We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Salmiyah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Well, the weather is not really friendly in August in Kuwait, but for business you don´t have many choices. The killing sunshine and humidity is greatly compensated by the nice location, the friendly staff and the total package this hotel offers.
Being directly in the marina, just opposite a mall and actually on the beach-side, you have everyhting you need. The drawbacks? Only the distance from the airport, but this offers you a nice view on the bay with the skyline of Kuwait city. Enjoy it from the pool, or from the pool terrace with a nice Guava juice. Big (really big) rooms with sea view, an excellent breakfast will round up the story. Have a jump in to the water, or a nice walk in the mall, go and rent a yacht or a jet-ski, choose one of the close restaurants for excellent seafood or shisha. I wish, I could spend there more time in the cooler months.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malenykij_polgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Marina Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2010

I was on business in Kuwait, attending a 3 days event happening in the ballroom/theater of the Marina Hotel. As they claimed the ballroom is adjacent to the hotel (which sounds just logical), I booked the hotel for convenience.
The first massive disappointment was for me to discover that the hotel was actually a good 15 - 20 minutes walk from the ballroom. Although the ballroom is operated by the hotel, they were unable to provide any kind of transport between the 2 locations, hence I had to walk in the scorching heat.
After a long working day I was looking forward to a good rest - only to find the next big disappointment. The room looked quite comfortable on first sight - bland, but comfortable. On second sight, however, the furniture was of very cheap quality, both sofa and bed worn out. The matress had lost all elsticity, hanging down like a hammock. Needless to say, I could not sleep.
A/C was producing lots of noise but hardly any cooling.
The wardrobe close did not close, prompting the inbuilt lights to switch on. Several attempts to get anyone in housekeeping on the phone where futile, resception promised to call back "in one minute", but never returned my call.

After such an awfull night the breakfast did nothing to sooth me. wide selection, yes, but low quality. Staff was absolutely clueless. I am allergic, asked if they have any gluten free bread, just to be proudly presented with toast. I mean, seriously, if you don't know, then say so. Don't risk sending your guest to hospital out of your sheer ignorance.

My attempt to get another room with a proper bed and funktioning A/C was met by equally clueless reception staff, who offered no help at all. Only after I decided to check out and find another hotel, they apparently decided to give it a try and exchange the matress. Unfortunately they did not inform me about this. Walking up to my room I found the door wide open, but noone in the room. Open invitation fer anyone passing by to go through my personal belongings! The bedding was taken off the matrass, only to expose a huge disgusting stain.

These are only main points I am criticizing, not going into detail on meagre toiletries, tasteless food in room service, lack of decoration etc.

Bottomline: nice location, run down hardware, totally untrained staff and zero interest on the side of the management.
The matching proverb: "the fish starts stinking at the head" seems to be befitting.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saluki_DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Once again I come into a spotlessly clean hotel- with a cool towel and a nice mango juice waiting for me as I enter the lobby.

My bags are whisked away and at my room at the same time that I arrive.
Fresh fruit is waiting for me, and then about 30 minutes later an entire set of nuts, olives, crackers, sweets is delivered complimentary (just like last time).

The staff go out of their way to please though in an humble fashion. They are there when you need them and almost invisible when you don't.

The Bathrooms are the best on the planet. Even a few weeks ago I was traveling in China and when asked where my next trip was to be I said Kuwait - the person immediately responded " Do you stay at the Marina - those bathrooms are the best" - and they are. Since I'm extremely tall, it's rare I find a bathtub that fits me except at the Marina, and the separate shower is big enough to have your on luau in.

All rooms face the beach and water and the inclusive breakfast rivals the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlohaScubaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The hotel has the location and facilities but it doesn't have the professional staff.
Although i had a 2 weeks advanced reservation for a suite on the occasion of my wedding anniversary ,i had to wait for 2 hrs during checking in just for the reason 'room is been prepared' and i only got the room by 7pm! when i finally did the room was a double bed room not the king size bed room i asked for 2 weeks earlier so i had to wait for another hour for their manager to resolve the problem.
House keeping would usually give the OK SIR but they will not show up and when u call them again they will simply close the phone!
I discovered that 2 out of the 3 restaurants close during Wednesday evening! so better plan for the adjacent Marina crescent restaurants for dinner.
Complimentary small bottle of water and mineral water are offered during your 1st night but no more! even a complimentary news paper is available but awaiting your request!
The is no sound barrier so people passing-by your door might disturb/wake you up or even if you have a noisy neighbor!
Don't be shocked if you see 6 persons wearing greet boiler suits at your back door at 9am using noisy tools because they are gardeners showing up on the wrong time!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohammed74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

I had a good experience in 2006 so I decided to stay again at the Marina Hotel when on a business trip in June 2009. The reason is that I very much like the seaside location as it brings you some wind in the evening, which cools you down in this very hot climate. I like the evenings very much, sitting at the balcony or drinking a fruit cocktail at the swimming pool. It’s only a pity that the bar at the swimming pool closes early in the evening, already before dinner time.

The room is large with a large bathroom, airco and internet work perfect. All rooms face the sea or the swimming pools. The hotel has an excellent gym. The breakfast buffet is stunning and I also can recommend the restaurant buffet in the evening.

The hotel is located at the marina and there are a lot of nice restaurants only a couple of minutes walking distance of the hotel. Furthermore the Marina Mall is located opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

I stayed at this hotel for four nights with my spouse who was in Kuwait for a meeting. The room is spacious and spotless with a bed, desk, chair and small couch. The tv had so many American speaking channels that I thought I was back in the states. The bathroom is huge with two shower heads and a bath tub on the other side of the bathroom.. A basket of fruit and small pastries inside the room welcomed us on our arrival.There are no vending machines and if you want ice, you have to call room service. No alcohol is served in Kuwait, so don't expect to find any. There are three pools on the property and they were great when it was 110 degrees outside. Across from the hotel is a shopping mall with many American favorites like Starbucks, Krispy Kreme doughnuts, Hallmark, Foot Locker, TGIF. Room service was just ok. The breakfast restaurant had a wonderful omelette station. The lunch restaurant had a huge spread at its buffett. Maid service came by 10am every day. My room had a balcony facing the ocean and was a great view for the 4:30am summer sunrise. When entering the hotel, you walk through a metal detector. Secrurity guards outside stops all cars and searches under them with a mirror on a pole. The airport is about 25 minutes away. Beware that you will need a tourist visa costing 3 Kuwaiti dollars (about $10 American dollars). Get your money exchanged before arrival in Kuwait to speed up the visa process. (It took about 35 minutes to get my visa) You must take a number and wait your turn to get your tourist visa processed. When departing Kuwait, arrive early since you have to go through security lines twice. Once inside the terminal and again at your gate where you board your plane. My United flight to Dulles was at midnight and the airport was extremely crowded, but several shops were open.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

I was there for a full 3 days meeting plus seminar.

What I found out is the location is very nice especially for those in love couple seeking retreat. The place is at the seaside. You can see the Kuwait tower and the Pyramid style Hard rock Cafe on the other hand.

Food was delicious. The marina is just next to it. You can see boats, yatch, etc.

In total enjoy my stay there. Love if i can be back there.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank arinzasmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salmiyah
2.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait
2.5 mi away
The Regency Hotel Kuwait
The Regency Hotel Kuwait
#2 of 13 in Salmiyah
560 reviews
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
#2 of 69 in Kuwait City
536 reviews
5.4 mi away
Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuwait
Holiday Inn Kuwait
#10 of 69 in Kuwait City
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel

Address: Arabian Gulf Road, 446 | Marina Mall, Salmiyah, Kuwait City 22000, Kuwait
Region: Kuwait > Kuwait City > Salmiyah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Salmiyah
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Salmiyah
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salmiyah
Price Range: £220 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant and up-market shopping district of Salmiya where one of the biggest malls, the Marina Mall, is a few minutes by walk passing the Marina Crescent area where wide range of coffee shops and international chain of restaurants. It offers convenient access to the business areas of Kuwait, and is 10 minutes from the heart of Kuwait City and 20 minutes from Kuwait International Airport. This prestigious, multi–facility complex offers luxurious and functional amenities to the business traveller and the tourist alike where all rooms are sea view facing the Arabian Gulf. Complimentary airport transfers are offered and 24 hour wifi internet connection free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Kuwait/Salmiyah
Marina Hotel Salmiyah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing