We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible expereance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

not enough parking, got a parking ticket, front desk barely speak Engish, the reception menager was arrogant an told me we don 't care about Americans. Our business are only the Russian people. The room was dirty an bug infested , The staff by the pool were nasty and refused to communicate in English. If you did not speak Russian, you ar out of luck. The beach was under construction and we were not told about it.
When we checked out, the receptionist refused to give us the proper papers to collect the VAT tax at the airport and lost the money.
The hotel is not 5 star hotel just barely 1.5, will never go there ever again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Jose S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I trust we can regain your confidence in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I ordered the rooms at the hotel two months before the vocation. First of all I got two double rooms with separated beds instead of king size beds but after an hours of discussions the reception manager found us two rooms as I ordered but one of them was for people with limited capacity. I didn't have any choice and agreed to take it. Besides that I was not told by the representative of the hotel that the beaches in the area were under construction. I ordered this hotel and not any other else because there is a private beach and guess how I felt arriving to the end point after two hours drive and discovering that there was a border around the pool area. Yes,there was a narrow stripe from the hotel arranged by the stuff going to the beach area!But the place was so incapacious!!! And all these experience in one day!! The hotel is not 5 stars as they define themselves , I'd say only 3 stars,the stuff is not friendly. In the end of the day I saw that there is no even bathrobe and sleepers in the room and when I called the reception I was told that I have to pay for that!!! At the 5 star hotel!!!! I wanted to fill in the form for the member's club in Crown Plaza hotels, of course it will never happen. And I never come back to this terrible place!The only reason I stayed here is my friends who came from Europe first to this hotel but immediately changed it to another one.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Ravits K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Ravits K,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service, room confusion and the pool construction. We will address these concerns. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

How do you know a good wine from the rest? By the long lasting impression it leaves on you..

The same is what happened to me and to my family at our last visit to the lowest place on earth but on top of the world with the nice welcoming and friendly staff of this hotel.

From the bell-men, to the receptionists who were all guest and service oriented and made us feel right at home, onwards to the FAB room and the breathtaking panoramic of the Dead Sea and the spacious swimming pool...

Undoubtedly - back again (soon we all hope!!)

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Its-me1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meeray t, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Its-me1912

Thanks for your nice review of our hotel. Will be happy to meet you in person upon your next arrival.
Wish you a happy day


David Bernas
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I just wanted to share my wonderful experience at this fine establishment!!!
It began with the wonderful front desk staff that were all smiling and welcome, after the check in we went to our room and WOW is the first thing that comes to mind - what a view!!!

The next thing we enjoyed was the fresh buffet for the meals, you even get to watch the cook makes the food right in front of you!!!

What can I say? A wonderful vacation at the Crowne plaza!!!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Erez-cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernasD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Erez-Cal

Thank you four your very kind review of our hotel.
It will be our pleasure to host you soon again among our distinguished guests

David Bernas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed in this lovely hotel for 8 nights this April,I saw that people wrote that it is expensive however not even one of them wrote that it is a high holiday and the rates at all hotels at the Dead Sea are expansive due to this and to the fact of high kosher regulations. The food was superior buffets full of good and tasty dishes, I was surprised to see 15 soldiers having a festive dinner in the hotel and to my question I was told that they have been invited free of charge by the hotels general manager I highly appreciated this gesture and asked to send them drinks that I paid for!!! The beach is under constructions as all beaches in the area but the CP did arrange a small beach for the guests it was nice and clean. On the roof top a brand new solarium to take a good sunbath!! I will surely be back for Succot. Lovely hotel friendly staff. Highly recommended if u wanna stay in the best location in the area.

Room Tip: Must try the SPA treatments and have a buffet dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meged1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meeray t, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Meged1959

Thank you for your review.
I was happy to read of your great experience in our hotel, I will be my pleasure to host you soon again among all our distinguished guests

David Bernas
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The check in and check out process was quick but it would have been appreciated if we were escorted to our room rather than being sent to look for it for ourselves with the luggage in our hands after a tiring drive from Amman. Although the hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable the experience was flat out boring. As a family we enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel and the food in the restaurant by the pool. The pools are great and lifeguards are available. Watermelon is passed out to the guests near the pool at one point which was appreciated. However, things started going down hill at dinner. The buffet was empty, which was very unusual considering it was during a high season but we later understood why. The food was horrible. The staff's attention was almost impossible to catch even though the restaurant was completely empty. This only applies for the dinner buffet, the breakfast buffet was delicious and the service was satisfactory. After dinner we decided to go around the hotel to see what activities were going on and again the hotel was empty. There were no events or any forms of entertainment for the guests to enjoy at night. We ended up going back to our hotel room at 8:00 PM and used the free wifi for entertainment and went to bed at 9:00 PM.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. Let me offer my sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations and for not creating a memorable stay for you. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and make your stay as best as it can be.

Again, thank you for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This would have to be the worst hotel experience ever. Rudeness must be a prerequsite to work there. Everything was too much trouble for the staff. While the hotel is situated in a lovely part of the Dead Sea, right on the beach, the unpleasant staff took away from the enjoyment. The rooms are run down, in desperate need of a facelift, but the prices were very high. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Judy J,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Dead Sea.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ein Bokek hotels
2.0 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#4 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
#11 of 17 in Ein Bokek
836 reviews
0.3 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hod Hamidbar Resort and Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dead Sea

Address: Ein Bokek M.P.O., Ein Bokek 8693000, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ein Bokek
#7 Family Hotel in Ein Bokek
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ein Bokek
#8 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range: £114 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dead Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the lowest place on Earth, right at the edge of the with its own private beach, the Crowne Plaza Dead Sea hotelis waiting to pamper you at the highest level possible. The Crowne Plaza Dead Sea hotelis an elegant vacation spot in the heart of the desert. The hotel houses a unique large freshwater pool with internal currents and is heated during the winter. The hotel s Rosemarin restaurant serves three meals a day. The rich breakfast menu includes a salad bar with various cheeses and breads. Lobby Carnival is the hotel s dairy restaurant, serving an assortment of salads, sandwiches, toasts, pizza, ice cream, homemade cakes and a selection of hot, cold and alcoholic beverages. The large and luxurious spa offers a fitness room, a heated pool with saltwater from the Dead Sea, two Jacuzzis, two sulfur pools, wet and dry saunas and two pressure showers. A wide variety of treatments are provided at the Spa. The hotel s entertainment staff offers a varied program of activities including shows, guest artists, games, workshops and more.Wireless High Speed Internet Access (WiFi) is available. ** Check-in time update : for saturday evenings is 19:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotels Dead Sea Hotel Ein Bokek
Crowne Plaza Ein Bokek
Israel Dead Sea Hotels
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing