We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fenwick Islander Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fenwick Island
Reviewed 3 September 2008

My family of three stayed here for a week. Very clean,affordable,and a pleasent atmosphere. Perfect location. Close to everything you would need. Breakfast,lunch or dinner. Also, close to shopping. The pool was great, perfect for a dip after a long day on the beach. Best of all it was quiet. Will be back again next summer.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank rick021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2008

Please read this review. The older reviews don't reflect the current condition of this place. We booked our stay online for a two double bed unit yet were given a king and a urine soaked horrid, dirty, smelly sofabed that should be burned or at least discarded. It is unbelievable that the owner does not check the rooms to know that this sofabed is in such deplorable condition. Next, the walls are paper thin. We could hear our neighbors with loud crying kids ALL NIGHT! The pool needs to be cleaned and painted. Overall the room was just old and decrepit with an old t.v. from the 80's era and old fixtures. And the kitchenette consisted of a tiny microwave and refrigerator, no range so we wasted money bringing food we couldn't cook. We had to wipe everything down with bleach wipes after checking in because the room was just filthy and smelled like urine. Disgusting! Even the bedsheets were not clean in appearance, so we used our own. You can do better for the money because there are plenty of places nearby that are clean and cheap. And once you check in to this place, they don't give refunds and that's posted in the office. No wonder.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
1  Thank cul8tr4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

This hotel stinked. Upon arrival we went to check in and the hallway reeked. Our room was on th 2 floor and there is no elavator. When we went in our room we found that there was ants in the bathroom.Next, the kitchen must of been the first kitchen ever invented it was so old. another problun is there was a bug infestation in the whole room. Finally, the tv was was on the selling. we did let the mangement know about our problums and they said the manager was out but he would call us and we still have not got the call. Thankfully we were only there 2 nights. SO TAKE MY WORD FOR IT IF U EVEN THINK ABOUT STAYING HERE U NEED YOUR HEAD EXAMINED.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank verypikytraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2008

We come back year after year!! We found this little gem by the beach and have stayed here for several years now. Thanks to Tom and his accomidating staff, our family always has a wonderful stay at the Fenwick Islander Motel. Each year we return, we are pleased to see that the rooms have been updated and kept tidy. Additionally, the motel is conveniently located across from the beach and walking distance to several restaurants and fun activities. We have recommended the motel to several of our friends!! Looking foward to booking our next stay!!

Stayed: August 2007
Thank fairbog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

This very loud, moldy and smelly motel does'nt have an elevator or efficiency rooms. The view is terrible. The watery ice will cost you. They are kind enough to tell you ( the guest ), NOT to steal the towels. The remote for the TV is glued to the night table with a short cable attached. There are NO forks, spoons and knives. NO plates or cups. NO coffee pot or hair dryer. The front desk will for sure mess up your reservations; wrong room & floor. The pool is small and not the cleanest. The uncomfortable extra pillows don't have cases on them. The tub / shower is very small.
The place is old and run down. I'll never stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Jerzejoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2007

We stayed at the Fenwick Islander for two nights. When we checked in to the motel we were given a room with two double beds on the third floor facing busy highway 1. I told the front desk that when I made the reservations I was told that I would have a king size bed on the 2nd floor facing the water. The front desk person stated that sometimes these things happen and that he didn't have any other rooms. He said to at least go look at the room which we did and realized it was unacceptable. When we came back down a woman at the front desk gave us the room we originally were told we would have but that was after a few minutes of discussion with her.

Secondly our bathtub and shower curtain had so much mold and mildew buildup on them that I hesitated to even take a shower. The room did not seem like it had been cleaned!

The walls in the room seem to be unfinished plaster board and the noise from the adjoining room was overwhelming, especially with all of the children that stay there.

Finally, for what the motel charges they should definitely make some improvements in the rooms as well as cleanliness.

This motel is not the quiet oasis that it claims to be and I would not recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank unsatisfactory123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2007

Thanks to Tom and his staff for helping to make our vacation week a wonderful experience. The room was large and clean with a kitchenette and a balcony. The motel was conveniently located to the beach, restaurants and shopping. The pool was crystal clear.
Fenwick Islander is a nice place to bring the family, yet quiet enough for adults without children. Just a short drive to Ocean City MD or to Rehoboth area where there are outlet stores and the beautiful Cape Henlopen State Park where we saw lots of dolphins.
We had a great week at the Fenwick Islander Motel and look forward to returning there in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank csiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenwick Island
0.8 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#23 of 104 in Ocean City
980 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#1 of 4 in Fenwick Island
124 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#31 of 104 in Ocean City
393 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
1.7 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#20 of 104 in Ocean City
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenwick Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenwick Islander Motel

Address: Ocean Highway & South Carolina Avenue, Fenwick Island, DE 19944
Region: United States > Delaware > Fenwick Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fenwick Island
Price Range: £57 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fenwick Islander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Fenwick Islander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenwick Islander Hotel Fenwick Island
Fenwick Island Islander Hotel
Fenwick Island Islander Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing