We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I will definitely go back!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Complete and modern kitchen, perfect for cooking your own breakf
Relaxed beach house feel and a light and fresh cottage-style in
Dining in is not a problem
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Noord, Aruba

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CarrieShe...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I will definitely go back!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Our family spent a week at the North Shore cottage and it was spectacular. I was hesitant at first since there isn't a pool and the proximity to the beach. We have 2 teenage sons and the water is always a big part of our vacation. After reading the other reviews, we decided to give the cottage a shot. We were not disappointed!

The cottage is in a spectacular location, a short walk up the hill promises an awesome view of the waves crashing against the shore. If you're into mountain biking, this is the perfect place, the trails are right out your front door. There is a fair amount of traffic, bicyclists, tours, sightseers that pass by. We enjoyed the people watching, waved as if we owned the place.

The cottage itself is adorable. It's very cozy, but the high ceiling makes it feel more spacious. (It is certainly bigger than a hotel room.) The 4 of us were very comfortable and had no trouble finding a quiet spot when we needed alone time. That was usually in the hammock on the porch.

The cottage comes equipped with everything you need... towels, cooler, beach chairs, snorkel gear, etc. Check the shed before you buy more lighter fluid. We didn't and added one more can to the growing collection. We also did quite a bit of cooking. The kitchen had all the dishes we needed to prepare our meals. It was like home but in beautiful Aruba.

Julia and Sjoerd have a jeep they rent out to their guests, take them up on the offer! It was waiting for us at the airport when we stepped off the plane. You need to get off the paved roads if you REALLY want to SEE the island and you will need 4-wheel drive to do it. Frankly, some of it was scary, but very worth it. (The Garmin can even help navigate on some of the off-roading.) We drove to the California Lighthouse checking out the rock stacking along the way. We drove right up to the Natural Pools. We drove underneath the windmills. These are all sights you could see if you paid for a tour. We saved a ton of money going there on our own, plus, we could do it on our own schedule.

Palm/Eagle beach is just a short drive from the cottage. That is where the hotels are located. We preferred to drive a few extra minutes to Arashi beach where it was much less crowded. We camped out under the divi divi tree, it was awesome. The boys rented surfboards on our last day (I'll add the name of the surf shop when I get it.) Dennis was great and delivered to boards right to us at the beach.

As for the owners of the cottage, I really can't say enough nice things about Julia & Sjoerd. They are truly some of the nicest, warmest people I've ever met. They were very accommodating, helping with everything from directions, to dinner suggestions, island history, you name it. Ask them about their future plans for the property. It's very exciting, we can't wait to go back and see it and them!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location & the owners...
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
java3882
North Caroilina
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Peaceful spot, off the beaten path”
Reviewed 5 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Being a small vacation rental, this seemed more like a home than a hotel. The cottage is likely to appeal to the "do-it-yourself" vacationer who enjoys a natural setting away from the crowds. We found this to be a quite relaxing. The frosting on the cake was Julia's service. She went out of her way to ensure that there were enough bikes at the cottage for our entire group. Biking on the endless trails near the cottage is a great way to see the natural beauty of the island, so this "extra" was quite welcome. If your ideal Aruba vacation is an artificial resort experience right on the beach, perhaps check out the hotels down the road a few kilometers. But if you want to experience the real & natural Aruba, give this place a try.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Natural, quiet setting.
Liked least: Got a bit warm one night when the A/C failed, but issue was resolved.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NealAmin
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 27 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from a delightful stay in Aruba at Julia and Sjoerd's lovely cottage. The cottage is exactly as pictured and offers a peaceful retreat away from the hoards of tourists in the high rise hotels on the strip. The cottage has been beautifully decorated by Julia, is fully equipped and Julia and Sjoerd are always available should you need anything. Everything you could possibly need to know about Aruba and the cottage is included in a guide which is an invaluable source of information in case you don't have a guidebook.

Arashi beach is close by and a great beach where you can normally find a bit of space, a nice place to sink a few beers and watch the sunset. Malmok is also good for snorkelling. Our favorite beach on the island was probably Baby Beach at the south end of the island, nice long sandy strip and not too touristy. If you head there I can recommend Costa Riba for lunch for some good cheap Trinidadian food. Our favourite snorkel spot (fins and mask provided in the cottage if you don't have your own) was Mangel Halto which features a very pretty entrance out to the reef. Also included with the cottage are complimentary day passes to Moomba Beach Club if you feel like being waited on.

The cottage has a fantastic location being the last house on the road and offers uninterrupted views of the rugged east coast. I would highly recommend using the mountain bikes provided for a sunrise or sunset ride around the north east shore, absolutely stunning views. Also if you have a 4wd vehicle then you can have some fun driving down the east coast on the dirt tracks.

I would thoroughly recommend North Shore Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Reviewed 23 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
workout22...
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best way to experience Aruba Vacation.”
Reviewed 1 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at the cottage for 4 nights. My wife is from Aruba and we wanted to stay half of our visit away from the family and the other half of the trip with the family. We found this place online from Portland Oregon. This was the absolute best place to stay in Aruba. Martijn (Manager) of this place provided the world class service to us. Just to mention we were even provided with a local cell phone for our entire stay so that we can make and receive calls on the go without any extra cost. And this service is available for all the visitors. We highly recommend this place for a stay for anyone planning a trip to Aruba. Its located at a beautiful location with absolutely beautiful sunsets and away from the city noise.
We even forgot our camera charger when we left and Martijn took the time to mail it to us here in Portland Oregon. I can go on and on about this place and the service.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI
Reviewed 2 April 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
USA
Reviewed 10 January 2011 for a stay in December 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Quietness
Liked least: None
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
from
US$105
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing