We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, good value, family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caribbean Palm Village Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Noord
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice property, good value, family friendly”
Reviewed 3 August 2009

A friend gave us this timeshare while my wife had to work in Aruba for a week. It's a beautiful property in a quiet* area. The two pools, pool areas are nice and kept clean, and lounge chairs & tables are abundant. We were on the north side, top floor, facing the pool. Never had a noise problem. All the noisy activities others have commented on occur at the south pool, and start after 10 or 10:30 a.m. Never ate at Coco Loco, but had a few reasonably priced drinks there. Note: when there are activities going, the activities director sells Balashi for $1! Shuttle runs twice daily to Moomba Beach. If you don't mind island road rules, go ahead and get a car so you can do your own venturing. Carlos & Michael, the bellmen, are awesome. (*quiet, so long as you don't mind the roosters in the private lot to the north)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STLSooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    233
    88
    38
    20
See reviews for
175
204
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, UK
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

This was my first visit to Aruba and the Caribbean Palm Village Resort was chosen because our travelling companions were able to transfer their timeshare accomodation to this resort.

It is situated about 20 minutes from the Airport and a short taxi ride (US$ 7.00) from the main beach and highrise hotel area,

The resort is pretty to look at, it has two nice pools, gym, spa, bar and other facilities such as laundry room etc. It is exceptionally clean and tidy in the resort grounds and in the appartments themselves - thanks to the multitude of staff who tend to the place day and night.

The appartments are large and well equipped. The airconditioning in particular is very efficient and can chill the room to sub-zero temperatures if necessary - although it is a little noisey.

The most overworked person on site was Artur - the entertainments manager. He provided the welcome, arranged excursions, took aerobics in the pool each day, hosted the various parties during the week, ran the Bingo (groan!) everyday and even drove the free shuttle bus to and from the local beach twice a day. The guy deserved a medal and definitely one or two assistants.

The Bingo and daily music by the pool were too downmarket and noisey for my taste - but there were plenty of guests who seemed to love it.

The on-site bar, the Coco-Loco, was a bit of a disappointment. The food was poor, the cocktails had little or no alochol in them in my opinion and it seemed to close about 9:00 pm at the latest (which was far too early in my view). The Kareoke nights twice per week were particularly lame - Aruba definitely did NOT have talent.

Although there were two supermarkets within five minutes walk, the resort would greatly benefit from a greneral store of its own.

On the whole, the Caribbean Plam Village was a great base from which to explore the fantastic island of Aruba. The appartments and pool areas were fantastic places to relax when Artur was not blasting music or doing bingo. The staff were very helpful and were very efficient in organising excursions or taxis. I would highly recommend the resort.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy_from_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Resort was nice. It wasn't quite as fancy as the high-rise resorts, but it was much more peaceful. The location is about a 5 min drive from the beach. It's not walkable, so definitely rent a car. Get one with 4WD if you're really adventurous. Taxis and public bus are options, but we didn't try them. There are a lot of places to see on the island and this location makes it very convenient to get to most of them. They give you passes for free use of chairs at the beach right next to the Marriott.

There weren't too many people our age (we're a couple in our early 30's). It was mostly older folks and a few families--all friendly. There is one bar/restaurant with limited food options, but every day between 5:30-6:30 drinks are 2 for 1. There are 2 pools, each with a jacuzzi and waterfall. The smaller pool has morning pool exercises (with loud music) every day at 10AM, so if you like to sleep later, get a room by the bigger pool. Internet is available (and free), but be sure that you have a room near the office (center of the resort) or you'll have to sit out by the pools to use your computer. We stayed in B103, right near the small pool, and had full WiFi signal (login: guest/guest). The room was very big and seemed like it was recently renovated. One bedroom, 2 bathrooms, DVD player, and 2 flat-panel TV's with about 40 channels (75% of them in English). No bugs. Air conditioning worked great. Laundry is $1 per wash/dry (tokens at the front desk), but you'll need to buy/bring detergent. Didn't use the gym, but it's free--get the key from the front desk. There's also a tennis court with free use of the rackets.

Recommended activities:
Snorkeling on Strea Charters - group trip on a private yacht with a wonderful couple; snorkeling in the reef was amazing (http://www.streacharters.com/experience.html)
Arashi Beach - very nice beach with the best snorkeling without having to take a boat; northern tip of the island
Baby Beach - popular beach with calm water and great sand; not good for snorkeling
National Park - drive/hike through the park; see caves and a beautiful coastline; 4WD vehicle allows you to see more of it, but any car can handle the main roads

Groceries:
Go to Super Food! It's a 10-15 min drive down 1A/1B but definitely worth it (my fiance loved all the Dutch treats). The nearby markets have a VERY limited selection.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JG1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We visit this resort every year and can't get enough. The people who work at the resort are some of the friendliest, most helpful people one could ever wish for. We always visit during a time of year when approximately fifteen to twenty of our friends visit, so we have a great time together, it's like a family reunion. The resort workers are always included with our fun.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamamitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

My husband and I just got back from Aruba. This trip was last minute. We had traded in our Marriott Mexico timeshare and Caribbean Palm Village was the only spot available. Overall we really liked it. Granted, the rooms have a touch of the 70's decor but are exceedingly clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and the breakfasts simple but good. Our room didn't overlook the pool but it turned out to be very private. At times we could hear the road but as we live in NYC it didn't really bother us. Birds and lizards abound and we saw a humming bird on our patio one morning. Other people have written about the noise from the pool activities. It seems there is one "loud pool" where they do a lot of their group activities in the morning and one quiet pool. Music is piped in on both sides but all the resorts pipe in loud music or have muzak singers, especially on the big beaches. The pools seemed nice but we didn't hang out at the resort too much--we were off snorkeling, exploring or having cocktails on the beach.

CPV is definitely not the spot for you if you want to walk from your room right onto a beach and/or you want nightlife outside your door. That said, you can take a shuttle to Moomba Beach or walk, which is about 15 minutes. Some of the best snorkeling on the island is well under a ten minute drive from the resort. We rented a jeep from the front desk for the week. It was fairly cheap and allowed you to explore the island, visit otherwise unreachable spots in the national park unless you pay $$$ for tours, and visit other beaches.

I'd recommend this spot if you want to be off the main drag of Palm Beach.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankieStanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2009

My fiance & I were supposed to travel to Cabo San Lucas, Mexico but opted to switch locations due to the swine flu. The CPV was the very last available timeshare in Aruba and all of the Caribbean for this specific week at the last minute thru Intervale. So, we booked it even though it's not near the beach. They run a shuttle 3 times daily to the Moomba Beach Bar and Grille and have "negotiated" free chairs and a 10% discount at the restaurant. However, the chairs are really free for anyone to use. If you want a hut, you still have to pay for it.

The rooms are basic, nothing fancy. Plenty of chairs available around the pool as well. My only beef is that our room faces the pool where the activities director sets up his booming PA system for daily morning & afternoon activities (A Building). We were out late on the Kukoo Kunuku bus one evening and were trying to sleep in, but couldn't really do so due to "Macho Man" being blasted just outside our window. Thankfully he stopped after about an hour. So we decide to take an afternoon nap to catch up on some sleep. Until Bingo time of course: "Oh-oh-ooooooooooooooooooooooooh!!!!!" So annoying.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

I fail to understand the negative reviews of CPV. This was our first time there (timeshare exchange) and it was near perfect. Granted, if you're in your 30's it doesn't offer much for night life, etc. but for a place to stay it was a great deal. Rooms were very clean, etc. Sure it's not real close to the beach but they offer a shuttle. If you rent a car (why wouldn't you?) then it's even better. Staff was excellent-food in Coco Loco was more than adequate and the waitresses were great. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike2051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noord
2.5 mi away
Paradera Park Aruba
Paradera Park Aruba
#1 of 1 in Paradera
443 reviews
2.0 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#6 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
847 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa
Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa
#24 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,073 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
#21 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,306 reviews
3.0 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Palm Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Palm Village Resort

Property: Caribbean Palm Village Resort
Address: Palm Beach Road | Noord 43E, Noord, Aruba
Region: Caribbean > Aruba > Noord
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Noord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caribbean Palm Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Caribbean Palm Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Palm Village Hotel Noord
Caribbean Palm Village Noord
Caribbean Palm Village Aruba
Caribbean Palm Village Resort Aruba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing