We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little enthusiasm”

Fourat Cham Palace -Deir Ezzor
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Deir Ezzor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fourat Cham Palace -Deir Ezzor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deir Ezzor
Reviewed 31 March 2009

I was forced to spend a night in Deir Ezzor after having insufficient time to make it to Palmyra before night fall. Unfortunately.

Like other reviewers hint at, where else is there to stay in Deir Ezzor? And I think the staff here know it, since the service is pretty dire. We wanted to leave reasonably early, so enquired the night before what time breakfast started. We were told 06:30 so were down promptly at this time, only to find nothing prepared and no staff in sight. We had to go into the room behind the front desk to wake up the guy who was supposed to be working on the desk, who then tried to track down the catering guy (by phoning the bar on the other side of the lobby (we could hear the phone ring) rather than getting off his bum to go and look for him).

Needless to say, we never received the breakfast since after 30 minutes delay we said we'd just have a coffee instead. They served a (horrible) coffee... and then had the cheek to charge us for it... $2 for a turkish coffee!

The hotel itself is OK... typically 1980s in style and decor and in desperate need of a refurbishment. The rooms are a good size, clean and have TV and mini-bar, but again, very 1980s and a bit cold (it was winter).

Judging by the car park, I think we were the only people staying there.

Can't comment on the food since we didn't eat there... we had a huge lunch at a restaurant next to the old French bridge, so just had some nibbles at the (alcohol serving) bar in the evening.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnymaserati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
There are newer reviews for Fourat Cham Palace -Deir Ezzor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2008

We needed to be based in Deir Ezzor to visit the historical sites on the Euphrates. There are 2 Cham hotels there, this is supposed to be the best and it does have the advantage of great views of the river.

The room was fine - well equipped, clean. But the restaurant was empty, and Deir Ezzor doesn't offer many options and though the food was acceptable it was a little lacking in atmosphere, they also try to get you to pay cash for drinks.

The swimming pool! While the water was clean (but cold) everything else was a disgrace - dirty changing rooms, scant supply of loungers, sun umbrellas that looked like they had been there for 20 years - shabby!

We wouldn't go back - I would rather make the long haul from Palmyra.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

Almost empty, rather grand (but slightly faded) hotel on the banks of the Euphrates. Food is served rather than by access to a buffet, so there is a little less choice of what you might eat, and how much. Rooms are very clean, good river views.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
Thank pisumcorporum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaryTizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Argyraspid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fourat Cham Palace -Deir Ezzor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourat Cham Palace -Deir Ezzor

Address: Aleppo Street | P.O Box 219, Deir Ezzor, Syria
Region: Syria > Deir Ezzor Governorate > Deir Ezzor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deir Ezzor
Hotel Class:4 star — Fourat Cham Palace -Deir Ezzor 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Fourat Cham Palace -Deir Ezzor Syria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing