We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers is better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers is better”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Unimaginable. Coming from Belgium, I'd say less than 2 stars. Dirty towels are picked up from the floor, folded and put back as 'clean'. That is if the room is being 'cleaned'. Once a few cleaners were chatting on our floor and when I asked them to clean our room they replied: Sorry it's after 2 pm, we don't clean rooms after 2pm. Sheets are not replaced, but if they are then everything you left on the bed (like a pyjama) is rolled up with it into oblivion. Do not set foot in this hotel but if you have to then refuse a room in the corridor of rooms 827 (or so) to 842. There is an unbearable public toilet stench in the corridor. When I called a manager, she said: 'I can eventually spray something but it won't help...' Gefundenes Fressen for Basil Fawlty...just don't mention the war.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 840
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Silvain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,580
    303
    206
    202
    270
See reviews for
947
797
88
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We've stayed in the hotel during the Passover week. Although there were way over 1000 guests, with many many children around, we did not feel too crowded due to the spacious public areas, pools beach and spa. Food was very good, plenty and diverse, although the buffets ran out of some items here and there.

However, in terms of maintenance, cleaning and management, there is much room for improvement. Our bathroom plumbing desperately requires renovation as it made quite some noise each time we flushed the toilet. Daily cleaning was often delayed to late afternoon. Above all, money was stolen from our room, most probably by the cleaning staff, and we did not feel management has done much about it following our complaint. True, we did not place the money in the safe, but this has never happened to me before. I should say that due to the unusually high occupancy during Passover, there were many temps working, but yet this is no excuse.

Overall, the facility is very good, kitchen staff is good. Management, housekeeping and maintenance need to be seriously improved.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli_0173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem District, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Leaving hotel in the morning
Did not enjoy this hotel stay
Much of staff was not pleasant Came as part of a large group and many of us had items disappear (stolen)- even from the room
When we complained did not seem to have much of an effect

If your planning on staying here then don't bring anything you value
(Except maybe a vaccum to clean the not so clean carpets)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Formerly the Hyatt and then the Meridian, David has inherited a great building but has yet to upgrade their management.

My balcony door doesn't quite close. The bathroom door, which don't have locks, would only shut if it was slammed - either waking my wife each time I went, or leaving it open. Before the maintenance man did something about it, after being called twice and waiting four hours, he did try persuading me that I should leave it open.

The toilet cover is broken off and totally independent from the remaining structure, but I haven't even bothered to get it fixed.

The aircon, whilst pretty effective when it works, did fail. The entire hotel was left without aircon for over 6 hours in temperatures exceeding 30C.

Dinning tables are flimsy bits of wood resting on flimsier metal frames and any weight sets them seesawing.

The waiters are quick to say yes, but rarely deliver. Our table has yet to be set with glasses and cutlery for even half of its occupants. And the tap water pitchers, usually brought to the table at an non air conditioned room temp, are provided at the rate of 2 1l pitchers for a table of 31.

The dining room invariably opens 30 minutes late, yet 15 minutes before the published closing time has run out of this, that and the other.

One evening I asked to speak to the duty manager - who was not on duty. She did phone me at 1.5 hours later, and when I stated that I wish to talk face to face, suggested that she would call the following morning. 36 hours later and nothing yet. I'm not holding my breath.

The list goes on, but I think you catch my drift.

Great potential if a good management team were in place. Unfortunately, this team need to go back to kindergarten.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I just spent now five days in this hotel. First mistake I booked there,second mistake I didn't leave immediately.The building and the lobby are beautiful but that's all.We refused the first room because it was a dirty one(sticky floor,lack of toilet paper, dust and so on);upgraded to a pretendly better one,it was the same(dirty table, no vacuum cleaning for days,etc.);the carpets in front of the lifts are black!Some meals were just horrible.Some members of the staff tried to help but considering the situation,it was useless.Yulia the Public Relation person made her best and she is an amiable ,capable and pleasant person but her collegue Sharon is the last person for that job:rude,arrogant, and antipathetic.Unlike other hotels the directing manager refuses to meet guests.This place used to be considered one of the 100 best hotels in the world. No more!Its moto should be:" GUESTS ARE NOT WELCOME".

Room Tip: AVOID IT.It willbe the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Didier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We, 2 elderly Israeli couples, stayed at the hotel for 5 days, one week before Pasover (Pesach). The hotel needs renovation or maintenance. Several times one of eight elevators stops working. And when a elevator arrives, you don't know which one and then you have to hurry since the doors stay open for only a few seconds. The waiters in the dining room need some manager totell them what to do. There are always knife or fork or cups missing from the tables, so you have to take from another table. The service is not good. The rooms are not cleaned properly and the beds we needed to rearrange the sheets and covers after it was arranged by the room maid. Sorry, We will not come back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RafiKornfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We booked a deluxe room (no. 1029), which really needs some renovation, but it wouldnt be a problem for us, if we wouldnt find -and I am sorry to say this- really the dirtiest hotel room I have ever seen. The hotel itself is huge one, but very nicely made, airy and spacious, all rooms have balconies overlooking both the Dead Sea and mountains. For a really good view is good to ask for a room in at least 10th floor.
People on the desk we met were nice and helpfull, food for the breakfast was plentifull, fresh with a big choice of everything.
Location is very good, it takes around 5 minutes walk to the Dead sea beach (if you want to wait a bit, you can use the hotels shuttle), there is a bus station and its not far from the small shopping mall with restaurants (McDonalds, Aroma, Cafe Cafe Kosher leMehadrin).
It could be perfect place to stay but because of the dirty room (bed sheets with stains, cigarette ash on the balcony, not washed tea and coffe facilities, a lot of dust, sticky floor, stains on the chair and on the carpet, uncupped tooth paste in the sink, etc.) we couldnt enjoy even our one night stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ein Bokek hotels
0.6 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,365 reviews
2.2 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#4 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#9 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Dead Sea
Royal Hotel Dead Sea
#15 of 17 in Ein Bokek
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
#13 of 17 in Ein Bokek
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to David Dead Sea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about David Dead Sea Resort & Spa

Property: David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, Ein Bokek 8693000, Israel
Region: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ein Bokek
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ein Bokek
#10 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — David Dead Sea Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your David Dead Sea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridien Dead Sea
Le Meridien Ein Bokek
Ein Bokek Le Meridien
Le Meridien Dead Sea
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing