We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Perito Moreno Glacier”

Perito Moreno Glacier
Book In Advance
More Info
US$125.00*
and up
Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier
More Info
US$118.57*
and up
Perito Moreno Glacier Tour with Boat Ride
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
Perito Moreno Glacier Day Trip from El Calafate with Optional Boat Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A trip to this imposing glacier gives you a chance to walk on the ice wearing cleats and to see and hear a truly astounding spectacle: blocks of ice rupturing and floating away as icebergs.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Perito Moreno Glacier”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Excellent trip to the glacier!

We organised the trip from El Calafate. We were able to buy return bus tickets from the bus station the day before. There are a few different companies that run this route so check the times and prices (all pretty similar) that fit with you.

The bus took about an hour to reach the park entrance. Here a ranger boards the bus and you pay the 130peso entrance fee (this is not included with any of the bus tickets).

After this we were offered the option of a boat ride (120peso I think). A little dubious about the other 100 other people on the boat, but we decided to go anyway! Pleasantly surprised! The boat really gives you a perspective of the scale of the glacier, and everyone had a chance for great views. Very easy to keep away from the sometimes quite pushy official photographers which try to charge a fortune for pictures you could take yourself!

After the boat (takes about an hour) the bus drops us at the entrance of the glacier. Here there is a building with toilets and very mediocre restaurant and gift shop. I'd suggest bringing a packed lunch!

We spent the next few hours exploring the many metal walkways which give different view points of the glacier. Spectacular views! The noise of the glacier lurching forwards is magical and if you are lucky (as we were) you can get to witness a huge chunk (bigger than a house) collapse into the lake.

We ended spending a number of hours here, reading, watching the glacier, but you could easily spend only 90mins and still feel satisfied.

Dress warmly as it can get pretty cold if the wind picks up (even if the sun is shining).

A South America "must do".

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerUK1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,595
    317
    33
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just GOooooooooooo”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is an all day experience. It is too amazing to describe. If you are able, you should take the tour which allows you to hike on the glacier. You can't capture it in pictures.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Milton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“To stay iced by the magnificence of nature”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

To stay iced by the magnificence of nature, I will be redundant with the title but there is nothing else to add. Just visit and then tell me

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mario880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The national park is relatively close to the tourist town of Calafte where we stayed. The Glacier is huge and because of the raised catwalks surrounding the glacier you can walk for hours seeing its different sides and angles. As we sat enjoying our bagged lunches a huge piece of the glacier broke off or calved-a spectacular moment! It's a must see if you arein the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sbquayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic(o)!!!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were a group of 9 adults and we all loved the glacier trekking tour (private van and guide). It takes about 1 1/2 hours to get there by bus. We were first taken to the balconies (lots of stairs) where you can admire the glacier from all angles and listen to the cracking of the ice and see the huge chunks of glacier fall into the lake. We had hot chocolates in the cafe and then drove about 5 minutes to the embarcation point to take a boat over to the glacier side (10 minutes by boat). We took our own box lunches and settled down at an outdoor picnic table with the glacier right in front of us. You have to take your own lunch, because there is no food available at this point of the tour. We walked about 10 minutes to the glacier along a path where we put on our crampons and set to trekking on the glacier. It was not difficult and it was exciting to be walking on this huge glacier and see blue ice, little pools of water and all the different formations. The whiskey shots at the end of the tour were an amusing ending of the trek. Despite being in the middle of summer, it was very cold and windy so go prepared with gloves, winter jacket, layers. Yes, I recommend this tour. It was fantastico, sin duda (without a doubt). For us, it was the highlight of our trip in Argentina.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Perito Moreno Glacier also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
Los Glaciares National Park, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Perito Moreno Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing