We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coastal Kayak

Coastal Kayak
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Coastal Kayak is the most experienced rental, tour and instructional business at the beach - since 1994. Coastal Kayak rents kayaks, Stand up paddle boards, and sailboats. They also offer guided kayak & Paddle board tours to all areas of Delmarva including the back bays of Rehoboth Beach, Bethany Beach and Assateague Island. Coastal Kayak also offers instruction from ACA certified instructors in both kayaking and paddle boarding. In addition CK is a certified "Pro School" of the American Canoe Association. CK has over 125 kayaks, 50 paddle bords and 6 catamaran sailboats all available for rent directly from their bayside beach rental location. Call for hours off season 302.539.7999.
Greenlawn, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

First time kayaking. We rented two doubles and thought an hour would be too long, but how quickly the time went. You can stay out longer no one is rushing you. They recommend water shoes. The only time my feet hit the water was getting in and out of the kayak. It was a fun experience. Good for families and especially those with teens.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    8
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Chris and Josh were excellent! They really made our experience fun and everyone learned a lot! Thanks for a great time kayaking!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaOD9485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great kayak experience for grandparents and their teenage granchildren”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I recently took our 15 year old granddaughter and her friend on Coastal Kayak's eco tour to Burton's Island, which is a 10 minute drive from Bethany Beach. We kayaked in 4 single kayaks. Our guide was excellent. There was some basic instruction and he made sure to show us the wildlife of the area, including osprey, herons, egrets, horseshoe crabs, fiddler crabs, terrapins. It was a 2 1/2 hour tour which required moderate exertion to complete. There was a short stop on an island which gave us a chance to get out of the kayak and stretch. Our guide did say that fairly often he helps to tow some one back to Burton's island if they can't make it on their own. TIP: The cost per person was $50 but if you register on line you can get a code for a $5 discount per person. The Delaware State Park system also operates a tour of Burton's island and it is $35 a person, but I'm not sure it is really a better deal. They were there at the same time we were and we noticed that they had a much larger group, left after us and were back before us.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 5VIC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Fun tour of the salt marsh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

My friend and I joined two other people and Todd, our guide, for a tour of the salt marsh in single kayaks. We started with a short intro to kayaking. We then paddled along viewing osprey, herons, oystercatchers, cormorants, turtles (well, just their heads before they ducked under), and more. Not buggy until we got off on an island to view a bit of wildlife - then a few horseflies, and also some when we got back. A very enjoyable time with a knowledgeable and helpful guide.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jillles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice way to try kayaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We did the 2 1/2 tandem and with a light wind it was a little difficult away from shore. Workers were helpful and equipment was in good condition.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ourlittlefamily0f3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coastal Kayak also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing