We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Ein Bokek
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Been to the Dead Sea ? Almost every hotel calls itself a spa, which is true in that they have a mineral pool, a Jacuzzi and offer treatments etc. But the truth is, that even if the facilities are luxurious, they all feel the same. A number of years ago a small mediocre hotel decided to do a makeover and become a spa hotel. The Hotel itself did not change in size, but the makeover actually worked. The hotel oasis spa club is linked to the oasis hotel and they share a pool and the Spa itself – at least most of the time.
The Good - It is absolutely quiet, the Lobby is stunning and well set with a beautiful view of the dead sea and wifi available 24/7 (and free in your room for a hour a day) . Naturally there are many kinds of tea available all day. Works by local artists adorn the walls - many of which are really quite good. At 4 PM there is tea time, with vegetables, fruits, and cookies . There were also complimentary 5 minute massages ( at least when we were there) - a nice extra. The spa is opened until 10PM and breakfast goes from 8-12. The staff is very accommodating and the food decent. Before I get jumped on, let me pronounce that I am a dedicated and hands on grandparent - now that that is said, the best thing is that no one under 16 is allowed, nor are cell phones in public places for that matter - but being Israel….. Although the spa is shared with the hotel next door from 7-10 PM it is exclusive for the spa.
During our stay we had free Yoga and later a ti-chi sessions both of which were quite enjoyable.
English is not a strong language for much of the staff many of whom are local Bedouin or Russian immigrants but they do try, and there is always someone around who can help bridge the gap.
Not so good but with caveats -
As noted above facilities are shared which means that often the mineral pool can be over crowded esp if there is a large tour group in the adjoining hotel or if a local union brings its members for an afternoon. But, for the most part these groups leave early in the morning leaving a few good hours of quiet. Plus the spa is ONLY opened to spa guests ( not hotel guests)from 7-10 P.M. . The same can be said for the pool especially during holiday season but that is probably the same for all hotels down here, and why I avoid taking vacations at that time . Rooms are rather small, although they are well kept . There are no balconies which meant we had to figure out where to put the wet bathing suits. A friend staying at a hotel nearby had to pay 100 NIS extra a day for a balcony). The bathrooms are modern and clean.
The pool is rather small only 21 feet (17 meters) but there is a cover over most of it which means that the water is comfortable even in the heat of the summer.

Bottom line – this was my second visit and if their prices remain similar to the other 5 luxury hotel in the area I would come back just for the quiet and ambiance especially in off season.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elib_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCPRIMA, Manager at Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

WOW, Thanks, for taking the time and effort to wright such a kind, pleasant and depth report about Spa Club hotel.
One of the nicest things for a hotel to hear is that our guests enjoyed their stay and all of the hotel facilities; It is always nice to hear such nice and warm full compliments about our hotel and service.

It is especially nice to hear that you were able to enjoy the concept of the hotel. Additionally, one of our main goals as a hotel chain is to make our guests stay as commutable, home fill and unique as possible.

Thanks again for your review about Prima hotel.

Hope to see you again in one of our hotels in Israel
Prima :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    199
    85
    54
    44
See reviews for
134
427
54
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We just spent three nights here as part of our honeymoon and were disappointed. The place really needs a renovation. The spa is fine but the rooms and rest of the hotel are dated. I had real concerns about the cleanliness of both our room and the hotel in general as well.

However, the main problem was the service. Hardly any of the staff spoke English to any level and the service would have made Fawlty Towers look like a 5 star resort. On the first night, it took half an hour and us asking four or five different members of staff for us to finally get someone to serve us a drink at the hotel bar - there was simply no one to help us. We also had to make a 'special request' at reception for our room to be cleaned...

The food was fine and there was a good range.

The only highlight was the entertainment in the bars - on night one there was a solitary old man with a saxophone who was very sweet. Night two was a really fun singer from Chicago and we ended up with a good old singalong in the bar which was reminiscent of the 80s classic TV show 'The Love Boat'.

If the management of this hotel thought a bit more about customer service and gave the place a thorough refurb, it could be great. Sadly, at the moment it definitely isn't.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annmarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCPRIMA, Manager at Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for placing your opinion at the Tripadvisor.
Providing a better service is our goal, consequently we are grateful for your constructive notes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed in a double room for 3 nights. Room size was adequate although more space would have been good. Location is good - a few minutes walk to the dead sea and 5 minutes to a small shopping centre. Bus stop outside. Atmosphere generally quiet and chilled. Food is excellent and you'll need to control yourself with the range available. No lunch provided. One major issue for me was the lack of clean cutlery/crockery - in some cases it was caked in food. Taking a plate may require 5 attempts to find a clean one. In some cases, the waiters take plates when you're not finished with them if you leave your table to get something so would recommend being vigilant. Drying clothes was challenging as the bathroom has no fan and the only option is to hang clothes out a small window. Spa was pleasant, including 2 saunas, dead sea water pool, jacuzzi and a gym. Synagogue with regular services. Swimming pool outside although small. All in all a pleasant stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robjs2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCPRIMA, Manager at Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review about our hotel, we are very happy that your enjoyed your stay and will be happy to welcome you again as one of our guests in the future.
All comments help us provide the best service and amenities for our guests,.

Hope to see you again in Israel
Spa Club Hotel Dead Sea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

From the moment we arrived it was 5 star treatment all the way. From the check in that went smoothly to check out. The staff was 100% attentive to whatever the needs were. The Tea Time was great for a change to get out of the sun and relax with lite chit chat with other guests, I think that the atmosphere speaks for itself. The hotel manager was pointed out to us and wherever you went she was looking after the guests to make sure everything was running smoothly. Whether in the dining room seating the guests or at the pool to make sure everything was running smoothly, you can see what this hotel has changed from the old days. I would highly recommend to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCPRIMA, Manager at Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for posting your kind words about our hotel.

One of the nicest things for a hotel to hear is that guests enjoy their stay with us.

We hope you will be returning to stay with us in the Dead sea soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I think this hotel hasn't been updated since the 70s. Breakfast is in a room with almost no windows or decorations. Food was mediocre. Feels like the Catskills in the 70s (ok, I wasn't there then, but that's how I imagine it). Location is pretty good, just a short walk down to the Dead Sea and they have a shuttle (since it can be quite hot) and use of private beach area. Tiny towels for the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Dead Sea (of course!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chipdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2013

we had a great weekend, very relaxing. although the lady at the front desk has no experience, the others have knew how to indemnify us. it was so good that there were no children and no cell phones.food was very good on Friday night but not on Saturday night.

Room Tip: we were in the 3rd floor and it was o.k.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilit15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We went to this hotel specifically because it was children free hotel.
when we got in we found out that the very small pool was actually a communal pool of both spa club hotel and the oasis hotel.

this means that there were kids in the pool.
when we confronted the hotel about it, they said that we should have asked if the pool was joined in advanced.

in addition, the rooms were very small.
the bathroom was decent.

the food was inconsistent. on the first night the dinner wasn't very good at all. on the second night it was much better.

we had some spa treatments (there were three of us) the spa team was more than helpful. we had mixed feelings about the treatments themselves.

all in all, an OK experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ein Bokek hotels
1.7 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#5 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Prima Oasis Dead Sea
Prima Oasis Dead Sea
#14 of 17 in Ein Bokek
741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#9 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#4 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,098 reviews
0.5 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea

Property: Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
Address: Across From the Prima Oasis Hotel, Ein Bokek 8693000, Israel
Region: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Bokek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ein Bokek
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ein Bokek
#11 Spa Hotel in Ein Bokek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spa Club hotel is the first spa hotel of its kind in the entire Dead Sea region. Situated on the shores of the Dead Sea. The Hotel also holds a VIP lobby and spa facilities designed in authentic Moroccan style, fitness center, private beach, and outdoor pool. No smoking, no cell phones, age 18 and up only. . • 91 Rooms (2 Wheelchair Accessible Rooms) with FREE WI-FI in all rooms and public areas • 7 Delux Rooms • Daily VIP treat, daily newspaper in room • Courtesy Tea & Coffee making facilities in room • Mini refrigerator in room • Multi channel TV • Safe deposit box in room • Breakfast buffet served until 12 noon • Healthy tea infusions served throughout the day (complimentary) • Free access to a deluxe Spa featuring: Personal sulfur baths, wet & dry Finnish sauna & Turkish Hamam Heated indoor Dead Sea water pool and outdoor swimming pool Fitness room VIP spa-suites with private Jacuzzi, for couples massage • Solarium • Private beach • Free wireless internet in public areas and in all rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spa Club Hotel Ein Bokek
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea Israel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing