We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic(o)!!!”

Perito Moreno Glacier
Book In Advance
More Info
US$125.00*
and up
Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A trip to this imposing glacier gives you a chance to walk on the ice wearing cleats and to see and hear a truly astounding spectacle: blocks of ice rupturing and floating away as icebergs.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic(o)!!!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were a group of 9 adults and we all loved the glacier trekking tour (private van and guide). It takes about 1 1/2 hours to get there by bus. We were first taken to the balconies (lots of stairs) where you can admire the glacier from all angles and listen to the cracking of the ice and see the huge chunks of glacier fall into the lake. We had hot chocolates in the cafe and then drove about 5 minutes to the embarcation point to take a boat over to the glacier side (10 minutes by boat). We took our own box lunches and settled down at an outdoor picnic table with the glacier right in front of us. You have to take your own lunch, because there is no food available at this point of the tour. We walked about 10 minutes to the glacier along a path where we put on our crampons and set to trekking on the glacier. It was not difficult and it was exciting to be walking on this huge glacier and see blue ice, little pools of water and all the different formations. The whiskey shots at the end of the tour were an amusing ending of the trek. Despite being in the middle of summer, it was very cold and windy so go prepared with gloves, winter jacket, layers. Yes, I recommend this tour. It was fantastico, sin duda (without a doubt). For us, it was the highlight of our trip in Argentina.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,587
    317
    33
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The place is beautiful a real unique scenario and incredible to watch for a while.
The only problem is the hiking paths.. It's for first time tourists. Do not expect any challenge, it's just a normal street walk.

And it is extremely crowded with loud tourists and buses.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gutopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful glacier”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Great walkways allowing incredible views of the glacier from safe distance.
XL hostel tour took us- Juan was really fun, helpful and informative.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“totally stunning, my tips for getting there!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Perito Moreno Glacier is beyond stunning! But get the most out of your day this way. We stop in hostels get 4 or 5 of you to rent a car, we used Dollar in the town. He says he opens till 8pm, get the car at 7pm and leave early, the park opens at 8am, you get it virtually to yourself! We spent 4.5hrs there. By the time we left loads of tourist coaches had arrived packing the cafe to full! We had it empty! From there take the main tarmac road back to El Calafate, highway 11. Keep looking left you will find highway 60 dirt road, amazing road that will led to highway 15. From here your choice, we did both done to Largo Roca, had coffee and a walk then head back towards El Calafate. Around 45km back take a right into the mountain park go up and take the ski lift great view and restaurant at the top. All in one day. With the car you can stop and enjoy!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
“Visit One of the Few Advancing Glaciers Left in the World!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Perito Moreno Glacier is one of the largest glaciers of the Southern Ice Field, and one of the few advancing glaciers in the world. It measures 5 kilometres (3 mi) in width and rises over 74 m (240 ft) above the surface of the water of Lake Argentino. The Glacier was named after Francisco Perito Moreno, a prominent Argentinean explorer and academic, and it is located just an hour away from the town of El Calafate by car or bus.

En route to the Glacier, visitors enter Los Glaciares National Park, where there is a control point and the Entrance Fee of 120 Argentine Pesos (or about $20 USD) must be paid. At the Glacier, guests can enjoy 3 main activities:

1. Glacier Trekking atop the glacier. There is a short version known as the "Mini Trek" and a long version known as the "Big Ice". These excursions are offered by a company called Hielo y Aventura, that has several offices in the town of El Calafate, right on the main street Avenida El Libertador. Cost for the trekking starts at USD $110 for the Mini Trekking and goes up to $180 for the Big Ice Trek. The Mini trekking is a relatively easy trek, recommended for people who are relatively fit and can handle walking on uneven terrain. The Big Ice trek is recommended for hikers and travelers that are in good physical shape. Ice Trekking on the Glacier remains open throughout the year, with the exception of the months of June and July.

2. Nautical Safari – This is an hour-long navigation across the southern face of Perito Moreno Glacier. The cost of this navigation is $25 USD and can also be booked through Hielo y Aventura in Calfate. This activity is open year-round.

3. Boardwalks – Across the peninsula that faces the glacier, one can find several boardwalks that allow you to see Perito Moreno Glacier from different angles. This is a free activity for all who have paid the entrance fee to the Park and is a great way to appreciate the enormous size of the Glacier.

Visiting Perito Moreno Glacier is a must for anyone who visits the town of El Calafate. During the summer months of December, January and February, ice calving is very common across the face of the glacier and visitors can witness large pieces of ice constantly breaking-off into Lake Argentino. This activity occurs throughout the year, but is more common during the aforementioned months due to the warmer air temperatures.

I hope this helps everyone!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank PSchicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Perito Moreno Glacier also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
Los Glaciares National Park, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Perito Moreno Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing