We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money”
Review of The Masada Hostel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ein Bokek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Masada Hostel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great value for money”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Me and my family - 2 adults + 3 kids stayed there a week ago and had a great stay.
The hostel offers great value for money in a prime location, nearby the Dead Sea and Masada.
We enjoyed a clean room , an amazing swimming pool and a lovely hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same we stayed in a room for 5, and it was quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    95
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
54
55
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, Hampshire,England
Level Contributor
289 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Its a youth hostel - so expect lots of young people and all the noise that goes with them.

Expect also low cost mass catering.

The hostel achieves its objective of being a wonderful base from which to explore Masada and the surrounding area.

We had a superior double room with a fabulous view over the dead sea. The room was modern, spacious, beds comfortable, bedlinen and towels of good standard, the shower and wc clean and well designed. There is a big TV screen with local channels, Wifi was OK but could get overloaded with hundreds of children all using their smartphones at the same time.

The dinner buffet was simple and good quality. Older guests had brought their own wine to take in - there is no bar or alcohol served.

We followed advice and left the hostel at 0515 am to walk to the entrance gate to snake path which opened at 0520 that day. Then after the climb up Snake Path before sunrise returned on the cable car for a shower and Israeli style breakfast in the hotel before the 10 am checkout.

Great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david-the-banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Cannot fault this place, especially at this price. They are in the middle of the desert so have the monopoly and could charge what they want. The rooms were exceptional for dorms, comfy beds, towels, own bathroom and fridge. Amazingly clean. Great balcony views and really helpful staff. The dinner buffet is a bargain for the price, the food is pretty good too with plenty of choice. They even have a pool here, not that youll need it with so much to do!
Beware though...they cater for everyone, including school trips. When i was there, their were THREE schools there and peace and quiet was but a dream!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We booked many different types of accommodations in Israel, from 5 star luxury to B&B. The Masada Guest House and Hostel was a wonderful place to stay for many reasons. The food was amazing, the room clean and spacious, the views fantastic. We saw a double rainbow for the first time ever!! When a flash flood closed all roads in and out of Masada, and we were stranded there for an extra night, Sarit called our next hotel and explained and arranged everything for us. We were, therefore staying over Shabbat, and the dinner that night was superb, plentiful, with all the trimmings, cloth napkins and lovely tablecloths. I had read some negative reviews citing the noise from young people. We had no problem with the young people there, everyone was polite and the only "noise" was from a spirited game of soccer........what a pleasure to seeing kids from all over enjoying themselves and getting along together. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Beautiful views over the Dead Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The name of this place is "youth hostel and guest house" - I think that what's meant is dormitories as youth hostel and private rooms as guest house. We travelled in three, so the only reasonable option for us in Dead Sea region was either of the 2 youth hostels here. The hotels here, including those in kibbutzim, have no rooms other than single/double. We got a studio, I'd say. Two rooms with two beds each (in one room they are placed next to each other); cupboards in both rooms. The "main" room also houses a table with 1 chair, TV, fridge, and kettle. The bathroom is surprisingly large and composed of 3 rooms: wc, shower, sink area with a large mirror. Plenty of hooks for towels. There is also a terrace with a round table and 3 chairs. If I had to say what's missing or not ideal: only one bed has its own night table - the others don't even have a shelf to put glasses on (but each bed has its own night light); the fridge's door shelves are unprotected (the 'barriers' are missing) so that for example a milk carton cannot stand on them; one chair in the room is not enough (but one can manage using the terrace table or bringing one chair indoor); the mattress on one bed was incredibly hard (while the others are reasonably OK); all the party was only given 1 keycard (and then when we asked, also another key - but it would be better to have 1 keycard per person); only 3 hangers for clothes in the cupboard), lack of soap to wash hands (1 sachet of shampoo and 1 sachet of "soap" per person are provided, but it's not convenient to use it for hands; a dispenser at the sink would be more handy. I had taken a small soap bar from home so no problem). What are the positives: quite a lot of electric sockets, plenty of room in cupboards, good lightning. One light was out of order (over the table), it was fixed within 30 minutes.
No problems were noted with cleanliness. Towels were exchanged after the 1st night.
WiFi works fine, although it drives me nuts that it wants me to log in to the network each time I come back to my laptop (but it's just a minute). There is no landline phone in the room. When using your mobile, if you have an Israeli SIM card, please make sure to check first what your phone "is seeing". One of my phones knows it is in Israel while the other believes it is now in Jordan :-)). As you know, this type of problems is best prevented by switching to manual mode of choosing connection.
The hotel is equipped with lifts.
Upon check-in, the receptionist spontaneously said: "it will be quiet tonight, we have no groups, but tomorrow it may be loud, we will have a large group of school youth, but you are in the opposite end anyway". This is mentioned in many reviews here and indeed, this is a youth hostel and this type of noise must be taken into consideration. The children did not even scream too much and their soccer match (?) was not too loud, but at present (22:15 local time) some kind of concert is going on outside and unlikely to end soon,
The breakfast is included in the price. I saw in other reviews that people's opinions vary. I guess it may be influenced by the fact that us, Europeans, normally expect meat for breakfast (cold meats and/or hot sausages). However this is by definitione excluded here :-((. Dairy products are served for breakfast, therefore, as all canteens in Israel must keep kosher, meat cannot be served at the same time (no matter that you are not a Jew). This morning the choice was quite OK: scrambled eggs, hard eggs, toasts, French toasts, one type of bakery product with spicy filling, several types of pickles and cold fish products, several types of soft cheese (cottage cheese, cheese with olives etc.) - but no hard cheese; some types of typical Israeli spreads (t'hina?), 3 kinds of jam, butter, a choice of vegetables (lettuce, cucumber, peppers, tomatoes). Coffee was awful (as usually in most hotels and hostels all over the world - do they produce a special make "breakfast special"?!). Juices from a dispenser were artificial - no surprise either, it is typical. There was also hot water and tea/coffee/cocoa mix powder. I also saw milk and several types of cereals.
Dinners are available at about 57 NIS. We went downstairs to see - food looked tasty, we would have taken it but we had plenty of own food taken from home.
The parking lot is large, and free, of course.
Swimming pool was empty and closed (not a big deal - the weather is not very hot today). When we were walking to see it, I saw a vending machine, apparently with soft drinks, in a niche. It is not in the main lobby. Therefore, those reviewers who complained here that a bottle of water cannot be purchased at the hostel beyond opening Times of their small kiosk, may be wrong and just had not asked where the vending machine is situated. I saw it had logos of Visa and Mastercard, so I think it may even accept credit cards.
I would have given this place 5 "stars", however 160 $ per night (even for 3 people) is quite a lot. It's just an expensive region with limited numer of accommodation options.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agulha68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I found this hostel a real breath-of-fresh-air. It is so clean, modern and the food was fantastic.
The buses stop right out front and you are at the very foot of Masada. From this hostel it is also very quick and easy to reach the resort town of Ein Bokek where you can enjoy the Dead Sea.
My recommendations would be to check into the hostel sometime in the morning or early afternoon, leave your bags there as the room isn't ready until 2 or 3 pm, take the local bus to the beach and enjoy the Dead Sea for the day. Enjoy dinner back at the hostel and then have a relaxing night. Wake up early and join the dozens of Trekkers up the snake path where you can see the lights from Jordan and then the sunrise over the Dead Sea. Finally, when it is fully light you can explore the old fortress on top of the mountain and see how the determined Romans conquered this place. By the afternoon you are ready to move on to the next, exciting location.

Room Tip: They have dorms and private rooms. Book ahead as the dorms fill up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earthhomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

After travelling through Israel for a while, you start to see similarities between IYHa hostels. They're all big, set up for large groups, with descent and clean but simple rooms, and mostly a helpful but sometimes grumpy staff. Overall, I like the concept.

The Masada hostel was no exception. Nice, clean rooms. Big complex, that was supposedly fully booked, but I think they only rent out part of the rooms. The dinner was simple but ok. The breakfast was very good, and very much needed after a sunrise hike to the top of Masada. The guy behind the reception helped us with everything we needed, but that's about it. The location of this hostel is great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris_Peeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ein Bokek
10.0 mi away
Ein Gedi Hotel
Ein Gedi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ein Gedi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
7.4 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
Leonardo Inn Hotel Dead Sea
Leonardo Inn Hotel Dead Sea
#12 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Spa Club Hotel
Spa Club Hotel
#11 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hod Hamidbar Resort and Spa Hotel
9.6 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#3 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Masada Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Masada Hostel

Property: The Masada Hostel
Address: Ein Bokek, Israel
Region: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Number of rooms: 211
Also Known As:
The Masada Hotel Ein Bokek
Masada Hostel Ein Bokek
The Masada Hostel Dead Sea, Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing