We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in a fabulous hotel”
Review of The Regency Kuwait

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Regency Kuwait
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Salmiyah
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely stay in a fabulous hotel”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My wife and I and our 17 month old toddler stayed here last week. I was working for some of the time at a medical conference held at a neighbouring hotel. The hotel was on the beach and had a wonderful lobby area. The room we stayed in overlooked the beach and was very nice. The food was first class and very varied on each night. We found the staff really helpful and went out of their way to assist us with our toddler esp.§ at meal times! The airport transfers organised by the hotel were also excellent. all in all a great relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank University_Doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Kuwait, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear Doctor,

May we thank you for your excellent comments posted recently on Trip Advisor which were shared with the team.

We do hope you will return to The Regency on your next trip.

Yours
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    89
    22
    10
    2
See reviews for
85
52
23
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I travelled to Kuwait and stayed at The Regency hotel last week for 5 nights. My husband was lecturing at a conference while i was relaxing with our baby daughter. Kuwait is not one of the world's top holiday destinations. However, having stayed at The Regency i feel i have had a lovely sunny hospitable break and a healthy holiday. The ambience, the lobby, filled with light and the wonderful smell of incense, the beautiful view from the terrace towards the sea and the swimming pools, these were my first excellent impressions on arrival.
We stayed in a great superior deluxe sea view room on the 4 floor which was great. Very clean, extremely comfortable bed and a fabulous marble bathroom.
The next amazing aspect was the food at the hotel.As we had a toddler with us, eating at the hotel was very convenient. An excellent decision as all the meals were of great quality and choice.
The breakfast was lovely, with lots of traditional and healthy options, lots of fruit, and fantastic choice of fresh juices and healthy shots.
The evning meals were buffet style which was different each night, with a pool BBQ, seafood buffet, Lebanese and international evenings.
The friday brunch was great too, huge variety of lovely food,including fresh sushi, child entertainers, face painting, photographs and generally lovely atmosphere.
The staff at the restaurant, including the manager, all of the waiters were amazing, so friendly, nothing was too much trouble, they were so warm and helpful always had a high chair for the baby ready straight away and were really pleasant and hard working. Always a pleasure to go for a meal, even if having a meal with a toddler is not the most relaxing event...
About the pool. The hotel boasts five swimming pools. They were in fact two main mixed pools, one childrens pool and one ladies only pool. They were all lovely!
The one thing i think lets this beautiful place down are the ridiculous restrictions on the use of the mixed pools, where women are not allowed to swim in bikini or even a swimsuit. You either have to wear a so called sharia suit( basically fully covered head to toe) or you could wear shorts and t shirt in the pool. As a western woman and a real sun, water and sports lover, i was apalled as to how restricting these rules are to women. Admittedly there is a ladies only pool which is warm and lovely with lovely small private beach and great service but i feel that women should be allowed the choice to swim in bikini in all the pools,its 2013 for Gods sake! The hotel also need a spa, it would definitely appeal to both locals and international visitors.
All in all we had a lovely break and would return again- just sort out the bikini rule!

Room Tip: Sea view, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Kuwait, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Anelie,

We were thrilled to read such a glowing recommendation of our hotel on Trip Advisor and wish to extend our sincere thanks to you for taking time to write so many commendations. With regards to the swimming pool attire, we are of course here in the Gulf subject to Kuwait rules and regulations and as a conservative Islamic country, we are obliged to abide by the local customs, moreover we would not wish to cause you or other female guests undue embarrassment or attention which is why we created the Ladies’ Lounge facility.

I do hope next time you and your family will choose our hotel; may I say again how delighted I am to know you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Yours
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I visited the property with my husband in the beginning of April and I am now back in london...in a nutshell...i miss it!!
I travel all over the middle east for business with my husband and I have had some excellent experiences and some not so good experiences.
This hotel was neither...it was superb!
Loved having our Ladies only pool!
The service was curteous , expeditious and the staff was very well presented.
I could not reccommend this hotel enough for anyone travelling to Kuwait be it for business or for leisure as this property balances both perfectly!
A big thank you to the GM Mr Giraudo and his team for having made our 5 day stay so memorable!
Im already looking forward to our next trip in September!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Kuwait, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Nicola,

Thank you for your posting on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Ladies only pool at the Ladies’ Lounge and found our hotel is superb!

Thank you for your recommendation and valuable support. Your kind comments have been shared with the management and associates.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in September at The Regency.

Yours,

Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I visited the property for 3 nights at the end of March and from the moment I walked in I was treated like Royalty!
The rooms are lavish, the food and service are of top class.
I have stayed at some of the top properties worldwide and I would not hesitate to reccommend the Regency Kuwait to everyone.
I also had 2 spa treatments and they were excellent.
It is not very often you find a property that is so well suited for business and leisure.
Thank you to the Team at Regency Kuwait for a fantastic stay...I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhalilE25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Kuwait, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Regency and that our recommendation for the spa treatment was well received. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kuwait.

Yours
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2013


Parking in front of the hotel only for kuwaiti luxury cars - you have to sign on their papers that you well not bring food into the hotel but it was not mentioned in the website of booking.com Small rooms

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al_shamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Kuwait, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Regency.

Please note our hotel car parks are available to anyone on a first-come first-served basis and we favour no particular type of car or nationality of owner. Certainly here in Kuwait the majority of our patrons are indeed Kuwaiti and do drive luxury brand cars which are sometimes parked close the entrance, however we can assure you this is not a policy.

Regarding our rule of not being able to bring food from outside, as a hotel by law we are obliged to take seriously the issue of food hygiene, as we could be closed down if our guests fell sick. As we cannot guarantee food quality from outside we therefore implement this rule as a protection to our guests and to our reputation. Most hotels do not post such rules on websites such as booking.com but on check in, all guests will sign a form on which our in-house rules are clearly stipulated

Yours
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Male
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Loved it! Would always come back.

Staff are friendly, attentive and very helpful.

Rooms are clean and fresh.

Housekeeping 5 stars .

Rare combination of classic style, superb staff, welcoming atmosphere

I will be BACK

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Umberto1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Kuwait, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your excellent review on tripadvisor.com. We have noted your very kind and positive comments, for which we are very grateful.
We have shared your kind praise with all senior management and associates.
Thank you for putting forward your review, we are very grateful for your kind compliments and are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Regency very soon.

Yours
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gwann, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The spacious room, pool area and small private beach were lovely but the warm and friendly service really made my stay delightful. On several occasions I said "no worries" and they said "please, it's no trouble let me get that for you"...fabulous. Thanks! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkA518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Kuwait, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you for choosing The Regency for your stay. We have noted your very kind and positive comments, for which we are very grateful.

We have shared your kind praise with all senior management and respected associates.

Thank you for taking time to offer us your valuable feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Regency!

Yours
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salmiyah
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
3.3 mi away
Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
#3 of 69 in Kuwait City
502 reviews
10.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#10 of 69 in Kuwait City
612 reviews
8.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Kuwait? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Kuwait

Property: The Regency Kuwait
Address: Al Bida'a, Al Tawoon Street, Salmiyah, Kuwait City 22012, Kuwait
Phone Number:
Region: Kuwait > Kuwait City > Salmiyah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salmiyah
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Salmiyah
#1 Business Hotel in Salmiyah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Regency Kuwait 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Kuwait, a five star deluxe property, is Kuwait’s most exclusive hotel and the ideal haven for both business leaders and discerning leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Regency Kuwait reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regency Kuwait Salmiyah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing