We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical IYHA hostel”
Review of The Masada Hostel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ein Bokek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Masada Hostel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

After travelling through Israel for a while, you start to see similarities between IYHa hostels. They're all big, set up for large groups, with descent and clean but simple rooms, and mostly a helpful but sometimes grumpy staff. Overall, I like the concept.

The Masada hostel was no exception. Nice, clean rooms. Big complex, that was supposedly fully booked, but I think they only rent out part of the rooms. The dinner was simple but ok. The breakfast was very good, and very much needed after a sunrise hike to the top of Masada. The guy behind the reception helped us with everything we needed, but that's about it. The location of this hostel is great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris_Peeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Better than a tent... But that is about it! Private roms are like tiny college dorm rooms with zero atmosphere, however they are clean, and breakfast is pathetic with instant coffee and tang to drink. Location is great in Masada, and they are the only place to stay unless you drive 15 mins to another area. I would not stay again as it really is depressing.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank FromNYCtoTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was huge - it was actually two rooms, One with 2 twin beds pushed together, and the other room was large with 2 beds on either side of it. We took advantage of both rooms as we love to spread out! The washroom was also very large and was equipped with soap, shampoo and double the towels.

We had a good sized balcony and this was the first place we came across that actually had a large screen door so you could sleep with the door open. There was a nice view off the balcony.

The room also had a kettle with complimentary coffee and tea.
There was a large outdoor area where you could sit and have a drink and there was also a huge swimming pool which looked very inviting. Also a grassed area in the courtyard. Lovely outdoor surroundings.

The hostel was full of school kids, we are mature travellers but we mellowed with the ruckus. We made a point of getting down to the cafeteria before the mobs of kids came down and there were plenty of tables by windows (with a view), where you could almost escape from the hoards.
The cafeteria was a very nice airy bright room.

The supper was excellent and varied, as was the breakfast. Plenty of food, even enough to make yourself a little sandwich at breakfast, so you could eat it at lunch time.

The hostel also had a small store where you could purchase snack and sundry items.

We really enjoyed our stay here, especially since it was right at the foot of Masada.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dody_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Unbeatable location for exploring masada especially if you want to climb the snake path to be at the top of masada for dawn. We had a twin room , which was very large( could have slept 6) with a bathroom with shower..all very clean and functional but very basic decor. There is full air con and also a tv with some English channels

We are a mature couple and this was def not out usual type of accommodation but it seemed crazy to pay more for a bed in a hotel or kibbutz as the nearest other accommodation is a good 15 minutes drive away and as we wanted to do the dawn climb we had to be on the snake path for 450 am.

Staying here allows you to do the climb experience and explore the site at the top of masada then climb back down or take the 1st cable car back at 8 am and be back in time for breakfast

Don't expect frills .. We didn't bother with the dinner which was school cafeteria style , accompanied by about 100+ school kids and the associated noise, but we did attempt breakfast after walking back down the snake path. Happily by then the school kids had left and the food was plentiful and tasty if still cafeteria style.

Room Tip: Provided pool refurbished and open choose one beside the pool as have good views of Dead Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A friend and I stayed here one night for a morning walk up to Masada. Its a nice guesthouse with a good breakfast. Room was dull, and the bathroom was not very clean - long hair was everywhere. We enjoyed a solid breakfast after the walk to Masada - eggs, humus, salat and more was served. We found the price quite high compared to the other places we stayed at in Israel, but for some reason it is very expensive to stay near the dead sea, and this hostel is no exception. A car is essential as the hostel is very isolated. We drove to the Kibbutz for dinner, where an excellent buffet is served every night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerFromDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just stayed here one night, but would have been comfortable with staying longer. This is a clean and comfortable place to stay when you are out to see Masada's Archeological site. The rooms are not fancy, but have all your basic needs. They have a good variety of food available. There are stunning views of the Dead Sea from their main level patio. It is located right below Masada, so it is a quick walk to get to the tram or the snake path for the hikers. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a patio facing the dead sea. Beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nedra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

If you want to enjoy the desert, Dead Sea or trip to Masada, choose this hostel although it's not easy to make reservation, we had to call several times. View on Dead Sea and Jordan mountains from balcony is marvelous. The rooms are of a hostel style but quite sufficient for stay of several days and are equipped with air conditioning, simple shower and lavatory, TV and balcony. Just beds could be little bit longer. Swimming pool gives you place to rest even if it's 40°C in the shade as you cold yourself in quite pleasant water (closed in winter months). The breakfast and dinner were quite fine, from the restaurant you can also enjoy the view to Dead Sea. The staff is pleasant, just be in time on breakfast and dinner. The only shop around is on Masada visitor center (with several places to eat) some 300 meters far away but open only during a day.

Room Tip: Ask the room close to swimming pool. As you are higher the view to Dead Sea is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ein Bokek
7.8 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,286 reviews
7.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#7 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,443 reviews
8 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Ein Gedi Hotel
Ein Gedi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ein Gedi
451 reviews
9.6 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#4 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,372 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
#11 of 17 in Ein Bokek
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Masada Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Masada Hostel

Address: Ein Bokek, Israel
Region: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Number of rooms: 211
Also Known As:
The Masada Hotel Ein Bokek
Masada Hostel Ein Bokek
The Masada Hostel Dead Sea, Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing