We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again after skipping a summer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fenwick Islander Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fenwick Island
Harpers Ferry, WV
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Back again after skipping a summer!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My wife and I just spent another week at the Fenwick Islander for our 1st anniversary! We decided to stay at the Islander again, as we have stayed there quite a few times over the last few years. We were in a canal view king room on the 2nd floor. The hotel is still a great deal, and overall very very well kept. The pool area is immaculate, the staff are very very friendly and it’s in a great quiet location, walking distance to some great ice-cream, movie theater , water park and some great restaurants!

Our only gripe was with the cleanliness of the bathroom. Not to sound like Anthony Melchiorri but the toilet was not clean, from the shower you could see the under rim and the shower drain was so slow that after 45 seconds in the shower your feet were underwater, I said to myself, I can fix this, a wad of TP in hand and I yanked out a long wad of slimy hair out of the drain, problem solved but it was foul!

I will definitely stay again but next time I will have to bring it to someone’s attention if I have a similar experience...

Room Tip: Canal view on the back of the hotel are quiet, if you are here for the 4th of July weekend ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovewvmountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    54
    26
    13
    11
See reviews for
55
53
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife and I have been staying at the Fenwick Islander for over 15 years. Our parents both have homes at the Jersey
Shore, but we use this motel as our "go to" spot when visiting the Delaware beaches. It's a great location because it's close to everything. You can bounce back and forth from Ocean City, MD., Dewey, Bethany, Rehoboth, Lewes, etc. There's tons to do and the beach is right across the street from the motel. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean. It's always a relaxing and fun trip!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PnRMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garnet valley pa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My husband and I just returned from a weekend in Fenwick Island. We stayed at the Fenwick Islander because of the lower rates than anything in Ocean City. The staff was pleasant the room was in good condition and the view from the pool was pretty. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank nancyk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Nothing fancy. A basic motel about a block from the beach. The rooms are recently rennovated, a decent size and clean. The bed linens seem new. The towels weren't great, but adequate.
The people are pleasant, the "lobby" area isn't open late into the night. Soda machines available, ice is 25 cents, a nice looking pool.
If you are looking for a basic, clean, nothing fancy place, this is it. The price can't be beat.

Room Tip: There are three floors, so keep in mind there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Fenwick Island is a sleepy little beach town in DE just before you cross over into Ocean City, MD. The Fenwick Islander Motel is a classic beach motel that sits on a canal (bayside) with the ocean a block away. Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. Our 2nd floor room had a balcony facing the street, but we never heard any street noise. Of course we were there off-season, so there really wasn't much traffic. Could be different in season. Our room had a microwave and fridge, but no coffeemaker. They do brew coffee in the lobby, but not early enough for us! There is a Royal Farms store across the street if, like us, you need coffee first thing in the morning. The pool area is very nice and well kept and sits right on the canal - just beautiful. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbaJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC metro area
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Fenwick Island is a land lost in time, and the Fenwick Islander Motel reflects that atmosphere.
You are neither in Ocean City nor Rehobeth or Bethany, but someplace in between.

The Islander is great for families with middlin' age kids:
Need to cross a busy road to get to the beach.
Teens love it because of proximity of the board walk in O.C.

The staff is so nice. The place is clean, though not much more than serviceable,
but for the reasonable rates, you can't beat it. Get a room with a canal view and you really feel like you have made an escape for a few days.

Room Tip: Canal Views on rear of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePardlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I have been coming here for 6 years now and I highly recommend it! I always stay the first week in July for a couple days. They price is usually lower then the other motels/ hotels around. Its very close to the beach, right across the highway, in walking distance. It has a clean pool and very friendly staff. One year I got there earlier then the check in and they told us our room wouldn't be ready for at least 1 1/2- 2 hours, so we drove around and went to the beach and when we came back it still wasn't ready so they gave us a different room. I've never had problems here always good. They even remembered me when I came back a year later! I highly recommend Fenwick Islander Motel!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMBettinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenwick Island
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#1 of 4 in Fenwick Island
120 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#24 of 103 in Ocean City
922 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#36 of 103 in Ocean City
381 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#34 of 103 in Ocean City
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenwick Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenwick Islander Motel

Property: Fenwick Islander Motel
Address: Ocean Highway & South Carolina Avenue, Fenwick Island, DE 19944
Region: United States > Delaware > Fenwick Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fenwick Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fenwick Islander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Fenwick Islander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenwick Islander Hotel Fenwick Island
Fenwick Island Islander Hotel
Fenwick Island Islander Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing