We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Regency Hotel Kuwait
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Salmiyah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at The Regency hotel for a couple of nights I can just about say that it is one of the better hotels in Kuwait but that is not saying much.
Starting at the check-in we were checked in by an Egyptian employee whose name escapes me. This gentleman was not as welcoming as I had anticipated I would be. The manner with which he handled my check-in was borderline rude, he did not welcome us, and demanded our documents rather than request them. It was like we were dealing with a government employee. He then made us sign a document entitling the hotel to kick us out at their own discretion, which I duly signed due to the fact that I was with my wife and did not want to cause a scene.
The bell boy who was carrying our luggage as well as the valet drivers were much more helpful and curteous than the afore mentioned person at check-in.
The lobby was huge and beautiful. The rooms while pretty were a bit on the small size but the bathroom was rather large when compared to the room. The room service food was delicious.
At check-out we were received by a person by the name of Dino who was great at servicing us even though he sounded a bit desperate in trying to get us to return.
Now to the important part, my wife forgot her jewellery in the room. We didnt realize that they were missing until I received a call from the hotel informing us that we had forgotten them. So I would like to thank Mr. Priya Raj for returing them.
If it wasnt for Mr. Raj, I would have been a very disgruntled guest. So management has him to thank if I were to return again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Kuwait, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Ahmed,

Thank you for choosing The Regency for your stay and for the review on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to notice that you were disappointed and understand that your room was not as large as per your expectation, however to advise we have various type of rooms from superior to large suites, fully equipped and at different rates.

Thank you for your kind compliments towards our associates Dino from the reception and Mr. Prajapati Rai from Housekeeping.

We have addressed your concerns to the management and hope on your next visit you will find a change. Thank you for offering us your valuable feedback and hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Regency in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Regency is a very nice hotel, so luxurious and fancy, staff was excellent and friendly. So clean, and the bathrooms are amazing.
on a side note, it is very pricey so be prepared with a high budget. The laundry service cost me about $70 for just for steaming a dress. Also I highly recommend the hotels buffet over room service, less expensive and the food was absolutely delicious. Besides that, our experience was perfect, couldn't imagine a better place to spend our honeymoon! Thank you. :)

Room Tip: 408 - Great ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tattah84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Kuwait, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review posted on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel and do hope we can continue the good work.

Thank you for taking time to offer us your valuable comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at The Regency, Kuwait.

Yours
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Very cool hotel in terms of service and excellent crew and I hope you experience in this hotel.

will be another visit in the near future

because This hotel will not be left by scrubbing or discover perimeter of the hotel

The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is excellent and placemats Excellent

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank vivaqtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Kuwait, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Regency for your stay.

We are very grateful for your kind compliments posted on Trip Advisor. We have shared your comments with the management and associates.

Thank you for taking time to offer us your valuable feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to The Regency!

Yours
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Everything was excellent. Hotel staff is very friendly and provides an outstanding support to the guests. Special thanks go to DINO who is working in the hotel reception. He reflected and the represented the hotel service in a world class and remarkable way. He is very helpful, polite, and provisional in dealing with customers. Actually I had no idea about the hotel before but I liked it so much after I received the extraordinary reception from DINO. Food was excellent and room services as well. I would give the hotel 7 stars if the standard rooms are little bit bigger as well as the bathroom …

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdulhameed111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Kuwait, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Mr. Abdul Hameed,

Thank you for choosing The Regency for your stay.

We are thrilled to read such a high recommendation of our hotel on Trip Advisor and wish to extend our sincere thanks to you for taking time to offer us your valuable feedback. We are pleased to inform you that the superior level rooms start at 34 sq m up to 50 sq m in deluxe categories. All the rooms and suites are designed to accommodate all requirements at different price levels.

We have shared your wonderful comments with the management and Dino.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to The Regency!

Yours
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I loved my stay in Regency ones again. As i like to say, home away from home :). I was given a great room. Personnel are beyond excellent, very helpful and kind. Food amazing. ..All is perfect in Regency Kuwait. Thank You !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManicaSlovenija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Kuwait, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Manica,

It is our pleasure to welcome you back and thank you once again for choosing The Regency for your stay.

We are pleased to know that you have found your 'home away from home' at The Regency.

Thank you for your valuable support and recommendation on Trip Advisor.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to The Regency!

Yours,

Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The weather during my December visit wasn't too nice, restricting walking or sightseeing. The hotel was mostly very comfortable and posh with a few exceptions. Nice breakfast buffet, complete and clean, though not exotic. Wait staff seems to mill around w/o much intention or attention to guests. i.e., polite, but odd to watch them simply observe guests struggle with the self-serve, single-serve coffee maker. Other lapses: no coffee/tea in the room was a big disappointment; none of the first-floor patios except those facing the pool had any seats or tables, making outside seating impossible; getting a iron & board took an extra call, and then they were never removed; smoking in the posh main lobby and balcony area really, really flawed those areas from our point of view. Not quite up to the first class standards of other international hotels I've used this past year, but maybe the best available in Kuwait City? Not enough experience to judge. Had some business at a nearby Holiday Inn, and found the staff there ill informed and little interested in helping. Wi-fi service was available, BUT bandwidth was quite limited (several guests commented on problems downloading email, let alone trying multimedia.) Voice Skype worked OK; didn't bother risking video with the bandwidth issues. All this being said, I would certainly come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can face the pool, it looks like you would have the nicest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnAceBuyer_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Kuwait, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Regency for your stay and for the review on Trip Advisor!

We are sorry to notice that you were disappointed on certain level of services. To explain, our 203 rooms including 53 suites are fully equipped and designed to accommodate all requirements at different price levels. The Superior level rooms start at 34 sq m up to 50 sq m in Deluxe categories and then onwards to 58 sq m in our smaller and Signature Suites. Certain larger Superior rooms have a bigger sitting alcove with two chairs and a table and providing direct access to the pool or beach. The tea and coffee making facilities are available in all suites as standard and are available upon request in all other rooms. We apologize if this was not explained upon check in.

As per the law in Kuwait, smoking is not permitted in all public areas like it is in Europe or USA. However, keeping in line with the Kuwait law smoking is still available in the hotel as per the designed area.

We have addressed your concerns to the management and hope on your next visit you will find a change. Thank you for offering us your valuable feedback and hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Regency in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Excellent hotel, recommended to anyone who would like to have a memorable experience in an enchanting place where guests are really considered to be the most important asset. The level of service and the availability of all personnel, including the top management, has always been top quality during all our staying.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcof802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Kuwait, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Marco,

Thank you for choosing The Regency for your stay.

We are thrilled to read such a high recommendation of our hotel on Trip Advisor and wish to extend our sincere thanks to you for taking time to offer us your valuable feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to The Regency!

Yours
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salmiyah
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait
3.3 mi away
Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
#3 of 72 in Kuwait City
590 reviews
7.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Kuwait at Burj Alshaya
9.2 mi away
Safir Hotel and Residences Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Hotel Kuwait? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Kuwait

Address: Al Tawoon Street, Salmiyah, Kuwait City 22012, Kuwait
Phone Number:
Region: Kuwait > Kuwait City > Salmiyah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salmiyah
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Salmiyah
#1 Business Hotel in Salmiyah
Price Range: £193 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Regency Hotel Kuwait 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Kuwait, a five star deluxe property, is Kuwait’s most exclusive hotel and the ideal haven for both business leaders and discerning leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Regency Hotel Kuwait reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regency Hotel Kuwait Salmiyah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing