We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If YOU think about staing here you need your head examined”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fenwick Islander Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fenwick Island
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If YOU think about staing here you need your head examined”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2008

This hotel stinked. Upon arrival we went to check in and the hallway reeked. Our room was on th 2 floor and there is no elavator. When we went in our room we found that there was ants in the bathroom.Next, the kitchen must of been the first kitchen ever invented it was so old. another problun is there was a bug infestation in the whole room. Finally, the tv was was on the selling. we did let the mangement know about our problums and they said the manager was out but he would call us and we still have not got the call. Thankfully we were only there 2 nights. SO TAKE MY WORD FOR IT IF U EVEN THINK ABOUT STAYING HERE U NEED YOUR HEAD EXAMINED.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — everything it sucked
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verypikytraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    50
    23
    12
    11
See reviews for
50
49
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
fairbog
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2008

We come back year after year!! We found this little gem by the beach and have stayed here for several years now. Thanks to Tom and his accomidating staff, our family always has a wonderful stay at the Fenwick Islander Motel. Each year we return, we are pleased to see that the rooms have been updated and kept tidy. Additionally, the motel is conveniently located across from the beach and walking distance to several restaurants and fun activities. We have recommended the motel to several of our friends!! Looking foward to booking our next stay!!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank fairbog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2007

This very loud, moldy and smelly motel does'nt have an elevator or efficiency rooms. The view is terrible. The watery ice will cost you. They are kind enough to tell you ( the guest ), NOT to steal the towels. The remote for the TV is glued to the night table with a short cable attached. There are NO forks, spoons and knives. NO plates or cups. NO coffee pot or hair dryer. The front desk will for sure mess up your reservations; wrong room & floor. The pool is small and not the cleanest. The uncomfortable extra pillows don't have cases on them. The tub / shower is very small.
The place is old and run down. I'll never stay here again.

  • Liked — looking at the
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jerzejoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvainia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2007

We stayed at the Fenwick Islander for two nights. When we checked in to the motel we were given a room with two double beds on the third floor facing busy highway 1. I told the front desk that when I made the reservations I was told that I would have a king size bed on the 2nd floor facing the water. The front desk person stated that sometimes these things happen and that he didn't have any other rooms. He said to at least go look at the room which we did and realized it was unacceptable. When we came back down a woman at the front desk gave us the room we originally were told we would have but that was after a few minutes of discussion with her.

Secondly our bathtub and shower curtain had so much mold and mildew buildup on them that I hesitated to even take a shower. The room did not seem like it had been cleaned!

The walls in the room seem to be unfinished plaster board and the noise from the adjoining room was overwhelming, especially with all of the children that stay there.

Finally, for what the motel charges they should definitely make some improvements in the rooms as well as cleanliness.

This motel is not the quiet oasis that it claims to be and I would not recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quiet getaway.

  • Liked — no opinion
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness and very noisy
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank unsatisfactory123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2007

Thanks to Tom and his staff for helping to make our vacation week a wonderful experience. The room was large and clean with a kitchenette and a balcony. The motel was conveniently located to the beach, restaurants and shopping. The pool was crystal clear.
Fenwick Islander is a nice place to bring the family, yet quiet enough for adults without children. Just a short drive to Ocean City MD or to Rehoboth area where there are outlet stores and the beautiful Cape Henlopen State Park where we saw lots of dolphins.
We had a great week at the Fenwick Islander Motel and look forward to returning there in the future!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank csiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2006

Date: Aug. 13, 2006
This motel is a nice place to stay and it doesn't break the bank. Our room was clean and the staff was very friendly. We had a second floor room with a view of the water (it was not much of a view, however it was better then looking out at busy Rt. 1). I would stay here again. The only thing is the motel is a block away from the beach, which means you have to cross the four lane highway. This made me a little nervous having a small child, however there is a crosswalk.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank PSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2006

The Fenwick Islander is a nice little place to stay. The per night cost was average to below average for the area. Our room was clean, although not the most updated in the building. The best part about the room was the kitchenette, which was a big help during our stay. I will say that our kitchenette was outdated, although we could see the room across the hall had been updated. Our view wasn't the best, but I don't believe that you can get a great view at the Fenwick Islander. The pool was very nice....my girls enjoyed taking a quick dip daily after spending the day at the beach. Parking was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I recommend a room on the second floor, if you don't mind taking the stairs. Also ask for an updated room.

Also, one other quick FYI. To fill-up your tank with gas, go towards downtown OC MD. Believe it or not, it gets cheaper the closer you go to the boardwalk!

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SJA in PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenwick Island
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#1 of 4 in Fenwick Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#22 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
6.9 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenwick Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenwick Islander Motel

Property: Fenwick Islander Motel
Address: Ocean Highway & South Carolina Avenue, Fenwick Island, DE 19944
Region: United States > Delaware > Fenwick Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fenwick Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fenwick Islander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Fenwick Islander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenwick Islander Hotel Fenwick Island
Fenwick Island Islander Hotel
Fenwick Island Islander Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing