies and I, the air-condition didn’t work for more than 3 during the noon.
We paid more than 500$ per night not included lunch, parking or a bottle of water.
I'm not coming back to this hotel ever again!!!

Room Tip: there is no good room in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_S01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Rachel_S01,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It sounds like we fell short of your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the problems in you may have experienced in your room. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world class accommodation to our guests. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional information about your stay.

I look forward to your response and be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We just spent 4 nights at the Crowne Plaza. Service at this hotel is appalling. The housekeeping was done sloppily (my wife had to remake the beds every day). They did not even think to replenish the toilet paper and we had to call specially and ask them to send some up. The staff is rude, starting from David Bernas the hotel's general manager and all the way down. They haven't the faintest idea about the concept of service. David Bernas could be seen with a few of his assistants lounging around in the hotel lobby for hours each day. Perhaps they should be busier working and providing service to the hotel guests and spend less time resting in the lobby.

The property itself is run down. The bathroom in our room must have been 20 years old and there was little water pressure. I noticed cracked/peeling plaster and rotten carpeting in the hallway. The hotel Dead Sea beach area is in ruins due to remodeling.

If you are paying a lot of money for this hotel, then maybe you should rethink your plans.

Room Tip: The hallway on the 4th floor smells. It has rotten carpets and peeling plaster,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveydave12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear daveydave12,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review about our property. Please accept our sincerest apologies if the level of service received did not completely meet your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable feedback and this shall be forwarded to the appropriate departments to consider for improvements needed on our end.

Again, thank you for your time in writing us a review and our apologies for the inconvenience.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We've stayed at the Crowne Plaza as a large group during Passover (April) 2014.
Price per room was over $500/night.
We were two extended families (grand-parents, parents and kids 2-11yo) taking 7 rooms altogether.
Two rooms were added after the first day (did not take part of the formal Passover dinner)

We are members of the rewards program, and spent many previous vacations at the hotels (Holiday Inn, Crowne Plaza, Intercontinental), also - we've stayed at the Crowne Plaza Dead sea in the past.

To start off - the rooms are in a sorry state, in a great need for a renovation.

These rooms don't make any sense in this kind of a hotel (the 'Crowne Plaza' brand, and the nightly $500 price tag). They were small, no balcony, bathrooms were OVERLY RUSTY [not the 'character' rusty, just ugly!], my parents room did not even have a decent closet [When they inquired apparently all x11 rooms don't have closets as a standard procedure], with a water ruined wood floor. You can take a look at the photos.

You should also know, that there isn't adequate parking area, and most of our cars had to park far away from the hotel. We tried coming back several times, as we went on day trips. One times one lady from the other extended family decided to wait for a parking spot, and waited for almost two hours in the car before giving up and parking at a far parking area. This is especially inconvenient with small kids.

On the day of the formal Passover dinner, to make sure everything will be okay for the dinner, my parents went down to speak with the manager of that restaurant (dining-hall to be more precise) around noon, and were showed our table, and were reassured that everything would be fine. We were total of 12 for that dinner, with one toddler for each extended family (2).
When we entered that dining hall in the evening, the room was arranged differently, our table moved to the corner of the room, and it was set for 10 seats and plates, and then there were two toddlers chair to the side of it, not near the table, and without plates, etc.
When my mother went over to talk with the manager of the hotel (!!!), not the dining hall manager, he said that since toddlers don't pay full price, they are not entitled to sit at the table during the formal dinner. WHAT A @#$%#@ ANSWER!?!?!?!?!
Just imagine how stressed we all were at the beginning of that dinner.
Eventually, the table was set to 12, but the mood was ruined for the rest of the evening.

We had two incidents when leaving the hotel:

1. Check out is at 11, but you can stay at the pool and the sea. My father asked whether we could check-out one room a bit later (13:00), so we can use the facilities a bit more easily. The receptionist answered immediately that she does not even have to check as the hotel is 100% full, and all rooms must check out at 11.
I know from a friend that wanted to come to the Dead Sea that day that he called and was answered that there are vacant rooms. Naturally, after talking with us, he did not come to this hotel.

2. At 11, when many rooms must do the checkout together, a bus (or two, I'm not sure) arrived with people coming for the hotel for a fun SPA day [for $50]. They queued and blocked the reception lines so people who paid thousands of $$ could not do it easily, and would have to wait with luggage and kids in a long line. There are several very wrong issues with this: (i) When the hotel is fully booked with people paying a lot of money, you should not over-use the same loaded facilities with 'occasional' few hours guests (ii) you could have performed the check-in process for these guests [collecting money?] on the bus (iii) even if you did not do it on the bus - you should have opened another reception line for them, or another reception line for staying guests.

There were some more smaller bad-service incidents, along with inconvenient very long queues at the breakfast restaurant. Also - the sea is currently being renovated, so there is no pleasant view from the rooms, and the sea strip is farther away from the hotel and very short - not enough lounge chairs when crowded.

Our stay did not match the 'Crowne Plaza' brand, nor the price tag.

There are many quality options at the Dead Sea, and no need to ever revisit this lousy one!

Room Tip: Insist to stay in a renovated room. Make sure you get a closet in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank liranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear liranz,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Hotels Dead Sea. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ein Bokek hotels
0.3 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#3 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,077 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
#13 of 17 in Ein Bokek
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hod Hamidbar Resort and Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dead Sea

Property: Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Address: Ein Bokek M.P.O., Ein Bokek 8693000, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ein Bokek
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ein Bokek
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ein Bokek
#9 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dead Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the lowest place on Earth, right at the edge of the with its own private beach, the Crowne Plaza Dead Sea hotelis waiting to pamper you at the highest level possible. The Crowne Plaza Dead Sea hotelis an elegant vacation spot in the heart of the desert. The hotel houses a unique large freshwater pool with internal currents and is heated during the winter. The hotel s Rosemarin restaurant serves three meals a day. The rich breakfast menu includes a salad bar with various cheeses and breads. Lobby Carnival is the hotel s dairy restaurant, serving an assortment of salads, sandwiches, toasts, pizza, ice cream, homemade cakes and a selection of hot, cold and alcoholic beverages. The large and luxurious spa offers a fitness room, a heated pool with saltwater from the Dead Sea, two Jacuzzis, two sulfur pools, wet and dry saunas and two pressure showers. A wide variety of treatments are provided at the Spa. The hotel s entertainment staff offers a varied program of activities including shows, guest artists, games, workshops and more.Wireless High Speed Internet Access (WiFi) is available. ** Check-in time update : for saturday evenings is 19:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotels Dead Sea Hotel Ein Bokek
Crowne Plaza Ein Bokek
Israel Dead Sea Hotels
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing