We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fenwick Islander Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fenwick Island
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We didn't expect to stay the night in Fenwick Island, but were tired of driving and thought the town looked cute... we saw a vacancy sign and a pool with a family laughing and enjoying themselves- it looked quant and friendly. We were pulling a trailer behind our car, so ease of getting in and out, and the security of the parking lot were important too. The staff was friendly and helpful- suggesting the easiest place to park, the room was clean and well equipped and it was steps away from the uncrowded part of the beach. You could see the huge crowds overpopulating the beach down near the beachfront high rises... we enjoyed food, shopping, mini-golf and go-karting in walking distance and had a good night sleep. It was good value and a great location. I would definitely return if I am ever in Fenwick again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicheleMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

The service was good: for the most part the staff was great. Location: right across the highway from the beach, therefore good. Rooms were somewhat clean, and kind of small. A little mold in the bathroom. But the smell of the room was horrible- musty and moldy. The majority of our family slept alright. For us it was not a good stay because of bad weather, but at the Fenwick Islander, you get what you pay for, I guess. We will not stay there again, though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank number45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Nothing fancy but very clean. Friendly staff, and very convenient location. Just a minute walk from the beach. I would recommend it to the families who would like to stay away from wild party atmosphere of ocean city. We never had to complain about noise or anything. No elevator though, but talking to one of the staffs I found out the city won't give them permit to install one. Overall, great place to stay somewhere close to the beach, and not having to deal with drunk party goers is a plus.

Room Tip: if you want something cheap go for double beds on first floor, but the rooms with canal view are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank binod p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Fenwick Islander Motel and read the previous reviews on TripAdvisor before booking. This was a last-minute trip, so our options were somewhat limited, especially since we weren't booking an entire week. We were grateful to find a few nights available near the beach here.

Overall, the Islander is a basic motel - no extras, no frills here, and nothing very modern (you'll find similar comments on this site). Here's what that really means ...

Your room comes with the following: small microwave, fridge, small kitchenlike sink, bathroom/shower, beds, dresser, basic TV with cable, night stand/table, sitting chairs, lights and balcony (2nd, 3rd floors). Rooms on the 2nd/3rd floors in the rear offer a view of the bay. Rooms in front do not offer good ocean views - blocked by other buildings.

Your room does NOT come with a coffee maker and there is no elevator to the 2nd/3rd floor (an issue for some).

The hotel is fairly clean and would have been fine for me 20 years ago on a beach trip with friends. However, for a family, it was a bit disappointing. The equalizer is price - very affordable for the area it's in. You'll pay much more elsewhere - guess you get what you pay for!

- This is not a modern facility. Older carpeting, furnishings, TV, bath towels and linens. Nothing really seems newer.
- Bath tub appears dirty. I'm sure it's cleaned regularly and the "gritty" appearance could be from sand. Not sure. Still, caused us to wear flip flops in the shower.
- The AC unit had a smell. It was kind of musty.
- Lack of coffee pot, surprisingly, was a disappointment. Not a fan of hotel coffee, but the inability to brew some of our own during an extended stay mattered.

Other details to know - hotel is located across the four-lane US 1 from the beach, so you'll need to cross the highway to get to the ocean by foot. On the plus side, it's only a block's walk to the beach.

Nice stores and restaurants within walking distance. Hotel offers one free parking spot during your stay - must register your vehicle.

Hotel has a small pool with deck chairs. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Overall, we were happy to find something last-minute to get to the beach but we'll not stay here again. We're used to better rooms and more amenities. I'll gladly pay more for something nicer.

Room Tip: If you stay here, request the upper floor rooms with a bay view. Nice sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimr483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

After booking and checking into an Econo that was so nasty that we were afraid to sleep there, we decided to find another motel. The Fenwick was awesome! The front desk clerk was so friendly and we booked the room for 3 nights. It was walking distance to the beach and shops and of course mini golf. The pool was great and the balcony was amazing. We will definitely stay there again next year! Thank you Fenwick Islander, you saved our vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My wife and I just spent another week at the Fenwick Islander for our 1st anniversary! We decided to stay at the Islander again, as we have stayed there quite a few times over the last few years. We were in a canal view king room on the 2nd floor. The hotel is still a great deal, and overall very very well kept. The pool area is immaculate, the staff are very very friendly and it’s in a great quiet location, walking distance to some great ice-cream, movie theater , water park and some great restaurants!

Our only gripe was with the cleanliness of the bathroom. Not to sound like Anthony Melchiorri but the toilet was not clean, from the shower you could see the under rim and the shower drain was so slow that after 45 seconds in the shower your feet were underwater, I said to myself, I can fix this, a wad of TP in hand and I yanked out a long wad of slimy hair out of the drain, problem solved but it was foul!

I will definitely stay again but next time I will have to bring it to someone’s attention if I have a similar experience...

Room Tip: Canal view on the back of the hotel are quiet, if you are here for the 4th of July weekend ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovewvmountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife and I have been staying at the Fenwick Islander for over 15 years. Our parents both have homes at the Jersey
Shore, but we use this motel as our "go to" spot when visiting the Delaware beaches. It's a great location because it's close to everything. You can bounce back and forth from Ocean City, MD., Dewey, Bethany, Rehoboth, Lewes, etc. There's tons to do and the beach is right across the street from the motel. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean. It's always a relaxing and fun trip!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PnRMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenwick Island
0.9 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#23 of 104 in Ocean City
978 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#31 of 104 in Ocean City
392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#1 of 4 in Fenwick Island
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Coast Inn
Atlantic Coast Inn
#1 of 1 in Fenwick Island
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sands Motel
Sands Motel
#4 of 4 in Fenwick Island
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenwick Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenwick Islander Motel

Address: Ocean Highway & South Carolina Avenue, Fenwick Island, DE 19944
Region: United States > Delaware > Fenwick Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fenwick Island
Price Range: £58 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fenwick Islander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fenwick Islander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenwick Islander Hotel Fenwick Island
Fenwick Island Islander Hotel
Fenwick Island Islander Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing