We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, much to improve”
Review of Kalia Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalia Guest House
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Hod Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place, much to improve”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We came because the price was approximately half of a hotel, but not very cheap, about 100 euro including breakfast.
ACCOMMODATION: there are units with a very tiny bedroom. The patio with chairs and a nice grass patch outside kind of makes up for it. The unit looks very outdated and in bad need of a paint job. The bathroom was very small and in bad condition. During our stay, no one enter to clean the unit. Outside was a "pack" of starving cats which stared all the time maybe we will throw something to eat. Some people didn't seem to mind - for us it was very unpleasant.
THE BREAKFAST: considering the low cost of the hotel kind of OK. Fresh vegetables but no fruits. A lot of sorts of teas.
THE BEACH: It is 7 kms away from the hotel (but if don't have a car you can't get to). The facilities are OK. However going into the sea is tricky as there is mud and people tend to sink and slip in the mud. The life guard has an easy motto: Try to lie on your back. Other people didn't seem to mind. However the kibbutz could have managed to create a safe corridor into the sea as we have seen in other hotels and a shuttle.

All and All : This kibbutz has a great asset and it doesn't maintain it properly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ks
Level Contributor
331 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The rooms at the Kalia Guest House are fine for a family get together, especially since every set of rooms shares a yard and it's easy to move porch tables/chairs as needed. The rooms comfortably sleep 4 persons (two in the bedroom and two in the living room. There are no hot plates for heating food, but there is a refrigerator and a electric kettle. We had to request a plug for the bathtub, but we did get one.

The Friday night dinner was plentiful, varied, and tasty. The Saturday morning breakfast was okay, but not more than that.

The Guest House is located within a reasonable drive to many Dead Sea attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
681 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,758 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Great location for Qumran and to experience kibbutz life, though other kibbutz certainly do it better. The restaurant is the biggest let down and more like a school canteen with no atmosphere or personality.The bar is OK but a long way off and next to the stables which isnt the best smell to aid relaxcation! Rooms are well appointed with small terraces and chpose one set aound a square which make for great socialising with others. Showers are very small and you need the floor mop to stop the water spilling into the sleeping area

Room Tip: Choose a room set around a arden square rather than one of the side terraces (rooms are larger but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
216 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Good points:

1. 5 minutes' walk to the Qumran Caves National Park
2. 5 minutes' drive to the Kalia / Qalya Dead Sea Beach (free entrance with voucher from the hotel but have to pay extra for lockers)
3. Friendly & helpful staffs at the front desk & restaurant
4. Free internet in the lobby
5. Free parking in complex
6. Good breakfast
7. Big room

Bad points:

1. Hotel only willing to give Dead Sea voucher after we checked out (probably because the hotel doesn't want guests bringing lots of salt & mud into the rooms)
2. Had some insects in the room but not a big deal since we're close to nature anyways (i.e. moth flew into room upon entry & greeted by a couple of house spiders inside)

This is a nice place to experience & speak with people in a kibbutz, as well as nice point to explore the rest of the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agchen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
94 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

A lush green oasis in the desert.
As a guest you have free access to the Dead Sea beach which is a 5 hm drive away.
The beach facilities are quite good and clean.
The beds in the units were very comfortable, you have a big flat screen TV and a nice little terrace under big old trees overlooking a lawn.
Only the bathrooms were- although clean- very outdated.
Breakfast in the dining-room was like a time travel back to the 80' s .
We enjoyed staying there but with a little more care this place could do so much better.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bicheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertzelia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We came because the price is approximately half of a hotel.
ACCOMMODATION there are units with a very tiny bedroom. The patio with chairs and a nice grass patch outside kind of makes up for it. The units are very close to each other. The unit looks very outdated and in bad need of a paint job. Inside the unit there was a bad odour of stagnant air.When we prepared barbecue outside there were ten cats that congragated around us and jumped on the tables. Some people didn't seem to mind - for us it was unpleasant.
THE BREAKFAST: considering the low cost of the hotel kind of OK. Coffee was undrinkable.Very unimpressive by the Israeli standard.
THE BEACH:It is 7 kms away from the hotel. The facilities are OK. However going into the sea is tricky as there is mud and people tend to sink and slip in the mud. The life guard has an easy motto: Try to lie on your back. Other people didn't seem to mind. However the kibbutz could have managed to create a safe corridor into the sea as we have seen in other hotels.

All and All : This kibbutz has a great asset and it doesn't maintain it properly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ein Bokek hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Accommodation was better than expected. Would have liked a talk and/or a tour of the Kibbutz to understand life there a bit better but this wasn't on offer. The staff weren't very friendly. Breakfast was okay but we had to go back into Jericho to find dinner! Could have been made a better experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilly13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ein Bokek
21.1 mi away
Ein Gedi Hotel
Ein Gedi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ein Gedi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
40.5 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#3 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
38.4 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.6 mi away
Leonardo Inn Hotel Dead Sea
Leonardo Inn Hotel Dead Sea
#12 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
38.7 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kalia Kibbutz
Kalia Kibbutz
#1 of 1 in Kalya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalia Guest House

Property: Kalia Guest House
Address: D.J Kikar Hayarden, Ein Bokek 90666, Israel
Region: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kalia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalia Guest House Dead Sea, Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing