We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fenwick Islander Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fenwick Island
Certificate of Excellence
Manheim
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

My sister and I stayed here over Labor Day weekend. The room was clean and comfortable for the most part, but could use some updating. Big deep drawers in the dressers accommodated everything we brought with plenty to spare. Tub was a bit dirty when we arrived. Not sure if it was just some staining that just can't be removed after prolonged use. Room was a great size with microwave and small fridge. Overall we were pleased with our stay and would probably stay again. However, if you are looking for luxury, go elsewhere. This is not that kind of place. It is a decent run of the mill motor inn that was fairly close to the beach. Don't expect more. We both slept very well as the beds were comfortable and the noise from the AC unit drowned out any street noise or noise from other guests. Hotel is convenient to beach, shops and restaurants. Bus service is available nearby to Ocean City restaurants and attractions. Only 2 complaints - first, we had the end unit on the 3rd floor and they had a trash can placed directly outside our room. Not exactly inviting, but they kept it emptied so it wasn't a major issue. The other minor issue was that we had to pay a quarter each time we got ice and the only ice machine was on the first floor. Very minor things. As I said, not a luxury hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. They also have a very nice pool, but we didn't have a chance to use it during our stay.

Room Tip: The 2nd and 3rd floors have private balconies, some with a waterview and some with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    50
    23
    12
    11
See reviews for
50
49
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Princeton Junction
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Fenwick Islander two years ago. It was nice, but was in need of some work. Well, they sure have been working on the place. It is newly painted, inside and out. New ceilings. Just totally freshened up. We had a king-sized bed that was so comfortable, as were the pillows. Neither of us wanted to get out of bed to go to the beach! The staff was helpful and check-in went very quickly. Perfect location. Beach is just a block away and it wasn't crowded at all---and it was Labor Day weekend. Happy stay.

Room Tip: Stay in a canal view king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glomom81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stopped by to visit family staying here. The motel is very nice from what I saw. My daughter has been here twice and has been quite pleased. Location to the beach is great, one block away. The room was very clean and had nice appointments. The kitchenette has a sink, small refrigerator and microwave...just enough! Each room has a private balcony and if you spend a few extra $$$ you will have a wonderful view of the canal. Even though I haven't actually stayed there, my next trip to the Delaware Shore will be booked at Fenwick Islander Motel...it's just so centrally located.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the canal view...if not, your balcony will be facing Route 1...just depends on wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank FunPlacesToCheckOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

this was our second visit to the Fenwick Islander Motel in Fenwick Island Delaware . Pool was great. A/C in room was very musty smelling, the room got cold but was very damp the whole visit... possibly we should have complained the first day... maybe they could have changed the unit or moved us. Otherwise, the price was right, its very central to every thing we wanted to do. We would stay there again. Staff is nice. Plenty of parking.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are more quiet and have a view of the canal which is nice. NO elevator, its 3 stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmpressBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Location is great, pool is great, rooms were average, could use some updating. Beds were sleep able, shower was good. One block from the great beach- very clean beach. Within walking distance of shops and eateries. Overall you get what you pay for. Not a bad place for the money. Service was excellent - very accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Just went there and appreciated the location. It's really one block from the beach which is very convenient. Shops and restaurants are nearby.
They also have a pool which is nice. Common parts of the hotel are otherwise scarry, not very clean, smelled bad, but the room was okay. We chose the deluxe room with view on the canal. I think it was a good choice because there's a lot of traffic on the highway. The view of the canal was nice (but it's sad to have the cars parked right below the balconies). The balcony was great - especially for breakfast. Unfortunately it was unbearable at the end of the day on a over 100 degrees day. The inside of the room was okay. There's a small kitchen with a sink, fridge and microwave which was convenient. I still don't understand why they use carpet floors (esp for a beach hotel, I find it disgusting). TV was old, bathroom was small with very few toiletry items so come prepared.
Walls are extremely thin: we heard our neighbor cough and felt he was in our bed. We got extremely lucky and got quiet neighbors but I can imagine it can be a nightmare otherwise. But don't let that scare you too much: the AC is so noisy that I doubt you can here anything else once it's on.
To summarize: it's a good motel if you get it for cheap (around 100). We went there for 4th of July and paid almost 200 a night so we were expecting a little more.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nebulette_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milltown NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

If you are looking for a few days' getaway, we found the Fenwick Islander to be clean and comfortable. The grounds and pool are small but the location was really good. We did not have to get in our car once. Beach, restaurants and amusements all within a block or two. Will definitell be going back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari-serv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenwick Island
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#1 of 4 in Fenwick Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#21 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
6.9 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenwick Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenwick Islander Motel

Property: Fenwick Islander Motel
Address: Ocean Highway & South Carolina Avenue, Fenwick Island, DE 19944
Region: United States > Delaware > Fenwick Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fenwick Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fenwick Islander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Fenwick Islander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenwick Islander Hotel Fenwick Island
Fenwick Island Islander Hotel
Fenwick Island Islander Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing