We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but full of contradictions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Regency Hotel Kuwait
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Salmiyah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I had to go to Kuwait for work and decided to take my wife along for three nights. We chose this hotel as it had great reviews. The overall experience was very nice but some of the interactions with the hotel and it's team left us wondering about the standard of its service.
Right at the start we sought their help with arranging the visa or a meet and greet service. They offered to arrange the service but then I discovered that they were charging twice as much as the fee for the service itself. When I asked them about this, no explanation was provided. I subsequently booked the service myself and saved $70 and advised the hotel not to bother. That led to some ridiculous email exchanges as they ignored my instructions and went ahead and booked the service! At the 11th hour, someone sensible noticed the whole thing and cancelled the booking. The Hotel then provided us a free transfer from the airport to the hotel. This is where the contradictions start. The pick up was amazing. A great Limo, a staff member plus the driver to receive us, cold towels etc were all provided in the limo, which also had its own Wifi. It made us feel very special.
We chose a Deluxe sea view room. It was very nicely decorated and spacious. My favourite part was the large bathroom with a rain shower. The room has all the amenities you would expect but you need to ask especially for tea and coffee making facilities.
The hotels location is quite central and we were able to move around by taxi mostly. Here comes another contradiction, the Hotel does not arrange the normal taxis for its guests. As a result you either have to take the hotel Limo or a more expensive taxi at twice the cost even for short trips. This is quite annoying.
Back to the positives, the buffet breakfast was very nice with a great choice of food. The staff were courteous and polite.
Individually all the staff we came across were very helpful in their own way but the hotel needs to train and equip it's staff far better to do justice to its brand and reputation. The examples described above are not acceptable for the most expensive hotel in Kuwait.
A good experience overall, punctuated by moments of frustration. We will stay there again and hope that things improve in the service department. Ironically, I was in Kuwait to train another company and hence the focus on service.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Amer Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, Executive Assistant Manager at The Regency Hotel Kuwait, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Amer,

Thank you for your recent review and for the observations that you have made.

We are sorry that you have experienced some frustrations which we will immediately investigate and take the appropriate actions to ensure they are not repeated, but at the same time are delighted that we have performed so well in many other areas during your stay and appreciate your very positive comments.

Regarding the visa and “meet and greet” service I will straightaway review our pricing as it is not our intention to charge a significantly higher price as our focus is the service itself and the arrival experience of our guests through the airport to the hotel. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

You are correct in regard to tea and coffee making facilities and we supply kettles upon request, but have changed our policy and actually have 250 on the way to the hotel right now so for your next trip we will have them in place.

With regard to taxis we do order taxis from outside upon request and I will find out why this was not done, but at a very, very minimally higher price we offer guests the opportunity to use one of our hotel limousines for taxi service. The price is not the price of an expensive limousine, but is designed to guarantee the continued five star level of service and experience that is maybe not available through the use of a local taxi. For sure local taxis are available, but the general feedback from guests is that the use of one of our hotel cars is a really “different” treat which offers extraordinary value for money and additional safety.

Our training is, as in every five star hotel, continuing and growing by the day as we strive to continually improve and develop greater levels of service. We appreciate your comments very much as a help for us to fine tune the details and hope to welcome you back very soon to show you that we, as a team, can present you with 100% satisfaction.

Yours,
Mr. Russell Loughland
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a conference. The normal price was a bit high and we weren't gonna stay there (even though the conference is there) but the conference organizers told us there is a special rate for attendees. It was worth it with the discount.

The interior is classic and top quality. Halls are spacious. The room was a bit small but enough for two guys and their luggage. The bathroom is great and the toiletries were of high quality (Asprey).

The breakfast buffet was big and had many varieties. I noticed that the dining tables are big which is good if you have many plates on the table.

My experience with the Regency was good and I would come again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Musab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Kuwait, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Musab,

Thank you for choosing The Regency for your stay and for the review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that you had a good time at the hotel. We appreciate your comment and to explain we have 203 rooms at the hotel, all rooms are certainly categorized and can accommodate all needs from superior to large suites at different rates. However, under the superior rooms we do have very few small rooms and more large rooms which have a bigger sitting alcove with two chairs and a table and with direct access to the pool or beach.

Thank you once more for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again to The Regency, Kuwait.

Yours,
Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

clean ,very nice facility, amazing pool,superb location
But
one thing annoys me a lot you are not allowed to bring any type of food
From outside the hotel not even a chocolate bar .
very hard to do that when you have kids they want something to eat outside of the hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Dhare1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Kuwait, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Dhare1976,

Thank you for your valuable comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our facilities.

The rule concerning bringing food from outside vendors is not solely a rule of The Regency and is common practice within the hospitality industry. It is only in place firstly to protect our guests and secondly to maintain the five star experience of the hotel, as we are unable to control or guarantee health and hygiene standards of outside suppliers.

I appreciate that bringing a chocolate bar into the hotel may be a little extreme, rest assured it has already been advised to the management and the associates are informed to be moderate. Thank you for letting us know.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to The Regency, Kuwait.

Yours,
Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

the hotel adminstration was verry cooparative and helped us alot they were nice and friendly room service was excelent it was highly secure it was a great place to relax and the hotel style was like a mid-century mansioin

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nadaksz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Kuwait, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Nadaksz,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel. Thank you for offering us your valuable feedback.

We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to The Regency.

Yours
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed at this propety couple of time in business trips, & each time was better than the before,

We enjoy the good food & good service they offer, they have a nice beachfront & nice pool.

Nearby, there's the shopping centers & restaurants where you can enjoy spending some time after work.

It's very luxury hotel & very elegant,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sami Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Kuwait, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Sami,

Thank you for once again choosing The Regency for your stay.

We are thrilled to read such a high recommendation of our hotel on Trip Advisor and wish to extend our sincere thanks to you for taking time to offer us your valuable feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to The Regency.

Yours
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed at The Regency for a short business trip, and even though I was there just for work, I couldn't help myself but enjoy all the fancy stuff the hotel had to offer. The pool was great! The food was tasty with a huge variety. I used the free wireless a lot during my stay for my work and I had no problem with it whatsoever. One more thing I have to add is that the beds are SOO comfortable and well maintained. Thumbs up staff of the Regency!

Room Tip: I stayed in a room with a balcony view of the sea. It was amazing! I highly recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zeineb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Kuwait, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Zeineb,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay at The Regency Kuwait and enjoyed all the hotel services.

We hope we have fulfilled your expectations in every way. Thank you for your kind and valuable support.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to The Regency.

Yours
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I was staying at Regency with my wife.. It was amazing stay! Elegant and luxury lobby , rooms and the restaurant. My wife liked the ladies lounge ,as location , privacy and service. Breakfast buffet tasty. Very professional staff. Tidy and clean room. Overall i recommend by Regency hotel for leisure and business.. Big thanks for the management.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Samkh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regency K, General Manager at The Regency Hotel Kuwait, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Samkh88,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are extremely delighted to know that you had a great time at the hotel and ranked it so highly.

Thank you for taking time to offer us your valuable feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to The Regency.

Yours
Mr. Aurelio Giraudo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salmiyah
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait
2.1 mi away
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
#2 of 72 in Kuwait City
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Kuwait at Burj Alshaya
10.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#8 of 72 in Kuwait City
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Hotel Kuwait? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Kuwait

Address: Al Tawoon Street, Salmiyah, Kuwait City 22012, Kuwait
Phone Number:
Region: Kuwait > Kuwait City > Salmiyah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salmiyah
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Salmiyah
#1 Business Hotel in Salmiyah
Price Range: £187 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Regency Hotel Kuwait 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Kuwait, a five star deluxe property, is Kuwait’s most exclusive hotel and the ideal haven for both business leaders and discerning leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Regency Hotel Kuwait reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regency Hotel Kuwait Salmiyah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing