We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular”

Perito Moreno Glacier
Book In Advance
More Info
US$125.00*
and up
Full Day Tour to the Perito Moreno Glacier
More Info
US$118.57*
and up
Perito Moreno Glacier Tour with Boat Ride
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
Perito Moreno Glacier Day Trip from El Calafate with Optional Boat Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A trip to this imposing glacier gives you a chance to walk on the ice wearing cleats and to see and hear a truly astounding spectacle: blocks of ice rupturing and floating away as icebergs.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“spectacular”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

It's no wonder this glacier is such a popular sight. Less that 2 hours from El Calafate, there are many tour companies running easy day trips. We booked our trip though Fitz Roy Expeditions and had a fantastic experience. We took a boat tour to the south face and then did the long walkway to see the north face. It is massive at 3 miles wide and 240 feet high. It moves 1 meter per day causing many ruptures. We saw 6 the afternoon we visited! We were considered "too old" by Hielo tours to hike on the glacier, so we did an ice trek on Viedma Glacier the next day, which was spectacular and highly recommended as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank janecois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,597
    317
    33
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Minitrek & balconies”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was a really great place to visit. We signed up to do the mini trekking and it was fun as it gave a taste of the experience without being super strenuous. I also really enjoyed watching the glaciers from the balconies. It's so peaceful there (despite all the tourists) and I only wish we had more time to spend there. If you do a tour and you only have 1 day, the toss up of doing the minitrek is that it does take away from your time at the balconies.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelstarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Perito Moreno Glacier”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Excellent trip to the glacier!

We organised the trip from El Calafate. We were able to buy return bus tickets from the bus station the day before. There are a few different companies that run this route so check the times and prices (all pretty similar) that fit with you.

The bus took about an hour to reach the park entrance. Here a ranger boards the bus and you pay the 130peso entrance fee (this is not included with any of the bus tickets).

After this we were offered the option of a boat ride (120peso I think). A little dubious about the other 100 other people on the boat, but we decided to go anyway! Pleasantly surprised! The boat really gives you a perspective of the scale of the glacier, and everyone had a chance for great views. Very easy to keep away from the sometimes quite pushy official photographers which try to charge a fortune for pictures you could take yourself!

After the boat (takes about an hour) the bus drops us at the entrance of the glacier. Here there is a building with toilets and very mediocre restaurant and gift shop. I'd suggest bringing a packed lunch!

We spent the next few hours exploring the many metal walkways which give different view points of the glacier. Spectacular views! The noise of the glacier lurching forwards is magical and if you are lucky (as we were) you can get to witness a huge chunk (bigger than a house) collapse into the lake.

We ended spending a number of hours here, reading, watching the glacier, but you could easily spend only 90mins and still feel satisfied.

Dress warmly as it can get pretty cold if the wind picks up (even if the sun is shining).

A South America "must do".

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerUK1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just GOooooooooooo”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is an all day experience. It is too amazing to describe. If you are able, you should take the tour which allows you to hike on the glacier. You can't capture it in pictures.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Milton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“To stay iced by the magnificence of nature”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

To stay iced by the magnificence of nature, I will be redundant with the title but there is nothing else to add. Just visit and then tell me

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mario880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Perito Moreno Glacier also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
Los Glaciares National Park, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Perito Moreno Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing