We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pousada Colibri”
Review of Pousada Colibri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Colibri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The service at the Colibri is wonderful, the vew is excellent. Helmut & Marga (The owners) are so great, they try so hard to make us enjoying our stay and they were succeed. We will go back again to the Colibri. Many thanks to all the staff. Fernando

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fernando_januario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

A splendid place with very friendly hosts, an outstanding breakfast, a beautiful and clean swimming-pool with amazing view and nice, clean and simple bungalows. All that you need to stay longer than scheduled ;-) Book in advance to get your stuff carried up on the hill and you just need to climb about 150 steps to paradise.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_Peter_Peter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I can't think if anything negative to say about this place. It is one of my favorite places and I must go back and stay longer next time. I stayed 5 days, which was great, but a week would have been better. The location is not for everyone, because you have to climb up a hill (147 stairs), but if you like views, escape from the noise of the beach parties, being surrounded by tropical plants, visited by cute little monkeys, swimming in a pool (no chlorine added) with the view of the ocean and hillside, and a friendly German couple hosting you, well then, this is the place for you. It is only about a 10-15 minute pleasant walk to the second beach. Colibri is very peaceful and relaxing, especially if you are hanging around in your hammock, which is on your front porch. The breakfast (included) was unreal so much food and yummy tropical fruit. They'll even make eggs to order. Marga was so accommodating and friendly. This place is a true gem.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olive_chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The first thing you notice about the Pousada is that it is a hell of a climb up the steps, however you are rewarded with the amazing view from the top and it is a good way to get you daily exercise! Not good for those with an aversion to exercise or people with bad knees, or heart for that matter!

The owners are kind and helpful. They are on hand if needed but are not overbearing.

We had two rooms, the cheapest was simple with slightly musty sheets, flat pillow and a smelly mozzie net. Monkeys lived in the roof and made quite a noise, no problem with earplugs though and felt very exotic to have monkeys in your roof!

The other room was more expensive and was of a higher standard although the mozzie net still smelt of smoke/mustiness.

Breakfast was huge and always varied, a real highlight!

The place had a lovely atmosphere and it was nice to stay around the pool or read on the balcony in the hammock.

We spent some nice days on the beaches which were about 15 minutes walk, although this sounds short we never 'popped home' during the day as the hills and steps were off-putting!

Lots of restaurants to choose from, again around a 10-15 minute walk to most.

Wifi worked well generally. Nice bar/breakfast area with honesty bar where you wrote in the book what beers you had. Monkeys visited most days at breakfast.

We enjoyed our stay here and would return but would pay that bit more for the more expensive room.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

What a beautiful pousada, located on top of a hill in the middle of island (about 15 min walk from the town center and beaches).

Bungalows are kept clean, and while they are a bit basic, they fit in perfectly with the island and environment. Lounging in the hammock looking as the sun sets was one of my favorite activities.

Breakfast is great, including of fresh fruit and homemade sweets. And of course the breakfast guests - a family tiny monkeys, who stop by for their breakfast - a platter of equally small bananas.

The only bad part is a long walk back up from the town up the hill (many, many steps). But that is a small price to pay for staying at such a great place.

I will definitely go back to Morro de sau Paulo, and will stay at Colobri.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atomic1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

we had the pleasure to spend a few relaxing days at pousada colibri. the pousada is situated on top of a hill overlooking the wonderful island. The owners Mara and Helmut are multilingual, very friendly and super helpful. Breakfast is among the top ten in brazil. Even tough it's a bit of a climb to get there, you will be rewarded with a wonderful garden, a nice pool, spacious and charming rooms, colibris and cute monkeys.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

It is good value, good restaurant, good hospitality, good location, good (but small) swimming pool, good breakfast....

all good BUT not excellent !

ahh yes... internet was working VERY slowly when i was there...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonioto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro de Sao Paulo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pousada Ilha da Saudade
Hotel Pousada Ilha da Saudade
#5 of 23 in Morro de Sao Paulo
272 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
Villa Dos Corais Pousada
#2 of 23 in Morro de Sao Paulo
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Bahia Bacana
Pousada Bahia Bacana
#2 of 126 in Morro de Sao Paulo
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pousada Bahia 10
Pousada Bahia 10
#8 of 126 in Morro de Sao Paulo
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Passargada
Pousada Passargada
#1 of 126 in Morro de Sao Paulo
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pousada Natureza
Hotel Pousada Natureza
#15 of 126 in Morro de Sao Paulo
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Colibri

Address: Rua do Porto de Cima 5, Morro de Sao Paulo, Ilha de Tinhare, State of Bahia 45428-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Ilha de Tinhare > Morro de Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Morro de Sao Paulo
Price Range: £46 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Colibri 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Colibri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Colibri Morro De Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing