We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fenwick Island State Park

Fenwick Island State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Castle, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Spent a week in Fenwick Island Delaware in July 2014. Went to this state park 4 days. The beach was great. They charge $8 a carload for the entire day, not bad at all. This is much more convenient than having to feed the meters at Rehoboth beach. We were very happy with the beach. Here is a tip, park close to the wooden pier to walk to the beach. Its a much easier walk!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Geri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    31
    9
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I fancy myself a beach snob! I spent years on the sand duned and beautiful white sugary sand beaches on Long Beach Island in NJ. Since moving to the MD area I have been looking for something similar. I found Fenwick Island to be a close match. The sand isn't quite as fine nor quite as white but very very acceptable. From the sand dunes to the water the beach here is very wide. It is raked every day so it is very clean. It is also a carry in/carry out trash facility and most people adhere to that so there is almost no litter on the beach. There is a concession stand along with clean restroom/changing/shower facilities. There are beach wheelchairs available as well. We witnessed the life guards in action when a man was suddenly knocked backwards by a rogue wave. He was clearly injured as he could not get up and the back of his head was bleeding. The nearby life guard was by his side in an instant and immediately called for backup. In 30 seconds 6 more guards appeared with a board and bags containing various medical devices. 911 was called and within a few minutes we heard the sirens. But by the time the EMTs arrived the guards had stabilized the man's neck with a collar and had him strapped to a board with foam blocks by his head. The EMTs arrived with their board but when they saw what the guards had done they all gave them the thumbs up. We were impressed with their knowledge and their speed in getting the injured man stabilized and ready to go when the EMTs arrive. 6 of the guards carried the man on the board across the beach and over the dunes to the waiting ambulance. All in all we give Fenwick Beach State Park 15 stars out of 10!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenwick Island, Delaware
Level Contributor
201 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My complaint withy his beach is it really far from the beach to parking. I never use facilities because they are always dirty. The one positive is the concession stand

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank leisuresusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A really nice beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

If you like a wider beach that is not overcrowded then you will love Fenwick Island State Park. There is a large parking lot which charges out of state visitors $8/car. Once the parking lot is full no more cars are allowed in. So you need to come by 11:00 or so on the weekends or by noon on weekdays (in the summer) if you want to be sure to get a parking spot. You will have a short walk out to the beach and if you walk to the right a bit you will have few people around you. The sand is soft and there are only homes behind the beach, not hotels. It's definitely worth the drive up from Ocean City as their beaches are much more crowded and not as wide. Plus you don't have to drive around looking for a parking space or cross the busy highway. Try it and you see it's worth it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank DrHibbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Ocean and not the Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The water is clearer and the beachcombing is better since FI is out in the ocean and not the Delaware Bay. Wildlife can be seen everywhere including many migrating birds, especially sea birds.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank bluetang20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fenwick Island State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fenwick Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing