We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Good Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fenwick Islander Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fenwick Island
Pennsylvainia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a Good Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 20 August 2007

We stayed at the Fenwick Islander for two nights. When we checked in to the motel we were given a room with two double beds on the third floor facing busy highway 1. I told the front desk that when I made the reservations I was told that I would have a king size bed on the 2nd floor facing the water. The front desk person stated that sometimes these things happen and that he didn't have any other rooms. He said to at least go look at the room which we did and realized it was unacceptable. When we came back down a woman at the front desk gave us the room we originally were told we would have but that was after a few minutes of discussion with her.

Secondly our bathtub and shower curtain had so much mold and mildew buildup on them that I hesitated to even take a shower. The room did not seem like it had been cleaned!

The walls in the room seem to be unfinished plaster board and the noise from the adjoining room was overwhelming, especially with all of the children that stay there.

Finally, for what the motel charges they should definitely make some improvements in the rooms as well as cleanliness.

This motel is not the quiet oasis that it claims to be and I would not recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quiet getaway.

  • Liked — no opinion
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness and very noisy
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank unsatisfactory123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    52
    24
    12
    11
See reviews for
51
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2007

Thanks to Tom and his staff for helping to make our vacation week a wonderful experience. The room was large and clean with a kitchenette and a balcony. The motel was conveniently located to the beach, restaurants and shopping. The pool was crystal clear.
Fenwick Islander is a nice place to bring the family, yet quiet enough for adults without children. Just a short drive to Ocean City MD or to Rehoboth area where there are outlet stores and the beautiful Cape Henlopen State Park where we saw lots of dolphins.
We had a great week at the Fenwick Islander Motel and look forward to returning there in the future!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank csiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2006

Date: Aug. 13, 2006
This motel is a nice place to stay and it doesn't break the bank. Our room was clean and the staff was very friendly. We had a second floor room with a view of the water (it was not much of a view, however it was better then looking out at busy Rt. 1). I would stay here again. The only thing is the motel is a block away from the beach, which means you have to cross the four lane highway. This made me a little nervous having a small child, however there is a crosswalk.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank PSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2006

The Fenwick Islander is a nice little place to stay. The per night cost was average to below average for the area. Our room was clean, although not the most updated in the building. The best part about the room was the kitchenette, which was a big help during our stay. I will say that our kitchenette was outdated, although we could see the room across the hall had been updated. Our view wasn't the best, but I don't believe that you can get a great view at the Fenwick Islander. The pool was very nice....my girls enjoyed taking a quick dip daily after spending the day at the beach. Parking was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I recommend a room on the second floor, if you don't mind taking the stairs. Also ask for an updated room.

Also, one other quick FYI. To fill-up your tank with gas, go towards downtown OC MD. Believe it or not, it gets cheaper the closer you go to the boardwalk!

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SJA in PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenwick Island
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#1 of 4 in Fenwick Island
111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#22 of 103 in Ocean City
886 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
366 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenwick Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenwick Islander Motel

Property: Fenwick Islander Motel
Address: Ocean Highway & South Carolina Avenue, Fenwick Island, DE 19944
Region: United States > Delaware > Fenwick Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fenwick Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Fenwick Islander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Fenwick Islander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenwick Islander Hotel Fenwick Island
Fenwick Island Islander Hotel
Fenwick Island Islander Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing