We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a waste of time” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sadu House

Sadu House
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Salmiyah
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a waste of time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

No guide was offered even though we had a booking with them. No interest was shown when we asked if some one could explain things to us. No facilities . A total waste of time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dolly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    30
    15
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Limited exhibition some nice weaving for sale”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I didn't know what to expect except that I was told this was a traditional house where traditional weaving is taught and practiced. I brought some nice weaving examples but it is not cheap but I suggest you have to like weaving and handicraft to be impressed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Finneasfogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kuwait tradeshenal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This place u will see the bedwen the peaple live in the desert how they make the tan from the awl from cheep and camel and u will the bedwen woman how do it

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WafaAlbahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great initiative! Very interesting to learn about the weaving techniques of the Kuwaiti Bedouin women”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Sadu House is the home of the Al Sadu Weaving Cooperative Society, started in 1978 to preserve, document and promote the textile heritage of the Kuwaiti Bedouin.

When visiting Sadu House you will walk through the house looking at different types of weaved items, all with comprehensive and comprehensible explanations. You can also watch a (rather interesting) documentary that explains the different techniques and tells about the history and the culture of the Kuwaiti Bedouin and the role weaving had in their everyday lives.

As Sadu House is a cooperation that helps preserve, you can watch the women at work on their looms, teaching new students the 'tricks of the trade'.

Last but not least, Sadu House sells all the weavings made by the women of the cooperation in their shop. The proceeds of the sales keep the cooperation operable. Prices vary (based on the quality of the work) between approx 15 and 250 KD.

Sadu House is open from Saturday to Thursday from:
8:00am - 1:00pm
4:00pm - 8:00pm
Sadu House is next to the National Museum, so it is practical to combine visits to those two attractions.

In my opinion, Sadu House is one of the top attractions of Kuwait City, especially for people that are interested in history, culture and / or textiles.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatjana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ne england
Level Contributor
177 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“wonderful textiles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

A small place but such lovely things, well described so I learned a lot. Interesting new art works based on old but with different materials

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank roeyNeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sadu House also viewed

Kuwait City, Kuwait
 

Been to Sadu House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing